HP Touchpad running Ubuntu Touch

Search This thread

jshafer817

Senior Member
Jul 11, 2010
386
483
NRH, TX.
www.onsitedentalsystems.com
THIS THREAD IS NOW OUTDATED. Page 17 and on contains information for Ubuntu Touch Saucy port.
NEW THREAD ON THE WAY.
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2426924

What works. Wifi+ADB+Touch.
What doesn't work: Sound+Bluetooth. Bluetooth doesn't work yet in Ubuntu Touch, and Sound doesn't work with the Evervolv source. Camera.

Download these files.
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-to...c-demo/quantal-preinstalled-phablet-armhf.zip Ubuntu Touch RootFS

Recovery Image.
http://gdurl.com/A0mz/download

Put on your SDCARD and install in ClockWorkMod. You know.. when you first turn on the tablet, moboot loads.. you should see a menu for clockwork recovery mod.

EDIT: Oh yeah.. First do a factory reset in recovery mod, THEN install the zip files... The factory reset formats the cm-cache and cm-data partitions.. There are 3 partitions. cm-cache cm-data cm-system. Factory reset formats cache and data.. When you install the first zip, it formats the system partition. Then after that install the RootFS.zip that you downloaded from ubuntu... It extracts the RootFS to the cm-data partition, that you formatted. So it should be clean.

Reboot.

Enjoy!

Oh yeah.. Onscreen Keyboard is not sized right. Seems to be an Ubuntu bug... If your fonts are wrong. .reboot.. check out /system/etc/init.d/90userinit for the stuff I added.

thanks to the usual guys. JCSullins, Evervolv, Tigeris and litz and ompx in ubuntu-touch on irc. The wifi fix was an idea I got while stuck in traffic. Can't believe it worked.
Oh yeah.. THANK YOU DR. MARBLE.

PS. I read somewhere you need at least 600MB of free space, AFTER you copy the files to the sdcard, for the extraction to go well...
 
Last edited:
S

-SGA-

Guest
Crazy how the font turned out like that

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda premium
 

botossi

Senior Member
Mar 14, 2011
60
6
Great news

SGA, thanks for your effort in bringing Ubuntu touch to Touchpad!

If you need help with testers, let me know
 

blmvxer

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2012
1,480
607
I'm assuming the install process will be similar to The Nexus line, flash the core system then the phablet zip. :)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
 

Justjusten

Senior Member
Jan 2, 2010
158
21
What source did you use to compile? I tried to compile it and kept getting some weird error got frustrated and gave up.
 

atrix4g18

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2012
1,247
1,177
I'm assuming the install process will be similar to The Nexus line, flash the core system then the phablet zip. :)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

Yeah, I think that's how it will always be. The core zip is device specific and contains the CM base while the phablet zip is for all devices.
 

jshafer817

Senior Member
Jul 11, 2010
386
483
NRH, TX.
www.onsitedentalsystems.com
Off to 3.0.8

EDIT TO POST. UNMOUNT PROC OUTSIDE OF CHROOT VIA USERINIT, AND NETWORK MANAGER WORKS WITHOUT FANOTIFY

Going to try a newer kernel to get wifi working. We need Fanotify in the kernel for the network manager to see the wireless. Has to do with proc mounted inside of a chroot and daemons having permission. Sad because once you run ubuntu_chroot shell to get in, you can run iwlist wlan0 scan...

Status Update Complete.

How to compile. Grab evervolv's device folder, but not his vendor folder.. grab hardware/qcom hardware/atheros and the compat-wireless from.. some folder.. forgot the name... I got these from evervolv's ubuntuphone branch for tenderloin.. (the kernel) and his build of android.

Those are the current sources.. May change.. Be sure to change ev.mk file to cm.mk, and change /vender/ev (inside of ev.mk) to /vendor/cm, ev.dependencies file to cm.dependencies....

JCSullins announced he will start work on JB. So that is cool. But.. 3.0.8 Kernel doesn't have working sound or bluetooth. Until someone figures that out with 3.0.8, Ubuntu-Touch and the Touchpad WILL NOT HAVE SOUND. (cough cough nag jcsullins cough cough).. That guy is the man to go to for that.

Backporting Fanotify is not easy. You run into having to change the msm code. (I ran into msm-watchdog.c) So much you might as well just go to 3.0.8.. I have an odd feeling that is someone were to backport it, sound would stop working....
EDIT TO POST. UNMOUNT PROC OUTSIDE OF CHROOT VIA USERINIT, AND NETWORK MANAGER WORKS WITHOUT FANOTIFY


Backup you jellybean system folder to a tarball and then extract it somewhere.. Same with the Ubuntu Touch system folder.

(I was about to give up!)
cp -R -f /jellybean/lib/* /system/lib
cp -R -f /ubuntutouch/lib/* /system/lib
cp -R -f /jellybean/etc/firmware/* /system/etc/firmware (my adreno firmware was missing, so this will fix that)

reboot.. and it worked.. merged libraries.

Fonts are not bad all the time..... Going to try this with 3.0.8 tonight.. If someone is bored today, give it a shot. Let us know how it works.

To brunch tenderloin I have to manually create out/host/linux-x86/bin and stick mkimage in there.
go to vender/cm/vendersetup.sh and add add-lunch-combo cm-tenderloin-userdebug.. I think.

there is a mkimage in the ubuntu touch source.. I used that. /system/extras/mkimage.. it needs to be compiled gcc mkimage.c -o mkimage -lz
then copy it cp ./system/extras/mkimage/mkimage ./out/host/linux-x86/bin no idea if this is required.

there are 2 bzr branch commands that need to be run.. google that.. Should be in Ubuntu Porting guide, but it's not. ubuntuappmanager library and some other library.
edit: run this inside of the ubuntu touch source folder/ubuntu
"bzr branch lp:phablet-extras/libhybris hybris" stupid smiles. =)
"bzr branch lp:platform-api platform-api"
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?p=38745624
dont forget to run extract-files.sh and get-prebuild, etc.


source build/envsetup.sh
lunch (pick 14)
brunch tenderloin


I bring over ts_srv and that other ts program from jellybean to ubuntu and currently add commands to /system/etc/init.d/90userinit to get stuff running.. Lazy, I am.

Confused? That is my rough draft guide.

A dude by the name of tigeris, or something that started with tig.. he helped me a lot on ubuntu-phone on irc. So did another guy named.. omxy.. I think... I will find them. Gotta go,

EDIT TO POST. UNMOUNT PROC OUTSIDE OF CHROOT VIA USERINIT, AND NETWORK MANAGER WORKS WITHOUT FANOTIFY
 
Last edited:

jshafer817

Senior Member
Jul 11, 2010
386
483
NRH, TX.
www.onsitedentalsystems.com
Oh yeah.. Wifi does work.

To get wifi working..

do this.

ubuntu_chroot shell

mount -o proc proc /proc

network manager should now bomb.

this is for open security.

ifconfig wlan0 essid "your essid"
ifconfig wlan0 up
dhcpcd wlan0

dhcpcd taken from jellybean tar.gz from the bin folder.. So.. yeah.. but no network-manager without fanotify and some other daemons. be sure to take dhcpcd stuff from etc.

DONT RUN ubuntu_chroot all by itself.. It will crash.

ALSO you MUST unmount proc before shutting down or it will be stuck in mtab and you will have old stuff inside of the /proc folder, inside of chroot, or rather /data/ubuntu/proc..

Problems? Restore ubuntufs tarball in recovery.
I will release something sometime soon.. after testing 3.0.8.. but if you know how to do all this stuff, be my guest.
 
Last edited:

pettrel

Member
Dec 6, 2010
36
4
Why don't you create your own github and share with us?
I bet that there are a lot of devs who want to continue.

I am really interested but I kind of got lost when you said to get the files from Evervolv... Can you post links to be more specific please?
Thank you.
 
S

-SGA-

Guest
Its just githib.com/evervolv


Sent from my Touchpad using xda premium
 

jshafer817

Senior Member
Jul 11, 2010
386
483
NRH, TX.
www.onsitedentalsystems.com
Doing that tonight... By the end of tonight I will release something..

It will be 3 files.

The first will be the .zip file that has the actual /system folder
second is of course from ubuntu and is the rootfs.
Third will be a tarball you guys can extract once the tablet is booted that will just have touch and graphics working. You can use wifi if you run it from adb, and keep the tablet powered on.

I haven't even touched pixel ratio.

Oh.. a 4th file.. of the whole ubuntu touch folder.. cleaned and made proper.. Uploaded to google drive.. Or hell I guess I can look at github...

Gotta play mario with my little girl first.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Sl@nzer

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 46
    THIS THREAD IS NOW OUTDATED. Page 17 and on contains information for Ubuntu Touch Saucy port.
    NEW THREAD ON THE WAY.
    http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2426924

    What works. Wifi+ADB+Touch.
    What doesn't work: Sound+Bluetooth. Bluetooth doesn't work yet in Ubuntu Touch, and Sound doesn't work with the Evervolv source. Camera.

    Download these files.
    http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-to...c-demo/quantal-preinstalled-phablet-armhf.zip Ubuntu Touch RootFS

    Recovery Image.
    http://gdurl.com/A0mz/download

    Put on your SDCARD and install in ClockWorkMod. You know.. when you first turn on the tablet, moboot loads.. you should see a menu for clockwork recovery mod.

    EDIT: Oh yeah.. First do a factory reset in recovery mod, THEN install the zip files... The factory reset formats the cm-cache and cm-data partitions.. There are 3 partitions. cm-cache cm-data cm-system. Factory reset formats cache and data.. When you install the first zip, it formats the system partition. Then after that install the RootFS.zip that you downloaded from ubuntu... It extracts the RootFS to the cm-data partition, that you formatted. So it should be clean.

    Reboot.

    Enjoy!

    Oh yeah.. Onscreen Keyboard is not sized right. Seems to be an Ubuntu bug... If your fonts are wrong. .reboot.. check out /system/etc/init.d/90userinit for the stuff I added.

    thanks to the usual guys. JCSullins, Evervolv, Tigeris and litz and ompx in ubuntu-touch on irc. The wifi fix was an idea I got while stuck in traffic. Can't believe it worked.
    Oh yeah.. THANK YOU DR. MARBLE.

    PS. I read somewhere you need at least 600MB of free space, AFTER you copy the files to the sdcard, for the extraction to go well...
    15
    Installed on HP Touchpad

    I have just finished installing this pre-pre-pre-pre-preview of Ubuntu Touch for the HP Touchpad!
    I figured from looking at the replies that I could help bring some clarity by outlining what this is, and how it is installed, as I found the first post confusing, and had to read through it several times to make sense of it.

    First off, a "Thank You" and tip of the hat to jshafer817 (and the people whose code this port is based on) for making this happen relatively soon after the release of the developer code for the Ubuntu Touch for Tablets.

    Okay, so I am here with my Ubuntu-Touchified HP Touchpad in my hand.
    I'll first tell you what's wrong with it.
    - The Keyboard
    The Keyboard is the wrong size. Oversized, lengthwise, which means that you cannot see all of the keys. Or use them all. You can barely see the left edge of the Enter key, and as far as I can tell, you can forget about using the backspace key, or the letter "p". This makes it very difficult to use. In addition, the keyboard has been getting stuck on the screen, effectively covering up half of the screen and doing nothing when I type on it.​
    - The Text/Fonts
    Almost all the text on the screen is...messed up. Letters are missing pieces, mostly from the bottoms of each letter, but it's different amounts missing for each one. This makes everything on it a pain to read. Amusingly and oddly, numbers (such as the time in the right hand corner) seem unaffected.
    (Edit: noticed jshafer817's notice about fonts just now, somehow I missed it before. He suggests rebooting to fix the font issue.)​
    - The Screen
    The DPI looks like it should be scaled down a bit. I'm guessing that this is part of the fonts/text problem. Also, when I first started using it, it was fairly laggy, and wasn't responding to the touch input very fast. (I was running CM10 on it before)​
    - Bluetooth
    I'm not going to experiment with anything having to do with bluetooth for now, as jshafer817 has said it's not working​
    - Camera
    NO! Absolutely not! And I wouldn't expect it to. After all, we're still trying to get CM10 to play nice with the camera.​
    - Sound
    No Sound. At all. Not a peep. Also, all volume controls are missing, and replaced with the text "Empty!" (Microphone also does not work)​
    - The Buttons
    None of the buttons do anything, except for the power button. Sleep mode seems to work fine, except I'm not too sure about power drain.​
    - The Search Button
    The search button in the top left-hand corner doesn't respond when I tap it.​

    Okay, so now for what does work:
    - Everything else. Or so it seems. Haven't had it crash, it launches apps fairly quickly, the browser works fine, the settings menu works as advertised. Having two apps on the screen at the same time is pretty cool, although you can't type "HP Touchpad" very well without the letter "p". WiFi worked right out of the box, (jshafer817, I hope you have more epiphanies like that. ;) )

    Do I recommend that you install this right now?
    NO. I wholeheartedly do not.
    (Unless you want to help fix all of these problems and are capable of helping to fix them)

    However, for those that do, this is how I did it:
    Download THIS FILE (UbuntuTouchPadAlpha.zip) first. This contains the formatting and Evervolv code to make your Touchpad ready for the SECOND FILE - (quantal-preinstalled-phablet-armhf.zip)

    INSTALLATION
    (Note: This will only work if you have MoBoot w/ CWM on your device. TWRP may work, but I haven't tested it.)
    (2nd Note: This may make your Touchpad blow up in your face, kill millions of Truffula trees, or pour excessive amounts of malt in your cat's milk dish. Use at your own risk.)
    So, once you have those files on the "SD Card" of your tablet, you then
    1. Make a Backup. (For the record, TWRP makes backups much faster than CWM)
    2. Double Check that you have made a backup. Copy it to another computer. Make sure it's safe.
    3. Reboot into CWM, and choose "factory reset"
    4. Do a "factory reset" again
    5. Install the FIRST file first using CWM (takes ~ 5 min.)
    6. Install the SECOND file using CWM (takes ~10 min. at least. Be patient.)
    7. Reboot, choose Evervolv at the MoBoot screen
    8. Wait for it to fail. It did for me, it may not for you.
    9. Reboot into CWM, and install the FIRST file AGAIN
    10. Install the SECOND file AGAIN
    11. Reboot.
    12. Be appalled at the Errors, finally understand why I did not recommend installing it, and then restore your CM10/CM9/CM7 backup, unless you understand how to fix the broken stuff.
    13. Report only *NEW* findings to whomever is working on the port. And expect that there will always be bugs. And yes, not all of the apps work. This is a developer preview, after all.

    Thank you again, to jshafer817, Ubuntu and others for making this happen.
    8
    Rotation is working correctly!

    So I have working, sound (without pulse rebuild tomorrow) wifi, graphics, touch, and accelerometer\compass. I also can now run Suduko without apparmor (click apps) by changing .local/share/applications/*.desktop and remove aa-exec to remove the apparmor profile. This will one day change with upstart according to irc.. AND changing the cmdline to have apparmor=0

    rotation is working.. but... it is oriented wrong.. I am going to change some kernel values in board-tenderloin.c and try to flip it there.

    https://bitbucket.org/cyanogenmod/hp-kernel-tenderloin/commits/be2dc4932490 WORKS!

    .poll_interval = 200,
    .min_interval = 10,
    .h_range = LSM303DLH_MAG_H_4_0G,
    - .axis_map_x = 0,
    - .axis_map_y = 1,
    + .axis_map_x = 1,
    + .axis_map_y = 0,
    .axis_map_z = 2,
    - .negate_x = 0,
    + .negate_x = 1,
    .negate_y = 0,
    .negate_z = 0,
    };
    if (machine_is_tenderloin() && boardtype_is_3g()) {
    lsm303dlh_acc_pdata.negate_y = 1;
    lsm303dlh_acc_pdata.negate_z = 1;
    + lsm303dlh_mag_pdata.negate_y = 1;
    + lsm303dlh_mag_pdata.negate_z = 1;
    }
    #endif
    #endif
    8
    I made the changes in build.prop and the file containing GRID UNIT PX which seemed to fix fonts/keyboard issue, but changes didn't persist after a reboot.
    Overall touch response was a bit laggy and hit and miss but its a nice interface and full of promise.
    Doesn't seem a real goer for the tp tho without full dev support, which is a shame.
    Kinda understandable tho I guess ...

    Just wait... that rom was phablet.. the new one is saucy...

    I got touch, wifi working.. but then I messed up something.. =) sensorservice

    Anyways.. just wait.
    7
    Off to 3.0.8

    EDIT TO POST. UNMOUNT PROC OUTSIDE OF CHROOT VIA USERINIT, AND NETWORK MANAGER WORKS WITHOUT FANOTIFY

    Going to try a newer kernel to get wifi working. We need Fanotify in the kernel for the network manager to see the wireless. Has to do with proc mounted inside of a chroot and daemons having permission. Sad because once you run ubuntu_chroot shell to get in, you can run iwlist wlan0 scan...

    Status Update Complete.

    How to compile. Grab evervolv's device folder, but not his vendor folder.. grab hardware/qcom hardware/atheros and the compat-wireless from.. some folder.. forgot the name... I got these from evervolv's ubuntuphone branch for tenderloin.. (the kernel) and his build of android.

    Those are the current sources.. May change.. Be sure to change ev.mk file to cm.mk, and change /vender/ev (inside of ev.mk) to /vendor/cm, ev.dependencies file to cm.dependencies....

    JCSullins announced he will start work on JB. So that is cool. But.. 3.0.8 Kernel doesn't have working sound or bluetooth. Until someone figures that out with 3.0.8, Ubuntu-Touch and the Touchpad WILL NOT HAVE SOUND. (cough cough nag jcsullins cough cough).. That guy is the man to go to for that.

    Backporting Fanotify is not easy. You run into having to change the msm code. (I ran into msm-watchdog.c) So much you might as well just go to 3.0.8.. I have an odd feeling that is someone were to backport it, sound would stop working....
    EDIT TO POST. UNMOUNT PROC OUTSIDE OF CHROOT VIA USERINIT, AND NETWORK MANAGER WORKS WITHOUT FANOTIFY


    Backup you jellybean system folder to a tarball and then extract it somewhere.. Same with the Ubuntu Touch system folder.

    (I was about to give up!)
    cp -R -f /jellybean/lib/* /system/lib
    cp -R -f /ubuntutouch/lib/* /system/lib
    cp -R -f /jellybean/etc/firmware/* /system/etc/firmware (my adreno firmware was missing, so this will fix that)

    reboot.. and it worked.. merged libraries.

    Fonts are not bad all the time..... Going to try this with 3.0.8 tonight.. If someone is bored today, give it a shot. Let us know how it works.

    To brunch tenderloin I have to manually create out/host/linux-x86/bin and stick mkimage in there.
    go to vender/cm/vendersetup.sh and add add-lunch-combo cm-tenderloin-userdebug.. I think.

    there is a mkimage in the ubuntu touch source.. I used that. /system/extras/mkimage.. it needs to be compiled gcc mkimage.c -o mkimage -lz
    then copy it cp ./system/extras/mkimage/mkimage ./out/host/linux-x86/bin no idea if this is required.

    there are 2 bzr branch commands that need to be run.. google that.. Should be in Ubuntu Porting guide, but it's not. ubuntuappmanager library and some other library.
    edit: run this inside of the ubuntu touch source folder/ubuntu
    "bzr branch lp:phablet-extras/libhybris hybris" stupid smiles. =)
    "bzr branch lp:platform-api platform-api"
    http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?p=38745624
    dont forget to run extract-files.sh and get-prebuild, etc.


    source build/envsetup.sh
    lunch (pick 14)
    brunch tenderloin


    I bring over ts_srv and that other ts program from jellybean to ubuntu and currently add commands to /system/etc/init.d/90userinit to get stuff running.. Lazy, I am.

    Confused? That is my rough draft guide.

    A dude by the name of tigeris, or something that started with tig.. he helped me a lot on ubuntu-phone on irc. So did another guy named.. omxy.. I think... I will find them. Gotta go,

    EDIT TO POST. UNMOUNT PROC OUTSIDE OF CHROOT VIA USERINIT, AND NETWORK MANAGER WORKS WITHOUT FANOTIFY