FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Build kernel from source and boot to Ubuntu using L4T (Linux for Tegra) rootfs

355 posts
Thanks Meter: 79
 
By yahoo2016, Senior Member on 19th December 2015, 08:47 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
22nd February 2017, 04:42 PM |#471  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Has anyone else came across the issue where after running 'fastboot flash recovery mmcblk1p1.img', upon entering fastboot and selecting 'Boot recovery kernel' the nvidia logo will appear for a short period follow by a sick andriod with a warning logo in it's chest with 'No command' appearing above it? If 'fastboot boot mmcblk1p1.img' is ran, this boots no problems.

Also @deerish, are you running l4t off a usb or the internal mmc in your sheild 2017?

Thanks
 
 
22nd February 2017, 05:57 PM |#472  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rascustoms

Has anyone else came across the issue where after running 'fastboot flash recovery mmcblk1p1.img', upon entering fastboot and selecting 'Boot recovery kernel' the nvidia logo will appear for a short period follow by a sick andriod with a warning logo in it's chest with 'No command' appearing above it? If 'fastboot boot mmcblk1p1.img' is ran, this boots no problems.

Also @deerish, are you running l4t off a usb or the internal mmc in your sheild 2017?

Thanks

I have run it off of both. My init looks first for a USB drive, but will mount "mmcblk0p33" if a USB drive is not found.
23rd February 2017, 11:15 AM |#473  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deerish

Yes.

@deerish Great to know this! Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deerish

I didn't flash the dtb. "data" is on mmcblk0p33, if you want to provide an image for that.

edit: Yes, the dtb provided with L4T still works.

@yahoo2016 It's great if you would spend some time preparing an image for Shield TV 2017.
23rd February 2017, 04:54 PM |#474  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Module version mismatch?
Hi,

many thanks for the kernel images!

However, using Tegra210_Linux_R24.2.1_aarch64.tbz2 and 24.2.1 sample rootfs, the kernel version magic doesn't match the kernel modules it seems. The rootfs modules version magic has a "-tegra" suffix that the kernel does'nt it seems.

It is booting anyway from USB, but won't boot properly from mmclk0p29 if written there, getting stuck in framebuffer terminal after failing to run the graphical desktop.

On both accasions, there are no modules loaded from the beginning, but for the USB variant, graphics and eth0 is up.

So for what are the modules needed? How to get them right?
26th February 2017, 05:37 PM |#475  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
ok so im trying to install this to boot from my 16 micro sd card, but my card reader is not working but i can access my card over network using the shield network storage option. so following the tut im up to:

3. Copy L4T rootfs to SD card or USB drive
Prepare your SD card or USB drive such that it has at least one primary partition, using fdisk or gparted.
Assuming the first partition of the SD card or USB drive shows as "/dev/sdb1" on your ubuntu laptop and your are still in <L4T_install_folder>/Linux_for_Tegra folder:
Code:

sudo mkfs.ext4 /dev/sdb1
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt
sudo cp -a rootfs/* /mnt && sync

im wondering if there is a way to change the path from dev/memblock0 (or whatever it is) to the network path for the memcard instead, is this possible?? sorry if i didnt explain my point very well
6th April 2017, 03:16 AM |#476  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
2017 Pro not working microSD or ext USB
@deerish I picked up one of the 2017 pro units, Yahoo2016's images don't work on either the microSD or the external USB (with the same SD). Confirmed the rootfs is correct by loading it on a microSD in my 2015 16gb unit. Compiled my own images, same problem.

Effectively, no matter what I do on the 2017 Pro, it's looking for the rootfs and doesn't find it (I can replicate the behaviour by using the mmcblk1p1 image on my 2015 16GB and not plugging in the microSD). It loads up like it's loading linux fine, then 9 seconds in it panics.

Anyone also deal with this? What are our options? Load the rootfs directly on the SSHD from another linux box?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes