[Android] Droid-Ion Donut 1.6 for the Vogue (Market Fix)

Search This thread

zenulator

Retired Recognized Developer
Apr 12, 2009
2,392
300
Well I finished my personal project. It's an Eclair/Droid themed Ion Donut 1.6 build for the Vogue. Nano Droid.

What it has:
*Droid themed launcher, wallpaper and icons.
*Eclair themed dialer
*Themed clock
*Custom themed calculator (could have done it in mspaint)
*Meridian Evolve Music Player
*Gmail from the HTC Tattoo
*Maps and Youtube from Eclair/Sholes
*Work Email with Exchange support
*Jewels (Bejeweled Clone)
*Better Browser with double tap zoom and a couple others.
Installable:
*HTC IME (hero keyboard) (looks funny in qvga so i left it out)

It's made for qvga so set your default.txt to:

Code:
mddi.width=240 mddi.height=320 lcd.density=120

Other resolutions work as well.

Use it with the latest basefiles, zImage and rootfs.img at vogue-android.

I recommend turning off compcache/swap for donut builds. It seems to slow things down by keeping more than needed in compressed memory.
Download this donut.user.conf files if you don't know how to turn off compcache and put it inside /conf on your sdcard. It also has the "chmod 777 /etc/dbus.conf fix for mssmisions recovery/ext2 installer.


New Market fix (Hopefully) build tags/fingerprint in build.prop is for MyTouch3G 1.5.
It seems that when you run donut in qvga the market only shows apps compatible with qvga and remembers those settings even when you go back to ion/xrom etc... vilord has mentioned that if you boot into donut at
Code:
mddi.width=320 mddi.height=480 lcd.density=160
open the market and login and then switch back to a ion/cupcake build your normal market "should" be back.
I still recommend logging in with a separate Google account if your running donut at qvga and want switch back and forth between cupcake/ion 1.5.



If your new and don't know what your doing then read this.
Use the built in xda search powered by Google(TM) to search the vogue forum you will learn a lot.
If you still have questions then post them in the help thread here.

This is not a how to thread.
jamezelle will flame you so you've been warned. :D

Screenshots taken from ddms.
device4.png
device3.png
device1.png
device5.png
device6.png
device7.png


Base System Image Credits go to:
Amon_RA for his sapphire/ion image
Theme Credits go to:
MontAlbert for partial theming based on the work of Wysie
me for adding missing droid/eclair icons and wallpapers and theming the calculator (nobody ever does that)

Download:D
 
Last edited:

brsev

Senior Member
Aug 14, 2008
84
0
Looks great, glad to see you're still looking at the Vogue port. Downloading now, will add details...
Most everything seems to work great, I like the new music player and the theming is excellent (especially the 2.0 icons and the analog clock). For some reason, though, it doesn't seem to be going into full sleep mode, or at least it never seems to lock the screen - when I turn it on it just jumps right to the Android home.
 
Last edited:

deathpod

Senior Member
Oct 26, 2007
118
18
Syracuse
Confirmed working well at the usual hero resolution but I gotta admit... those are some crisp screenshots! I'm switching back down now.
 

deathpod

Senior Member
Oct 26, 2007
118
18
Syracuse
Not without using adb to set some files to r/w while booting.

** more specifically:

# chmod 777 /etc/dbus.conf


But once it's up and running, it's very fast!
 
Last edited:

ruizit0

Senior Member
Dec 4, 2007
930
231
wow :D
looks nice zen :D

so what works and what doenst works in this one ?

gps ?
data ?
camera ?
 

vilord

Senior Member
Aug 4, 2007
942
2
Boston
seems to be working great! I didn't make any changes to dbus or anything, just loaded fresh, love it! I forgot to set lcd.density tho, so everything is TINY.
Reduced the res, with 120 density, and it looks awesome! I see now what I was missing before!

What about using the HTC IME from tattoo? That should properly support qvga?
 

zenulator

Retired Recognized Developer
Apr 12, 2009
2,392
300
seems to be working great! I didn't make any changes to dbus or anything, just loaded fresh, love it! I forgot to set lcd.density tho, so everything is TINY.
Reduced the res, with 120 density, and it looks awesome! I see now what I was missing before!

What about using the HTC IME from tattoo? That should properly support qvga?

I tried the tattoo HTC_IME but it wouldn't install.
 
Last edited:

Rhys'Droid

Senior Member
Aug 27, 2009
179
0
Indianapolis
For...


And...



Using the adb shell execute the following while looping at the Android logo:

# chmod 777 /etc/dbus.conf

Enjoy!

Do you have to do this every time you boot, or will the setting hold after doing it once? --nope it won't, but.....

Add it to the donut.user.conf file at the end of the file in the custom_shells section. Boots right up! Easy!
 
Last edited:

BJNK

Senior Member
Jul 15, 2007
114
5
Do you have to do this every time you boot, or will the setting hold after doing it once? --nope it won't, but.....

Add it to the donut.user.conf file at the end of the file in the custom_shells section. Boots right up! Easy!

Ok lets pretend you have no idea what your doing... kind of like me and half this board ;)

What would I want this to actually look like:
Code:
# custom shell commands, these commands run last
custom_shells{
#echo "Hello!!!" # example
#echo "You can create your own commands here" # example
}
 

jamezelle

Retired Forum Mod / Retired Recognized Developer
Nov 4, 2007
1,712
100
Ohio
www.jamezelle.com
Ok lets pretend you have no idea what your doing... kind of like me and half this board ;)

What would I want this to actually look like:
Code:
# custom shell commands, these commands run last
custom_shells{
#echo "Hello!!!" # example
#echo "You can create your own commands here" # example
}

Code:
# custom shell commands, these commands run last
custom_shells{
#echo "Hello!!!" # example
#echo "You can create your own commands here" # example
}

chmod 777 /etc/dbus.conf

#this is a comment it is not read by the shell

this will be read by the shell because there is no pound sign

# echo this will not echo

echo this will
Code:
 

vilord

Senior Member
Aug 4, 2007
942
2
Boston
wouldn't it be
Code:
# custom shell commands, these commands run last
custom_shells{
#echo "Hello!!!" # example
#echo "You can create your own commands here" # example
chmod 777 /etc/dbus.conf
}
 

Link9228

Senior Member
Jun 5, 2009
60
0
This is awesome. My friend just got the droid today, and he was showing me some pretty cool stuff on it. It's really responsive (I guess I'm just used to the slowness of running from an SD card). I tried showing him my tatoo build, but I was missing some files I needed. I just updated everything and downloaded this. Look forward to messing with it. Thanks!