Can't verify face. Try again

Search This thread

czonin

Apr 5, 2010
Astoria, NY
I've had a Pixel 4 XL since launch and just did a fresh install of the December update. Now my face unlock no longer works. I get "Can't verify face. Try again" every time. I've tried deleting face data and setting it up again and numerous reboots. Any ideas?

pwnsicle

Feb 10, 2008
New Orleans
I'm no expert on the matter but I had to do a factory reset to get it to work again. Maybe flashing the boot.img from the December update might do it

I've had a Pixel 4 XL since launch and just did a fresh install of the December update. Now my face unlock no longer works. I get "Can't verify face. Try again" every time. I've tried deleting face data and setting it up again and numerous reboots. Any ideas?

You might have the wrong update version installed. This happened to me with the Nov releases. Try flashing a different version. I'm willing to bet it fixes it.

czonin

Apr 5, 2010
Astoria, NY
You might have the wrong update version installed. This happened to me with the Nov releases. Try flashing a different version. I'm willing to bet it fixes it.

I'm pretty sure you're right. Trying a different version now.

Edit: I was on the wrong version but i've flashed the correct one and re-setup face unlock and it still isn't working.

Last edited:

tonyfiore75

Nov 2, 2010
New York, NY
Ya I couldn't find any way to fix it. Ended up having to factory reset and it's all working now.

I'm having the same issue but I think I'd rather live without Face Unlock than have to do a factory reset, re-root, etc. Back to the pattern for me!

---------- Post added at 10:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:26 AM ----------

I'm having the same issue but I think I'd rather live without Face Unlock than have to do a factory reset, re-root, etc. Back to the pattern for me!

Never mind. It was Elemental X kernel that broke Face Unlock. I flashed another kernel and Face Unlock is working again. :good: