FORUMS

Can't flash magisk with TWRP because latest twrp not available for OG Pixel

293 posts
Thanks Meter: 118
 
By matusala, Senior Member on 10th September 2019, 11:43 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I have Android 10 on my OG Pixel. I have secured it with pin and fingerprint. When i booted twrp-3.3.1-0-sailfish.img it sucesfully decrypted data with PIN then i flashed latest available zip which is twrp-pixel-installer-sailfish-3.3.0-0.zip. Rebooted and phone booted normaly. Then i downloaded latest magisk zip and apk. I tried to flash magisk but pin unlock does not work in twrp 3.3.0-0 which i flashed. Then i tried to boot from twrp-3.3.1-0-sailfish.img and this version decrypts data fine. Maybe because it's newer version and there is some fix in there. Can i flash 3.3.1-0 to my device permanently?

Why there is no 3.3.1-0 flashable zip for OG Pixel? https://eu.dl.twrp.me/sailfish/

Pixel XL does have 3.3.1-0 flashable zip too which is dated the same as live boot img 3.3.1-0 image https://eu.dl.twrp.me/marlin/

Can i flash magisk from booted twrp-3.3.1-0-sailfish.img and not with twrp that i flashed? Will it work?
10th September 2019, 05:39 PM |#2  
Horgar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by matusala

I have Android 10 on my OG Pixel. I have secured it with pin and fingerprint. When i booted twrp-3.3.1-0-sailfish.img it sucesfully decrypted data with PIN then i flashed latest available zip which is twrp-pixel-installer-sailfish-3.3.0-0.zip. Rebooted and phone booted normaly. Then i downloaded latest magisk zip and apk. I tried to flash magisk but pin unlock does not work in twrp 3.3.0-0 which i flashed. Then i tried to boot from twrp-3.3.1-0-sailfish.img and this version decrypts data fine. Maybe because it's newer version and there is some fix in there. Can i flash 3.3.1-0 to my device permanently?

Why there is no 3.3.1-0 flashable zip for OG Pixel? https://eu.dl.twrp.me/sailfish/

Pixel XL does have 3.3.1-0 flashable zip too which is dated the same as live boot img 3.3.1-0 image https://eu.dl.twrp.me/marlin/

Can i flash magisk from booted twrp-3.3.1-0-sailfish.img and not with twrp that i flashed? Will it work?

Twrp does not work on 10. You can root fairly easily by clean flashing 10, installing the latest magisk Canary build and then patching the boot.img through magisk. There is currently no working twrp and although you can root you cannot mount your system. We await further magisk updates to fix that.
Go to the main magisk support thread on XDA. It's all there.

https://forum.xda-developers.com/app...32382/page3558

I've done it anyway and all working fine (apart from system mount). Magisk hide works, my adblockr works. It's all good.

Follow this guide for root. It works the same for the original Pixel

https://android.gadgethacks.com/how-...id-10-0200295/
10th September 2019, 07:42 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horgar

Twrp does not work on 10. You can root fairly easily by clean flashing 10, installing the latest magisk Canary build and then patching the boot.img through magisk. There is currently no working twrp and although you can root you cannot mount your system. We await further magisk updates to fix that.
Go to the main magisk support thread on XDA. It's all there.

https://forum.xda-developers.com/app...32382/page3558

I've done it anyway and all working fine (apart from system mount). Magisk hide works, my adblockr works. It's all good.

Follow this guide for root. It works the same for the original Pixel

https://android.gadgethacks.com/how-...id-10-0200295/

I removed fingerprint and pin code temporarily and flashed magisk.zip and installed magisk apk. All is working great. Then i set up pin and fingerprint and once there was some problem pin did not unlock phone fingerprint did. After reboot it also fixed.

Thing is if i boot 3.3.1-0 with fastboot boot it works, it decrypts data with pin. But 3.3.0-0 says pin wrong. I tried to install twrp-3.3.1-0.img from TWRP 3.3.0-0 with new menu to flash ramdisk but it says something that not enough memory available. How can i flash new 3.3.1-0 TWRP there is no zip. What version of TWRP do you have?
10th September 2019, 08:30 PM |#4  
Horgar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by matusala

I removed fingerprint and pin code temporarily and flashed magisk.zip and installed magisk apk. All is working great. Then i set up pin and fingerprint and once there was some problem pin did not unlock phone fingerprint did. After reboot it also fixed.

Thing is if i boot 3.3.1-0 with fastboot boot it works, it decrypts data with pin. But 3.3.0-0 says pin wrong. I tried to install twrp-3.3.1-0.img from TWRP 3.3.0-0 with new menu to flash ramdisk but it says something that not enough memory available. How can i flash new 3.3.1-0 TWRP there is no zip. What version of TWRP do you have?

The issue you describe is nothing to do with being on Android 10. That issue of decryption with twrp has been around for a while. Just get rid of pin etc, then you will get into twrp. But. Twrp does not work with 10. There is no point attempting to flash twrp for the time being. It does not work.

If you want a working root, you need to do the old way by patching your boot.img. That seems to be the only working root method so far on 10
The Following User Says Thank You to Horgar For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Horgar Ad-Free
11th September 2019, 09:19 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horgar

The issue you describe is nothing to do with being on Android 10. That issue of decryption with twrp has been around for a while. Just get rid of pin etc, then you will get into twrp. But. Twrp does not work with 10. There is no point attempting to flash twrp for the time being. It does not work.

If you want a working root, you need to do the old way by patching your boot.img. That seems to be the only working root method so far on 10

Why do you keep saying it does not work? I just got rid of pin + fingerprint then went into TWRP which i flashed before from live TWRP. Flashed magisk.zip it worked perfectly and then rebooted and installed magisk manager. TWRP works great with 10 if i do not have pin + fingerprint and magisk also works great.
The Following User Says Thank You to matusala For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift matusala Ad-Free
11th September 2019, 03:25 PM |#6  
jackdubl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
More
I used twrp to flash Magisk on 10.0. I didn't flash twrp, just booted it. It flashed the normal magisk fine and I have root. What is more strange, my Pixel accepted and installed 10.0 via the OTA. I have never had a rooted phone accept an OTA before.
11th September 2019, 04:36 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdubl

I used twrp to flash Magisk on 10.0. I didn't flash twrp, just booted it. It flashed the normal magisk fine and I have root. What is more strange, my Pixel accepted and installed 10.0 via the OTA. I have never had a rooted phone accept an OTA before.

Magisk is systemless root maybe that's why it did that.
11th September 2019, 06:40 PM |#8  
Horgar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by matusala

Why do you keep saying it does not work? I just got rid of pin + fingerprint then went into TWRP which i flashed before from live TWRP. Flashed magisk.zip it worked perfectly and then rebooted and installed magisk manager. TWRP works great with 10 if i do not have pin + fingerprint and magisk also works great.

If Twrp sticks and works on 10 then that's good. But all the reports on XDA are saying Twrp will not stick and/or does not work on 10. You're the only person I've heard that has got a working Twrp on 10
11th September 2019, 08:15 PM |#9  
jackdubl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horgar

If Twrp sticks and works on 10 then that's good. But all the reports on XDA are saying Twrp will not stick and/or does not work on 10. You're the only person I've heard that has got a working Twrp on 10

Have you tried just booting twrp instead of flashing it?
11th September 2019, 10:39 PM |#10  
Horgar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdubl

Have you tried just booting twrp instead of flashing it?

No. Not tried. But if it worked for you that's good to know. I know for others it didn't work. Patching the boot.img only takes 10 minutes anyway.

Are you able to mount your system with magisk rooted 10?
12th September 2019, 03:45 AM |#11  
jackdubl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horgar

No. Not tried. But if it worked for you that's good to know. I know for others it didn't work. Patching the boot.img only takes 10 minutes anyway.

Are you able to mount your system with magisk rooted 10?

I seem to remember getting some strange messages while flashing Magisk, like it couldn't mount system or something. It was in red. It seemed bad but it also came after successfully flashing Magisk, so it said. Everything was working fine after I rebooted. All root apps working as normal.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes