[ROM] ICS 4.0.3 With working camera [UPDATE 01.05.2012]

Search This thread
S

stritfajt

Guest
Nice one stritfajt! It is my pleasure to include it!

The thing with 4.0.4, it has the animations fixed, and everything works (didn't tested the calls), the scripts are now fixed, but I must correct myself:

IS NOWHERE NEAR from smoothness of 4.0.3 and in that version the scripts didn't even worked. If I cannot make it somehow to work smooth, we will probably continue with 4.0.3...

Yeah, that was my conclusion regarding 4.0.3 vs 4.0.4 too. But as I've mentioned earlier, I've heard the 4.0.5 will be better optimized. I think we're better off with 4.0.3 right now.

Also, with Habarugs latest fix I have no problems with calling. I think everything important is working here actually.

What was the solutions with the scripts? Could you do it on this version too?
 

1ceb0x

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2010
5,666
6,332
The Earth
Yeah, that was my conclusion regarding 4.0.3 vs 4.0.4 too. But as I've mentioned earlier, I've heard the 4.0.5 will be better optimized. I think we're better off with 4.0.3 right now.

Also, with Habarugs latest fix I have no problems with calling. I think everything important is working here actually.

What was the solutions with the scripts? Could you do it on this version too?

yeah. it was an easy fix actually. i had to open the scripts with notepad++ to set them to unix coding because they we're in dos coding.. i didn't looked at them with notepad++ to change the format so now they are all in unix and are running and it can be implemented in 4.0.3 without any problems :)
 
S

stritfajt

Guest
yeah. it was an easy fix actually. i had to open the scripts with notepad++ to set them to unix coding because they we're in dos coding.. i didn't looked at them with notepad++ to change the format so now they are all in unix and are running and it can be implemented in 4.0.3 without any problems :)

Hmm, that's weird since i wrote my script with vim and stored it on a reiserfs filesystem and it still didn't work. Oh well, if you say you can get it working, do it! :)
 

riemervdzee

Retired Recognized Developer
May 27, 2010
593
292
Dokkum
Could you add md5sums to your downloads? I think I had a bad download twice in a row, I had to resign them manually?
 

bluepinkpanther

Senior Member
Nov 18, 2010
773
225
Przemysl
In some places I have gingerbread style windows etc.
Like here:
36703751.png
31954466.png


It's hmmm... normal?
 

1ceb0x

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2010
5,666
6,332
The Earth
In some places I have gingerbread style windows etc.
Like here:
36703751.png
31954466.png


It's hmmm... normal?

It's just you... I don't have those and I use root explorer. I have the blue color! I think that Habarug has signaled this. Try to reinstall the latest or wait until tonight, I'll upload V.2.1.1 at the time I will be home from work.

Cheers!
 

Habarug

Senior Member
Feb 23, 2011
1,671
409
Bergen
It's still there, and I don't see why you doesn't have it? The reason it is this way is because the old framework is still there, and unless the apps are coded to use the new framework in the manifest, it will use the old one

Edit: @Krygo Try to update the app and see if it has been updated to use holo framework
 
Last edited:

bluepinkpanther

Senior Member
Nov 18, 2010
773
225
Przemysl
It's still there, and I don't see why you doesn't have it? The reason it is this way is because the old framework is still there, and unless the apps are coded to use the new framework in the manifest, it will use the old one

Edit: @Krygo Try to update the app and see if it has been updated to use holo framework

Hmmm, I have this problem in other apps too.
Like SMS Backup & Restore, very frequently updated application looks like on gingerbread:
88657085.png
58388971.png


But in system settings etc everything is ok.
 

samm000

Senior Member
Sep 21, 2008
180
84
Nijmegen
i have solved the network searching error :)

the error was in libhtc_ril.so!!

@1ceb0x i will send you the right libhtc_ril.so so you can replace it with the currently one.

perhaps that other problems that are interrelated to this one will be solved to ;)
 
Last edited:

1ceb0x

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2010
5,666
6,332
The Earth
HeroICS_4.0.3_V.2.1.1_lvkernel1.0RC3_signed

So I was eating my peanutbutter and after I saw how laggy 4.0.4 can be, I decided that it is good for us for the moment to just stay at 4.0.3. It's not like we will miss something greater than it is right now.

A new version is now out, and it contains some major improvements in terms of performances and speed. It has Las_Venturas 1.0RC3+ kernel packed (thanks @jordfaz), the new camera fix (thanks @stritfajt), the scripts are now up and running (thanks @riemer for the tip), fixed app2sd and cache2cache script, Habarug's modded Phone.apk (disabled the red hang up button), a new Evervolv Toolbox + a superb boot animation (probably the best boot animation I've saw from 2009 till now). It also includes a nice script called 13cpuspeed from where you can set your own values and governor. You can see the values changed in evervolv toolbox under performance tab.

Right now when you flash the zip, the cpu speed is OC'd at: 264-652 smartass V2. I suggest you increase the min value to 352mhz. I've done this to avoid flashing a 'safe' kernel on top of the rom for those heroes that cannot support higher cpu speeds and also it's a safe way to change your values from within the script, no need for 3rd party app.

Why it is improved? Because in v2 and lower, the scripts were lying in init.d but they did not activate on boot thus making them basically useless.

But there is one more script left in init.d that it's not working. This is the *****! '02ramconfig'. This basically sets the internal task killer to higher values giving our hero a little boost in speed. I have tried many ways to force it to start. IT seems that when the boot animation is on, the values are set according to the script, after that, the values turn to normal.

We will investigate this further as we move our focus towards 4.0.5 when the sources are out. But at the time being I will show you other ways to activate the script, so don't delete it:


Keep in mind that you need to do it on every boot. Just choose a way that suits you best and do it every time you reboot your phone.


1. install AMM - auto memory management - from the market, and set it at mild or agressive.

2. If you have android sdk installed on your computer, just make this:

enter cmd and navigate to your android-sdk\platform-tools
connect your device (make sure you have usb debugging enabled from settings)
type adb shell
now you should type this command:
Code:
echo 1536,3072,4096,21000,23000,25000 > /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/minfree

after this, to see if the values are set, you can try this:

Code:
cat /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/minfree
and if it looks like this; 1536,3072,4096,21000,23000,25000 you are ready to go.

3. If you have 'Root Explorer.apk' you can press on any of the script from init.d (minfree, cpuspeed) and select run as Linux Script Handler -> Execute. And the values should fire up. Note: for cpu speeds, do this after you've changed your cpu settings using a text viewer (explorer works also).


I suggest you all guys flash this latest version because includes almost all major fixes and the call drop should be fixed in this. Also, you can install apex launcher for a better performance, you will never regret it:). You can enable some cool features that LV Kernel comes packed with (zRam or Kernel samepage merging briefly known as ksm). I suggest play with ksm and see how it goes.

Another nice tweak you can make to increase performance is to limit the processes to only "4" from settings-developer options-background process limit. You can play with this value as well but I suggest leaving it at 4 if you want to be enabled.



HeroICS_4.0.3_V.2.1.1_lvkernel1.0RC3_signed


Known Bugs:
- SetupWizard reloads and turns a black screen for a couple of seconds at start up.
- screen turns black for a couple of seconds when using the gyroscope.

Any given feedback will be kindly apreciated!
Cheers

Changelog
V2.1.1:
- changed kernel to Las_Venturas 1.0RC3+ (thanks @jordfaz)
- the new camera fix (thanks @stritfajt)
- scripts up and running (thanks @riemer for the tip)
- fixed app2sd and cache2cache script
- Habarug's modded Phone.apk
- A new evervolv toolbox
- changed the boot animation with a beautiful one.
- added script 13cpuspeed
- limited the cpu at boot to max 652 mhz/smartassV2.
- fixed scarry OFFSET error when flashing the new rom!!
 
Last edited:

1ceb0x

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2010
5,666
6,332
The Earth
What about using SManager or Cron4Phone to schedule run '02ramconfig' post-boot animation?

they must be tested. I don't know if they can fire up the script right from the bootanimation but they maybe fire it right when all the files from the OS are loaded. it is a nice way to run the script but I will keep in mind also the amount of ram that it's used by one of them. because if they consume like 20 mb and it is an active process, i'm not sure if it will do any good for you. the idea is to have the script loaded without consuming rams to do so...
 
Feedback so far: (in no particular order)

1) apps2sd doesn't seem to be working. Titanium Backup cannot see my ext2 partition. When I installed Tit Back from Play, the phone lists the app as installed internally with whatever file size it is but it also lists it as installed on my SD card with 0.0MB.

2) Cell signal strength indicator in status bar is maxed out but in Status menu it says 0 dBm, 97 asu. (I realize that technically speaking 0dBm would be a very strong signal but you would never see it in the real world. For example, -50dBm is considered to be a very strong real world signal)

UPDATE: installed an app called network signal info and this app shows my signal to be -101dBm. The signal strength indicator and status menu numbers are unchanged from last time - I have not moved.

Same app shows my wifi signal indicator at zero and my signal strength to be -200dBm. I am connected to my router and getting through to the Internet.

3) Camera is working great! Nice work.

4) I really like how fast the pull down menu bar is... It's pretty much as fast as a 2.1 sense ROM pull down (whoops, I said sense :p ).

5) I tried to restore my APN settings with an app called APN Backup and Restore (older version) and it said
Restore failed: exception no permission to write APN settings: Neither user 10052 nor current process has android.permission.WRITE_APN_SETTINGS.

On Play in the apps description it notes that starting with ics/Android 4.0, 3rd party apps no longer have access to write APN settings unless set to system app (limited success). I tried setting this app to a system app with tit back (took about a minute!) and it worked!!! Sweet.

That's it for now.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 1ceb0x

axel199513

Senior Member
Nov 9, 2011
86
14
Красногорск
downloading right now...now feedback
1)as saj22 said, app2sd doesn't work but i have 166 mb free in internal storage so right now i don't need app2sd
2)camera works:)
3)2 bugs that you wrote before( about black screen)
4)screenshot maker doesn't work:(
5)boot animation is really cool:)
6)everything other works great
1ceb0x, you is the best dev that i saw:) you said smth about zram...what's it?:confused: great thanks for a such cool rom, now i know that my phone is really HERO:cool:
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 1ceb0x

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 29
    A new version is now out, and it contains some major improvements in terms of performances and speed. It has Las_Venturas 1.0RC3+ kernel packed (thanks @jordfaz), the new camera fix (thanks @stritfajt), the scripts are now up and running (thanks @riemer for the tip), fixed app2sd and cache2cache script, Habarug's modded Phone.apk (disabled the red hang up button), a new Evervolv Toolbox + a superb boot animation (probably the best boot animation I've saw from 2009 till now). It also includes a nice script called 13cpuspeed from where you can set your own values and governor. You can see the values changed in evervolv toolbox under performance tab.

    Right now when you flash the zip, the cpu speed is OC'd at: 264-652 smartass V2. I suggest you increase the min value to 352mhz. I've done this to avoid flashing a 'safe' kernel on top of the rom for those heroes that cannot support higher cpu speeds and also it's a safe way to change your values from within the script, no need for 3rd party app.

    Why it is improved? Because in v2 and lower, the scripts were lying in init.d but they did not activate on boot thus making them basically useless.

    But there is one more script left in init.d that it's not working. This is the *****! '02ramconfig'. This basically sets the internal task killer to higher values giving our hero a little boost in speed. I have tried many ways to force it to start. IT seems that when the boot animation is on, the values are set according to the script, after that, the values turn to normal.

    We will investigate this further as we move our focus towards 4.0.5 when the sources are out. But at the time being I will show you other ways to activate the script, so don't delete it:


    Keep in mind that you need to do it on every boot. Just choose a way that suits you best and do it every time you reboot your phone.

    1. install AMM - auto memory management - from the market, and set it at mild or agressive.

    2. If you have android sdk installed on your computer, just make this:
    enter cmd and navigate to your android-sdk\platform-tools
    Connect your device (make sure you have usb debugging enabled from settings).
    Type adb shell and now you should type this command:
    Code:
    echo 1536,3072,4096,21000,23000,25000 > /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/minfree
    after this, to see if the values are set, you can try this:
    Code:
    cat /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/minfree
    and if it looks like this; 1536,3072,4096,21000,23000,25000 you are ready to go.

    3. If you have 'Root Explorer.apk' you can press on any of the script from init.d (minfree, cpuspeed) and select run as Linux Script Handler -> Execute.
    And the values should fire up. Note: for cpu speeds, do this after you've changed your cpu settings using a text viewer (explorer works also).

    I suggest you all guys flash this latest version because includes almost all major fixes and the call drop should be fixed in this. Also, you can install apex launcher for a better performance, you will never regret it. You can enable some cool features that LV Kernel comes packed with (zRam or Kernel samepage merging briefly known as ksm). I suggest play with ksm and see how it goes.

    Another nice tweak you can make to increase performance is to limit the processes to only "4" from settings-developer options-background process limit. You can play with this value as well but I suggest leaving it at 4 if you want to be enabled.


    Disclaimer: I am not responsible for what YOU do to your phone...
    You assume all responsibility and risk associated with flashing any ROM. Make a backup!!!



    What's Working:
    camera
    touchscreen
    physical & capacitive buttons
    wifi
    gps
    data
    calls
    sms
    mms
    audio, ringtones, notifications, alarms
    microphone
    root
    adb
    sdcard
    usb mass storage
    sensors
    vibration
    trackball navigation, selection, light
    notification / charging LED


    Partially Working:]
    Stock ICS gallery app - displays black boxes. must press and drag finger to shows pics
    live wallpapers


    Not Working:
    camcorder
    bluetooth
    wifi signal strength icon display
    built-in screenshot feature
    google music app
    Hwa
    you tell me....

    Known Bugs:
    - SetupWizard reloads and turns a black screen for a couple of seconds at start up.
    - screen turns black for a couple of seconds when using the gyroscope.


    Keep in mind that this is in the early stage of development so not everything will be completely stable or working perfectly.

    You flash this ROM at your own risk! Be sure to make a nand backup and do a full wipe before flashing.


    Downloads:
    ROM - ICS 4.0.3 v2.1.1
    HeroICS_4.0.3_V.2.1.1_lvkernel1.0RC3_signed

    ROM - ICS 4.0.3 v2
    http://www.2shared.com/file/y9H80-YS/hero_ICS_403_v2.html

    Lights format all (use it to format boot, cache, data and system)!!
    https://hotfile.com/dl/153710444/c085539/Lights_Format_All.zip.html

    If you have trouble with bootloops and freezing of youre phone than try to flash this kernel!!
    Flykernel 13 max 614Mhz
    https://hotfile.com/dl/153728037/28f7ceb/FlyKernel-13-M614-m176.zip.html

    No need to flash Gapps, they are included in this build!

    Video preview of the ROM: (Thanks to gkillerx)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8zvkA8SQzs

    * Recommended Flashing Instructions * *YOU CAN USE CWM OR AMON_RA***
    1 - full wipe: data + cache + dalvik cache
    2 - flash lights format all
    3 - flash the ROM zip
    4 - flash the kernel from above if youre phone does not support cpu settings of 652Mhz
    5 - reboot: the first boot will take awhile
    6 - ensure everything is loaded and settled by letting the screen timeout and waiting a minute or so before waking it up and proceeding
    7 - go through the google setup wizard and then wait another couple mintes to allow the rest of the ROM to load up and any google data to sync
    8 - reboot and allow things to load up again
    9 - everything should now be ready to go


    * Tips *
    Enable "Force GPU Rendering" in "Settings - Developer Options" (it helps flinger to be more smooth).

    Disable "Report usage and errors" in "Apex Settings - Advanced settings".

    Use setcpu.apk or similar overclock app

    Use autokiller.apk or similar taskkiller app

    In settings->developer options: make sure window & transition animations are off

    In settings->language & input->android keyboard: turn off popup/vibrate on keypress

    Can open a running apps list by long-pressing the home button & swipe(or long-press) to clear (useful if an app won't open or system slows down to clear out some memory)

    Disabling an app is very easy in ICS: either through the manage app screen or by dragging a particular app from the drawer to the "app info" section displayed at the top of the screen, you'll find a button to disable that app

    Performance-wise it could be worthwhile to play around with the "background process limit" and "don't keep activities" options in settings->developer options

    The ICS launcher makes it simple to create & use folders: just drag one icon on top of another, let go, and they will now be in a folder together which you can name whatever you like.

    Apex settings - drawer settings - Disable Show Widgets tab (it helps on app drawer faster open/close).


    *Change log*
    ICS 4.0.3 V2.1.1:
    - changed kernel to Las_Venturas 1.0RC3+ (thanks @jordfaz)
    - the new camera fix (thanks @stritfajt)
    - scripts up and running (thanks @riemer for the tip)
    - fixed app2sd and cache2cache script
    - Habarug's modded Phone.apk
    - A new evervolv toolbox
    - changed the boot animation with a beautiful one.
    - added script 13cpuspeed
    - limited the cpu at boot to max 652 mhz/smartassV2.
    - fixed scarry OFFSET error when flashing the new rom!!

    ICS 4.0.3 v2
    - Added camera libs (great thanks to stritfajt)
    - Replaced Quickpic with working quickpic


    I would like to thank the following people for their dedication and hard work on this ROM:

    1ceb0x
    stritfajt
    lost101
    nickholtus
    vanaf



    I hope that a dev could help solve the problem with bluetooth
    and the error while searching for other mobile networks. If you like to help send me a PM !!


    If you like donate me a beer for my work ;) hit "donate to me"
    dont forget to hit the thanks button ;)
    10
    It's seems that either the video player is broken or / and the video decoder is broken.

    I installed MX Player + Codec (ARMv6) and it can play the videos but very slowly (few fps) and with a degraded quality. Something is wrong at the low level part.

    The hardware decoding doesn't happen... Does the drivers for that are ok ? How to check ?

    the problem is in the egl drivers.

    i'm now working on a new 4.0.3 update and i try to make the adreno200 drivers to work.

    for now they are working in my test's but not for 100%

    I need more time for that and when it's done i will post it in the op :)
    8
    i have already make it work. It has take a lot of time from me!
    there are some big bugs in it but they are beter than the normal drivers.
    the responce is beter the rom feels quicker without tweaks in the build.prop ;)
    the drivers are not hacked the are from Qualcomm.

    i will pm you the link

    feel free to pm me the link, maybe i'll include them in v2.2 which is starting to take shape today. If it is safe enough I will release it with those drivers, if not, will just leave the default ones.

    L.E: v2.2 it comes strong. some modifications have been made. i hope that the minfree values are set on boot for good now, also changed the kernel to startup at 352 - 652mhz. no need for scripts to do those things. I hope it will boot like this :)

    l.e2: It looks like the build will not come today. I don't have time to finish it although I'm working on it for some hours now. Will try to finish it 2morrow.
    7
    i have solved the network searching error :)

    the error was in libhtc_ril.so!!

    @1ceb0x i will send you the right libhtc_ril.so so you can replace it with the currently one.

    perhaps that other problems that are interrelated to this one will be solved to ;)
    6
    1ceb0x: I would like to test your rom. Have you managed to get lowmemkiller to work they way you want?

    Unfortunately no.

    But i have BIG news for you all.
    I'm running now a ported version from our friends over ERIS. Without any scripts, with open gl 1.1, without proper build prop, the rom is fantastic. The screenshot app is fixed, when you turn your phone from portrate to landscape, the black screen is fixed. I can see that this is already a major thing. If I put all the scripts and tweaks in build prop, it will move much faster than 4.0.3.
    Also, Evervolv toolbox just got better, you can now basically change your CPU speed from there, no need for setcpu to do it :)!