FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Build kernel from source and boot to Ubuntu using L4T (Linux for Tegra) rootfs

387 posts
Thanks Meter: 83
 
By yahoo2016, Senior Member on 19th December 2015, 08:47 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
14th May 2017, 09:20 AM |#501  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Is it possible to downgrade SATV Pro 500GB (2015) from 5.x firmware to 3.x?
I have SATV Pro 500GB (2015) and SATV 16GB ( 2017) with 5.x firmware, I tried using the boot provided in first thread for SATV 16GB ( 2017) with 5.x, it just shown the ubuntu UI but after that it disappear.

Is there any boot image available for 5.x firmware or is there any way to downgrade these devices to 3.x firmware. Thanks
 
 
14th May 2017, 11:23 AM |#502  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by praveenonwww

Is it possible to downgrade SATV Pro 500GB (2015) from 5.x firmware to 3.x?
I have SATV Pro 500GB (2015) and SATV 16GB ( 2017) with 5.x firmware, I tried using the boot provided in first thread for SATV 16GB ( 2017) with 5.x, it just shown the ubuntu UI but after that it disappear.

Is there any boot image available for 5.x firmware or is there any way to downgrade these devices to 3.x firmware. Thanks

If you have SATV Pro, you should back up your HDD first following this link:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/shi...v-pro-t3440195

Then you can try down grade using ROM 3.x images from the following link:

https://developer.nvidia.com/shield-developer-os-images

According to the following thread, SATV Pro can always be unbricked:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/shi...v-ssd-t3402580
And link to SHDD image of SATV Pro 2015:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...2&postcount=23
The Following User Says Thank You to yahoo2016 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift yahoo2016 Ad-Free
19th May 2017, 10:42 PM |#503  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartiniGM

This is pretty awesome. I own a Shield Pro 2017 edition and now I've copied the filesystem to a Samsung UHS-grade sdcard, placed it into the internal sdcard slot and booted the Shield with your "mmcblk0p1.img" boot image and the system runs Ubuntu soo smooth. Thought "Full Android" was the way to use the Shield, but this is might end up as my prime OS!

Question, are you also not seeing the internal mmc when you run lsblk on the pro 2017 or do i have something weird going on?
29th May 2017, 04:21 PM |#504  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does it work with the last Shield TV 2017 ?
29th May 2017, 04:37 PM |#505  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xkrys

Does it work with the last Shield TV 2017 ?

I don't have SATV 2017, I'd recommend SATV 2017 Pro which will not brick if you clone the HDD and keep the original HDD.
With HDD backup, you could try downgrade to ROM 3.x and use the images from the OP.

Downgrading SATV 1027 16 GB could brick it. If you brick one SATV 16 GB, it'd be more expensive than SATV Pro.
30th May 2017, 11:26 PM |#506  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello yahoo2016, thank you for your work, First off I was wondering if there is any way to get to a command line from the login screen for ubuntu, had been working fine for weeks as my primary os, flashed to the user data partition of my 2015 emmc 16gb, however a couple of days ago , trying to login to ubuntu gives me failed to start session message in red under the password dialog box, ctrl+alt+f1 only puts shield tv to sleep instead of opening a command line, so I cannot reinstall a broken ubuntu desktop, I have tried several times to enter HW recovery mode with usb plugged into pc as well as otg cable, is there anyway to get a cli or recovery mode via my Linux pc thru an ssh?
31st May 2017, 03:41 AM |#507  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afeld88

Hello yahoo2016, thank you for your work, First off I was wondering if there is any way to get to a command line from the login screen for ubuntu, had been working fine for weeks as my primary os, flashed to the user data partition of my 2015 emmc 16gb, however a couple of days ago , trying to login to ubuntu gives me failed to start session message in red under the password dialog box, ctrl+alt+f1 only puts shield tv to sleep instead of opening a command line, so I cannot reinstall a broken ubuntu desktop, I have tried several times to enter HW recovery mode with usb plugged into pc as well as otg cable, is there anyway to get a cli or recovery mode via my Linux pc thru an ssh?

You should be able to connect SATV to a PC/laptop using a micro USB to USB cable and hold power button while plug in power until SATV enter recovery mode.
31st May 2017, 11:48 AM |#508  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello yahoo thanks for the quick reply , I have tried that method multiple times, however it just boots up into Linux, however a couple of tries it will briefly show the nvidia splash screen for a split second as if it's trying to enter recovery but continues with boot up to Linux, however when I try to switch from ubuntu username to kodi desktop environment with same password I can boot into kodi, perhaps you have some insight ? Maybe recovery mode is taking longer or Linux has suppressed it? Or maybe there is a way to get to terminal from kodi?
31st May 2017, 10:21 PM |#509  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afeld88

Hello yahoo thanks for the quick reply , I have tried that method multiple times, however it just boots up into Linux, however a couple of tries it will briefly show the nvidia splash screen for a split second as if it's trying to enter recovery but continues with boot up to Linux, however when I try to switch from ubuntu username to kodi desktop environment with same password I can boot into kodi, perhaps you have some insight ? Maybe recovery mode is taking longer or Linux has suppressed it? Or maybe there is a way to get to terminal from kodi?

What was your ROM version when you flashed Ubuntu? ROM 3.x should be able to boot to recovery mode reliably using the above method. I did not update my SATVs to 5.x and wasn't aware behavior of ROM 5.x.

It's important to make sure recovery mode always works, otherwise SATV could be bricked.

I have not installed Kodi on SATV. There are ways to add serial console port to SATV by soldering thin wires to some pads. If you want to try it, the photos and instructions should be in this thread or maybe another threads.
31st May 2017, 10:29 PM |#510  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes I was on the upgraded rom to 5.x on a 2015 16gb shield, I had made sure that recovery mode worked and was able to get into it after I installed ubuntu, the whole Linux install is fine and didn't cause any issue this came about out of the blue , kodi had worked prior on ubuntu and still works , I even try to switch to the account named nvidia and I also get failed to start session , but Can boot into kodi from ubuntu login , since I can get into kodi and my boot log is not showing any errors there should be a water me to get to a terminal or task manager to reinstall my ubuntu desktop.is there a way to ssh into a system and command it from my pc?
31st May 2017, 10:49 PM |#511  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afeld88

Yes I was on the upgraded rom to 5.x on a 2015 16gb shield, I had made sure that recovery mode worked and was able to get into it after I installed ubuntu, the whole Linux install is fine and didn't cause any issue this came about out of the blue , kodi had worked prior on ubuntu and still works , I even try to switch to the account named nvidia and I also get failed to start session , but Can boot into kodi from ubuntu login , since I can get into kodi and my boot log is not showing any errors there should be a water me to get to a terminal or task manager to reinstall my ubuntu desktop.is there a way to ssh into a system and command it from my pc?

I consider recovery mode non-working a bug of boot loader. Nvidia screwed up boot loader for ROM version 2.x and caused many bricked SATVs. Nvidia was kind enough to replace my bricked SATV 16GB.

Nvidia seems fixed boot loader bug for ROM version 3.x, but introduced new bug on ROM5.x which couldn't be fixed by downgrading to 3.x.

I recommend contact Nvidia from the following link for boot loader recovery mode bug:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/support.html

It may be a known bug.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes