FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Helium backup

1,122 posts
Thanks Meter: 133
 
By TheArtiszan, Senior Member on 28th February 2016, 10:11 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Well getting my device tomorrow. Hopefully helium backup will work on it when I get it. Currently don't work with nexus 6 though. Helium backup is a great app for migrating app data to new devices. Test it out if you haven't yet.
 
 
29th February 2016, 05:43 AM |#2  
Semantics's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 737
 
More
Don't you need root?
29th February 2016, 06:30 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Semantics

Don't you need root?

Helium piggybacks on ADB.
29th February 2016, 05:38 PM |#4  
Martinjv71's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 175
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Semantics

Don't you need root?

In other words....no you do not.
1st March 2016, 01:48 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
More
Nope. No root needed. Fantastic for changing devices or when you are a flashoholic.
Just need a computer to enable it when you use it.
Tested it with my s7e,and it works perfectly.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TheArtiszan For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TheArtiszan Ad-Free
1st March 2016, 02:57 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
I have used helium in the past and loved it. It allows you to back up saved data as well which sets it apart from the improved Android re-install.

I will use it again when mine comes back. In fact it was on my todo list to back it up today in preperation. I am not sure when my Verizon edge 7 will be here..... but I ordered in the first 10 minutes so hopefully I will be in first batch shipped and get my middle of this week...... Fingers crossed!
2nd March 2016, 03:45 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheArtiszan

Nope. No root needed. Fantastic for changing devices or when you are a flashoholic.
Just need a computer to enable it when you use it.
Tested it with my s7e,and it works perfectly.

Yep, I love the way helium deals with backups and whatnot. I flash my devices atleast once a week and it's been fine. Glad to hear that the s7 is no different, though it's not really a surprise since it runs M and firmware wise isn't much different from the current ones.
2nd March 2016, 01:22 PM |#8  
mocsab's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 1,370
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnadke

Helium piggybacks on ADB.

is there a tutorial on that process or can you walk us thru it?
3rd March 2016, 06:53 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheArtiszan

Nope. No root needed. Fantastic for changing devices or when you are a flashoholic.
Just need a computer to enable it when you use it.
Tested it with my s7e,and it works perfectly.

Really true..! It works great..! One of my favourite app
The Following User Says Thank You to Rakesh_chandra For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Rakesh_chandra Ad-Free
3rd March 2016, 09:40 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
On my Galaxy S6 wit Marshmallow Helium Backup is working. Hopefully it will be the same on the S7 Edge. Let us know.
5th March 2016, 02:50 AM |#11  
ahrion's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,351
 
More
How do I make helium work on the S7 with a Mac??
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes