[Tool] ADB Fileexplorer

Search This thread

DareT0Be

Member
Oct 19, 2011
23
62
Munich
Hi,

I have built a little tool, which enables the user to browse through the phones filessystem via ADB.
You can also connect an android via ADB over TCP if its enabled on the phone.


Prerequisites are is a JRE version 1.7.0_03 or higher and ADB in Path.


Short feature overview:
- pull files from the phone to the local filesystem
- push files to the phones filesystem
- connect a ADB-over-TCP enabled Android device
- browse trough the phones filesystem
- deleting files on the phone

attachment.php


Double-click on a folder will browse into it.
Double-click on a file will pull it into the pull destination an open it.

Disclaimer:
I don´t take any responsibility for data loss or any other possible damage.



Feedback and suggestions are welcome.


Repo:
https://github.com/D4r3T0B3/ADB-Fileexplorer

2 Notes about the source:
- my GUI-Design skills are not very well. If somebody got some enhancements, feel free to send me a message or a pull request.
- my code is using the commad "adb -s <device> ls", I didn´t found any note or documentation about this. So there are maybe more hidden adb command. It would be great if someone got an idea how to find them.


Known Issues:
  • adb freezes while loading files
  • output shows a failure after successful file movement

Changelog:


v0.3 - 28.08.2012:
  • white space issues fixed
  • version number added
  • about menu added

27.08.2012:
  • multiple language support added

Thanks to mGi00 for the slovak translation
 

Attachments

  • screen.jpg
    screen.jpg
    66.5 KB · Views: 64,931
  • adbfileexplorer.jar
    34.6 KB · Views: 30,491
Last edited:

rjshrjndrn

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2011
346
90
trivandrum
Small bt grt job man :)

check out whether ma thnx button wrkz.... ;)

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using xda premium
 
Last edited:

Keon91

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2010
178
28
It doesn't seem to work for me.

adbfileexplorer can't find the adb.
I have placed adbfileexplorer in the same directory as the adb.exe
 

Keon91

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2010
178
28
after java se 7 update 5 install, still getting the error :

Cannot run program "adb": CreateProcess error=2, propetie file not found.
 
L

LastStandingDroid

Guest
Windows Onlyc :confused:

on ubuntu it opens up the jar as an archive hmm
 

xidominicanoix

Senior Member
Oct 9, 2006
1,080
4
FL
Hi,

I have built a little tool, which enables the user to browse through the phones filessystem via ADB.
You can also connect an android via ADB over TCP if its enabled on the phone.


Prerequisites are is a JRE version 1.7.0_03 or higher and ADB in Path.
The Tool is written and compiled for Windows.

Short feature overview:
- pull files from the phone to the local filesystem
- push files to the phones filesystem
- connect a ADB-over-TCP enabled Android device
- browse trough the phones filesystem
- deleting files on the phone

screen.jpg


Double-click on a folder will browse into it.
Double-click on a file will pull it into the pull destination an open it.

Disclaimer:
I don´t take any responsibility for data loss or any other possible damage.



Feedback and suggestions are welcome.

If someone is interrested, I could share the source.

Can I check out source ... would love to see how you tackled this :)
 

DareT0Be

Member
Oct 19, 2011
23
62
Munich
Thanks for your feedback and sorry for my absence, I was on a short vacation without internet or smartphone this weekend.



after java se 7 update 5 install, still getting the error :

Cannot run program "adb": CreateProcess error=2, propetie file not found.

is this problem still persistent? or does adding adb to the path fix it?


Can someone give me feedback if opening files via a double click is working?
 

lowetax

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2010
5,937
1,425
Jersey Shore (NJ)
Thanks for your feedback and sorry for my absence, I was on a short vacation without internet or smartphone this weekend.
is this problem still persistent? or does adding adb to the path fix it?
Can someone give me feedback if opening files via a double click is working?

no phone and internet - wow :)
downloaded jar from op onto my windows 7 ultimate pc
plug in smartphone, double click on adbfileexplorer.jar
and it opens up and shows 1 connected device
pulled and pushed - working for me !
thanks!

i also created a shortcut to the jar file
and it opens fine. nothing added in shortcut for adb or java -
just the path to the downloaded adbfileexplorer.jar file

i didn't check, but can you multi-select files ?
 

mGi00

Member
Sep 22, 2009
33
7
Bratislava
Possible bug

Hi there,

The ADB Fileexplorer is working fine with one exeption. When I have on my sdcard a folder named with more than one word (e.g.: New files) the ADB Fileexplorer show only the first word and cant open the folder. It opens only User/Documents ... After I renamed the Folder with "_" (e.g.: New_files) its fine. Is there a way to solve this? I really dont use "_"

Thanks

EDIT: The strings were ment to another app, sorry for that :(
 
Last edited:

DareT0Be

Member
Oct 19, 2011
23
62
Munich
thanks for the feedback and your translations.

I added the "whitespace issue" to my todo list.


multiple language support is a nice idea. But can you please add the english translation as a comment to the strings?
 

mGi00

Member
Sep 22, 2009
33
7
Bratislava
Apology

thanks for the feedback and your translations.

I added the "whitespace issue" to my todo list.


multiple language support is a nice idea. But can you please add the english translation as a comment to the strings?

The strings in my post was ment for another app ... really sorry about that ... but if I can I would love to make some for you as well.

EDIT
Another possible bug:
If I pull (only pull) one file it opens my documents (Win7 x64 machine) but not the Pull Destination which I selected before.

To the translation ... here http://db.tt/Co9U7jJC is a Slovak translation of Buttons of the GUI.
Translated also the logger text ... hope it´s ok to translate this as well.

If you could assemble the program with this translation I would like see the changed text if it´s ok. If ok I´ll do the czech translation ... and maybe an german one ;)
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: DareT0Be

DareT0Be

Member
Oct 19, 2011
23
62
Munich
Thanks so far


I copied your translations into a xml file, please check out the new version if i copy and pasted everything correct.
 

mGi00

Member
Sep 22, 2009
33
7
Bratislava
Thanks so far


I copied your translations into a xml file, please check out the new version if i copy and pasted everything correct.

Ok there is a issue, can´t find any device ... the old fileexprorer is working still ok but the new one cant find my phones.
EDIT: When I type adb devices I see my devices so there shouldn´t be a problem. The Logs are with the translations.

Also there is a problem with diacritic ... letters as "ť" and "č" aren´t or are wrong displayed. Also the logger has this problem ... I wasn´t using UTF-8 coding ... made an update with UTF-8 the link: http://db.tt/Co9U7jJC

Hope its ok now.
 
Last edited:

DareT0Be

Member
Oct 19, 2011
23
62
Munich
Ok there is a issue, can´t find any device ... the old fileexprorer is working still ok but the new one cant find my phones.
EDIT: When I type adb devices I see my devices so there shouldn´t be a problem. The Logs are with the translations.

Also there is a problem with diacritic ... letters as "ť" and "č" aren´t or are wrong displayed. Also the logger has this problem ... I wasn´t using UTF-8 coding ... made an update with UTF-8 the link: http://db.tt/Co9U7jJC

Hope its ok now.

could you please bring your translation into this format , thanks

unfortunatly i cannot retrace your problem, please check the current version if its persistent
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 60
    Hi,

    I have built a little tool, which enables the user to browse through the phones filessystem via ADB.
    You can also connect an android via ADB over TCP if its enabled on the phone.


    Prerequisites are is a JRE version 1.7.0_03 or higher and ADB in Path.


    Short feature overview:
    - pull files from the phone to the local filesystem
    - push files to the phones filesystem
    - connect a ADB-over-TCP enabled Android device
    - browse trough the phones filesystem
    - deleting files on the phone

    attachment.php


    Double-click on a folder will browse into it.
    Double-click on a file will pull it into the pull destination an open it.

    Disclaimer:
    I don´t take any responsibility for data loss or any other possible damage.



    Feedback and suggestions are welcome.


    Repo:
    https://github.com/D4r3T0B3/ADB-Fileexplorer

    2 Notes about the source:
    - my GUI-Design skills are not very well. If somebody got some enhancements, feel free to send me a message or a pull request.
    - my code is using the commad "adb -s <device> ls", I didn´t found any note or documentation about this. So there are maybe more hidden adb command. It would be great if someone got an idea how to find them.


    Known Issues:
    • adb freezes while loading files
    • output shows a failure after successful file movement

    Changelog:


    v0.3 - 28.08.2012:
    • white space issues fixed
    • version number added
    • about menu added

    27.08.2012:
    • multiple language support added

    Thanks to mGi00 for the slovak translation
    3
    I will revive this thread from the dead just to say big THANK YOU to you!

    I got in trouble with a mod on my Nexus 5 which resulted in a bootloop and some other issues. As I never ran in a problem like that in years I'm a newbie in a case like that. This tool was my saviour, could push through a stock zip file while being on Recovery with this tool, which I could flash with CWM, solving the issues and bootloop :good:

    Let me buy you a beer through PayPal!
    1
    Apology

    thanks for the feedback and your translations.

    I added the "whitespace issue" to my todo list.


    multiple language support is a nice idea. But can you please add the english translation as a comment to the strings?

    The strings in my post was ment for another app ... really sorry about that ... but if I can I would love to make some for you as well.

    EDIT
    Another possible bug:
    If I pull (only pull) one file it opens my documents (Win7 x64 machine) but not the Pull Destination which I selected before.

    To the translation ... here http://db.tt/Co9U7jJC is a Slovak translation of Buttons of the GUI.
    Translated also the logger text ... hope it´s ok to translate this as well.

    If you could assemble the program with this translation I would like see the changed text if it´s ok. If ok I´ll do the czech translation ... and maybe an german one ;)
    1
    All this is already possible using Android Comander.. Does it do anythind new?

    No, I dont think it does anything new. I just implemented this application just for fun and never expected it to be something new.

    I will support the tool as long as somebody is interested in it and I got the time and motivation
    1
    Hello everyone!
    Check out my work