FORUMS

[ROM][9][OneUI] Korea's rom for A5|7 2017

1,474 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,885
 
By Option58, Senior Member on 27th September 2019, 11:29 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
[ROM][9][OneUI] Korea's rom for A5|7 2017

As you probably know by now a Korean variant of A7 2017 has recently received firmware update to android 9 and OneUI. I made it working on my international variant and cleaned it up, so I'm sharing with the community.

Code:
/*
 * Your warranty is now void.
 *
 * I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
 * thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please
 * do some research if you have any concerns about features included in this ROM
 * before flashing it! YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
 * you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.
 */



ROM Info & Features
  • Based on A720SKSU4CSK2
    • Kernel built from A720S sources
    • Removed forceencrypt and verity
    • Disabled OEM Unlock toggle
    • Prepatched KG. See here
  • Ported features
    • Added support for A5 2017, too
    • Added dual sim functionality
    • Fixed secure folder
  • Debranded
    • Removed Korean region-related apps and services
    • Removed SKT bootanimation


Supported devices
  • SM-A720F
  • SM-A720S
  • SM-A520F
  • SM-A520W
  • SM-A520S/K/L


Bugs
  • Korean base doesn't support multi-csc and lacks some languages.
  • Dialing rom-related USSD codes is broken.
  • Second sim slot only works for calls/text.
  • No FMRadio.

Installation Steps
  1. Make sure you had Samsung's Oreo firmware bootloader and modem before installing this
  2. Download the rom
  3. In TWRP format data (if you still have stock rom encryption)
  4. In TWRP wipe system/data/cache
  5. Flash
  6. Reboot


Download
MEGA

Mirrors: google drive | androidfilehost

Changelog
  • 06032020
    • Fixed screen mirroring
    • Stopped forcing dual-sim prop for all devices
  • 12122019
    • Added support for dual sim
    • Fixed secure folder
    • Permissive sepolicy
  • 08122019
    • Added support for A5 2017
    • Kernel built from source
    • Fixed settings bug with superfluous options
    • Rebased on A720SKSU4CSK2
  • 28092019
    • Initial build
    • A720SKSU3CSH1


Special thanks to:
corsicanu
de_inferno
khongloi113
dvdhngs
yash92duster
SuperR


XDA:DevDB Information
[ROM][9][OneUI] Korea's rom for A5|7 2017, ROM for the Samsung Galaxy A Series 2017 A3, A5, A7

Contributors
Option58
Source Code: https://github.com/universal7880/and..._universal7880

ROM OS Version: 9.x Pie
ROM Kernel: Linux 3.x
ROM Firmware Required: Samsung oreo bootloader and modem

Version Information
Status: Stable

Created 2019-09-27
Last Updated 2020-04-10
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191207-215617_One UI Home.jpg
Views:	13254
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	4897807   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191207-215038_Settings.jpg
Views:	13086
Size:	181.2 KB
ID:	4897811   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191207-214929_Settings.jpg
Views:	12944
Size:	221.7 KB
ID:	4897813   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191207-215048_One UI Home.jpg
Views:	12714
Size:	169.4 KB
ID:	4897817  
The Following 52 Users Say Thank You to Option58 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Option58 Ad-Free
27th September 2019, 11:29 AM |#2  
Option58's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Serbia
Thanks Meter: 1,885
 
More
Reserved
FAQ
Is it possible to flash stock oreo firmware after using this rom?
Yes, of course. Flashing this rom doesn't update your bootloader.

Some apps (eg. banking, Netflix) refuse to work.
Permissive kernel which is shipped in the latest build doesn't pass SafetyNet. Luckily, there are ways to bypass this such as flashing Magisk.

I have A5 2017, but battery capacity shows 3600mAh.
You can ignore this. That's only in about phone. The kernel knows your true battery capacity.

How to add csc codes
Korean base doesn't support multi-csc. But we can still unlock region-related features by using special codes. I won't post them here, you should search around xda for the specific one that you need.

For example here I will be adding network speed indicator in the status bar. The code for this is:
Code:
<CscFeature_Setting_SupportRealTimeNetworkSpeed>TRUE</CscFeature_Setting_SupportRealTimeNetworkSpeed>
But you can add something else, too.

You'll need a PC. Steps to take are:
  1. Download THIS zip to your PC.
  2. Extract the zip.
  3. Open system/csc/others.xml with Notepad.

    It looks like this:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <SamsungMobileFeature>
      <FeatureSet>
        <CscFeature_Setting_ConfigOpMenuStructure>GLOBAL</CscFeature_Setting_ConfigOpMenuStructure>
      </FeatureSet>
    </SamsungMobileFeature>
    Add your code like below:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <SamsungMobileFeature>
      <FeatureSet>
        <CscFeature_Setting_ConfigOpMenuStructure>GLOBAL</CscFeature_Setting_ConfigOpMenuStructure>
        <CscFeature_Setting_SupportRealTimeNetworkSpeed>TRUE</CscFeature_Setting_SupportRealTimeNetworkSpeed>
      </FeatureSet>
    </SamsungMobileFeature>
  4. Repack the zip.
  5. Copy to your phone and flash.

Now when you go to settings -> status bar you should see the network speed indicator toggle appear. Or any other change that you added.
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to Option58 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Option58 Ad-Free
27th September 2019, 11:46 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Nice bro,.. im waiting long for this
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TioLord For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TioLord Ad-Free
27th September 2019, 05:21 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
👍👍👍
27th September 2019, 06:49 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Thank you for sharing Option58.

Any chance of someone adding support for A520F?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Boozika For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Boozika Ad-Free
27th September 2019, 08:08 PM |#7  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boozika

Thank you for sharing Option58.

Any chance of someone adding support for A520F?

It could come someday.
27th September 2019, 08:46 PM |#8  
Ethelwulf's Avatar
Member
Flag Istanbul
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
It can't flash. TWRP says format() expects 5 args, got 6
updater process endedwith error: 7 what should i do?
27th September 2019, 09:47 PM |#9  
Simon1511's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 378
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethelwulf

It can't flash. TWRP says format() expects 5 args, got 6
updater process endedwith error: 7 what should i do?

Do you have latest TWRP?
The Following User Says Thank You to Simon1511 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Simon1511 Ad-Free
27th September 2019, 10:12 PM |#10  
Option58's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Serbia
Thanks Meter: 1,885
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethelwulf

It can't flash. TWRP says format() expects 5 args, got 6
updater process endedwith error: 7 what should i do?

Oh, derp. Tomorrow I'll be replacing the build to fix that.
The Following User Says Thank You to Option58 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Option58 Ad-Free
27th September 2019, 10:20 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boozika

Thank you for sharing Option58.

Any chance of someone adding support for A520F?

I hope it will be possible
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes