Unlock Bootloader on Mac OS X - Rezound

Search This thread

xjedi

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
510
148
Tempe, AZ
I had trouble unlocking the bootloader on my iMac but got it to work.

Just posting this to help out my fellow Mac Heads who've turned from the evil iPhone. :D

Unlocking your bootloader will probably or definitely void your warranty. I am in no way responsible for you screwing up your beautiful Rezound. (K, that's out of the way.)

Prep work:

1. I had an old Android SDK and couldn't get it to work.
HTC Dev site stated I only needed adb and fastboot for this (but I don't remember when I actually used an adb command). Anyhoo... download the latest Android SDK from the link provided by HTC Dev from the link at the right side (as your following the process). Save and uncompress it in the root of your hard drive and rename it ' android ' (no single quotes) - this step just makes it easier.

2. Check if there is a 'platform-tools' folder. If not then in the 'tools' folder just double click the 'android' file and it'll open Terminal and run the Android SDK Manager app. I only checked the 'Android SDK Platform-tools' for installation but you can install whatever else you want. Click the button 'Install (x) package' close to the bottom right. After it's done you'll find the 'platform-tools' folder and that's where adb will be. (Like I said, I don't remember using any ./adb commands, though)

NEXT FOLLOW THE HTC WEBSITE STEPS
(this is on the website)

1. After you've pulled the battery and placed it back in, hold VolumeDown and Power button to restart. At white screen, select Fastboot with volume rocker and hit the power button. Connect cable from phone to mac.

2. Download the Mac version of the Fastboot in Step 5 of the HTC Website. Uncompress it and place it in the root of the 'android' folder. Rename it 'fastboot' (without single quotes) from 'fastboot-mac'.

3. Open a new Terminal window (Applications/Utitilies).

Type: cd /android
(that's if you had placed the android folder at the root of your hard drive) or you can type: cd then <space> then drag the android folder from a finder window into the terminal window
hit return

Type: ./fastboot oem get_identifier_token

4. Per the instructions at the HTC Website Step 9, Copy the Identifier token text.
(I copied and pasted it into a text app and deleted the "(bootloader)" text in there, then copied the resulting text.)

5. Paste into HTC Website Step 10 inside the "My Device Identifier Token:" box and hit submit.

If it goes through you'll get a Congratulations webpage and your unlock file will be sent to your registered email.

6. Download the Unlock_code.bin file into the android folder where the 'fastboot' file should be.

7. Go back into the Terminal window.
Type: ./fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin

8. Your phone should go off and come up with an Unlock Your Phone screen. Use the volume rocker to select Yes and hit the Power button. Should restart and you're good to go.

Good luck!

TIP:
Originally Posted by AshtonTS
to avoid having to use the ./ (this should probably be done after you set up adb and fasboot but before you start the Actual unlock part)
Code:
nano ~/.bash_profile
and then add
Code:
export PATH=${PATH}:/Users/yourusername/wherever/adbfolder
 
Last edited:

joeyrey

Senior Member
Jan 30, 2010
265
57
I get a permission denied when i type '/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token'.. any way around that? Also, i enabled myself at root user and admin.
 

MrSmith317

Senior Member
Jun 18, 2010
977
328
Philadelphia
I get a permission denied when i type '/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token'.. any way around that? Also, i enabled myself at root user and admin.

Did you check the permissions on the file? Hopefully you can read/write/execute them. I don't see any mention of needing to be root so I'd assume you're safe without su'ing.
 

xjedi

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
510
148
Tempe, AZ
I get a permission denied when i type '/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token'.. any way around that? Also, i enabled myself at root user and admin.

Since you're on a shared computer, just login as the main administrator member. If you had to enter a password when you dropped in the Android SDK into the root of your drive your specific login will probably have permission problems. Not a big deal, just annoying.

Or you can drop the android folder onto your Desktop and cd into that. Then you would just modify it to /Users/<yourusername>/Desktop/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token for example. But you may not have to if you've already cd into the folder anyway.
 
Last edited:

xjedi

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
510
148
Tempe, AZ
When I follow your steps, I get the following message:

cannot load unlock_code.bin

Please help me :(

What step are you on?

edit: I'm guessing you're on step 7. Did you download the unlock file you received via email from htc dev directly to where the fastboot directly is in, i.e., /android/ or to a different place?
 
Last edited:

lloydcabraham

Senior Member
Jun 21, 2010
306
24
What step are you on?

edit: I'm guessing you're on step 7. Did you download the unlock file you received via email from htc dev directly to where the fastboot directly is in, i.e., /android/ or to a different place?

Yes, I'm on step 7. All other steps worked perfectly.

---------- Post added at 02:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------

Are you currently in the same directory as unlock_code.bin when you run the fastboot command?


I copied the file from HTC's email and placed it in the Android folder which is in the root of my hard drive. The fastboot command I'm using is located there also.

FYI. I did downloaded the android sdk manager app since I didn't have a platforms-Tools folder. Now there's 2 fastboot files. One located in the root of the android folder and one located in the Platform-Tools folder where the adb command is.
 
Last edited:

xjedi

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
510
148
Tempe, AZ
Yes, I'm on step 7. All other steps worked perfectly.

---------- Post added at 02:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------




I copied the file from HTC's email and placed it in the Android folder which is in the root of my hard drive. The fastboot command I'm using is located there also.

FYI. I did downloaded the android sdk manager app since I didn't have a platforms-Tools folder. Now there's 2 fastboot files. One located in the root of the android folder and one located in the Platform-Tools folder where the adb command is.

when you typed in the command was it unlock_code.bin or Unlock_code.bin (capital 'U')? I'm not sure but it may be case sensitive (whatever is the exact case name for the unlock file). Try it out anyway.
 

lloydcabraham

Senior Member
Jun 21, 2010
306
24
I cut and paste the command directly from step 7. HTC's attached Unlock_code.bin is capitalized as is the copied command from step 7.

Guys, Thanks for your help. Had to get a new code. Works perfect now!! :)

You guys are great.

Now it say's sending unlock token... Now writing unlock token. How long should take? Phone hasn't rebooted or anything.

Stuck on writing unlock token. What should I do?
 
Last edited:

xjedi

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
510
148
Tempe, AZ
I cut and paste the command directly from step 7. HTC's attached Unlock_code.bin is capitalized as is the copied command from step 7.

Guys, Thanks for your help. Had to get a new code. Works perfect now!! :)

You guys are great.

Now it say's sending unlock token... Now writing unlock token. How long should take? Phone hasn't rebooted or anything.

Stuck on writing unlock token. What should I do?

Ride it out for a little while. It should reboot and come up with the unlock screen on your phone.
 

lloydcabraham

Senior Member
Jun 21, 2010
306
24
Thanks xjedi. How long would you say I should wait before I know somethings wrong? If it's stuck, can I unplug my phone and redo while stuck at "writing unlock token"?
 

xjedi

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
510
148
Tempe, AZ
Thanks xjedi. How long would you say I should wait before I know somethings wrong? If it's stuck, can I unplug my phone and redo while stuck at "writing unlock token"?

I'm always hesitant to disconnect when Terminal says its writing to. Always afraid of getting a Pretty Phone Brick. LOL If it isn't responsive then what can you do.

That being said I'd wait ten minutes. Quit Terminal then technically you'd just have to do that last command. I'd disconnect the phone for a few seconds then reconnect though. Open up Terminal and try again.
 

lloydcabraham

Senior Member
Jun 21, 2010
306
24
I'm always hesitant to disconnect when Terminal says its writing to. Always afraid of getting a Pretty Phone Brick. LOL If it isn't responsive then what can you do.

That being said I'd wait ten minutes. Quit Terminal then technically you'd just have to do that last command. I'd disconnect the phone for a few seconds then reconnect though. Open up Terminal and try again.


Yeah, I know what you mean. I rebooted then went back to the bootloader. As soon as I plugged the phone back in, it finished unlocking successfully. Thanks guys.
 

mactechnm

Senior Member
Nov 8, 2009
51
2
Trying to unlock bootloader on my Rezound. NO LUCK AT ALL. Tried it on a Vista PC, and also on a Mac OS X Lion computer, both have android sdk, fastboot (fastboot-mac), and any time the terminal creates a token, htcdev.com says it is invalid. HTC has been of my help. Token I get is:

<<<< Identifier Token Start >>>>
INFO1DF1016E1D1C11FBFE98455CE697DF68
INFO8051B4762C985ECAD8331A9B63DD5375
INFO8DFCDF353626D4E462B2F945A18A53B0
INFO5EF5FB207C39FB48E031952A71770A8C
INFOF2C918518DCD78BFE18825B6C0A35ABF
INFO4678BC4569ED798FBBD4CDAAC41E7C10
INFO16F48B643DD0B0A3C147AD909EA150FC
INFO3C938D0FBC250FDE57A90F7ADE28429D
INFO9EE5AE71DE5CAB290DEBA46CAC643E0F
INFO7686317EB5AEEEA7F11731016D6A003D
INFO3ECB04E09A2AE0705CA7F3E1C47D07C1
INFO30953D12B5B94C2F23250B59ED347F21
INFO887821F1101440BB8FA61F6BC4C44FCD
INFOEE7885B9DFB86491E658CEB43E78713C
INFOEF6B4F5CE5EEAB20041BA337ED187A36
INFO3DE37720EDB4CCF91EFC7F135389286E
INFO<<<<< Identifier Token End >>>>>

This info, when pasted into htcdev.com gives me the following error...

Error Code: Invalid Bootloader Token Length.
Error Reason: The submitted Token appears to be the wrong length and won't work.

Any ideas? Thanks! Jon
 

AshtonTS

Senior Member
May 11, 2011
5,727
2,657
27
Woodstock, CT
Trying to unlock bootloader on my Rezound. NO LUCK AT ALL. Tried it on a Vista PC, and also on a Mac OS X Lion computer, both have android sdk, fastboot (fastboot-mac), and any time the terminal creates a token, htcdev.com says it is invalid. HTC has been of my help. Token I get is:

<<<< Identifier Token Start >>>>
INFO1DF1016E1D1C11FBFE98455CE697DF68
INFO8051B4762C985ECAD8331A9B63DD5375
INFO8DFCDF353626D4E462B2F945A18A53B0
INFO5EF5FB207C39FB48E031952A71770A8C
INFOF2C918518DCD78BFE18825B6C0A35ABF
INFO4678BC4569ED798FBBD4CDAAC41E7C10
INFO16F48B643DD0B0A3C147AD909EA150FC
INFO3C938D0FBC250FDE57A90F7ADE28429D
INFO9EE5AE71DE5CAB290DEBA46CAC643E0F
INFO7686317EB5AEEEA7F11731016D6A003D
INFO3ECB04E09A2AE0705CA7F3E1C47D07C1
INFO30953D12B5B94C2F23250B59ED347F21
INFO887821F1101440BB8FA61F6BC4C44FCD
INFOEE7885B9DFB86491E658CEB43E78713C
INFOEF6B4F5CE5EEAB20041BA337ED187A36
INFO3DE37720EDB4CCF91EFC7F135389286E
INFO<<<<< Identifier Token End >>>>>

This info, when pasted into htcdev.com gives me the following error...

Error Code: Invalid Bootloader Token Length.
Error Reason: The submitted Token appears to be the wrong length and won't work.

Any ideas? Thanks! Jon
Paste this into the window instead of what you have

<<<< Identifier Token Start >>>>
1DF1016E1D1C11FBFE98455CE697DF68
8051B4762C985ECAD8331A9B63DD5375
8DFCDF353626D4E462B2F945A18A53B0
5EF5FB207C39FB48E031952A71770A8C
F2C918518DCD78BFE18825B6C0A35ABF
4678BC4569ED798FBBD4CDAAC41E7C10
16F48B643DD0B0A3C147AD909EA150FC
3C938D0FBC250FDE57A90F7ADE28429D
9EE5AE71DE5CAB290DEBA46CAC643E0F
7686317EB5AEEEA7F11731016D6A003D
3ECB04E09A2AE0705CA7F3E1C47D07C1
30953D12B5B94C2F23250B59ED347F21
887821F1101440BB8FA61F6BC4C44FCD
EE7885B9DFB86491E658CEB43E78713C
EF6B4F5CE5EEAB20041BA337ED187A36
3DE37720EDB4CCF91EFC7F135389286E
<<<<< Identifier Token End >>>>>

That should work for your device
(if it works hit thanks, please)
 

xjedi

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
510
148
Tempe, AZ
Trying to unlock bootloader on my Rezound. NO LUCK AT ALL. Tried it on a Vista PC, and also on a Mac OS X Lion computer, both have android sdk, fastboot (fastboot-mac), and any time the terminal creates a token, htcdev.com says it is invalid. HTC has been of my help. Token I get is:

<<<< Identifier Token Start >>>>
INFO1DF1016E1D1C11FBFE98455CE697DF68
INFO8051B4762C985ECAD8331A9B63DD5375
INFO8DFCDF353626D4E462B2F945A18A53B0
INFO5EF5FB207C39FB48E031952A71770A8C
INFOF2C918518DCD78BFE18825B6C0A35ABF
INFO4678BC4569ED798FBBD4CDAAC41E7C10
INFO16F48B643DD0B0A3C147AD909EA150FC
INFO3C938D0FBC250FDE57A90F7ADE28429D
INFO9EE5AE71DE5CAB290DEBA46CAC643E0F
INFO7686317EB5AEEEA7F11731016D6A003D
INFO3ECB04E09A2AE0705CA7F3E1C47D07C1
INFO30953D12B5B94C2F23250B59ED347F21
INFO887821F1101440BB8FA61F6BC4C44FCD
INFOEE7885B9DFB86491E658CEB43E78713C
INFOEF6B4F5CE5EEAB20041BA337ED187A36
INFO3DE37720EDB4CCF91EFC7F135389286E
INFO<<<<< Identifier Token End >>>>>

This info, when pasted into htcdev.com gives me the following error...

Error Code: Invalid Bootloader Token Length.
Error Reason: The submitted Token appears to be the wrong length and won't work.

Any ideas? Thanks! Jon

Delete all the "INFO". Then copy that and paste again.

Edit: Looks like AshtonTS beat me to it.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 33
    I had trouble unlocking the bootloader on my iMac but got it to work.

    Just posting this to help out my fellow Mac Heads who've turned from the evil iPhone. :D

    Unlocking your bootloader will probably or definitely void your warranty. I am in no way responsible for you screwing up your beautiful Rezound. (K, that's out of the way.)

    Prep work:

    1. I had an old Android SDK and couldn't get it to work.
    HTC Dev site stated I only needed adb and fastboot for this (but I don't remember when I actually used an adb command). Anyhoo... download the latest Android SDK from the link provided by HTC Dev from the link at the right side (as your following the process). Save and uncompress it in the root of your hard drive and rename it ' android ' (no single quotes) - this step just makes it easier.

    2. Check if there is a 'platform-tools' folder. If not then in the 'tools' folder just double click the 'android' file and it'll open Terminal and run the Android SDK Manager app. I only checked the 'Android SDK Platform-tools' for installation but you can install whatever else you want. Click the button 'Install (x) package' close to the bottom right. After it's done you'll find the 'platform-tools' folder and that's where adb will be. (Like I said, I don't remember using any ./adb commands, though)

    NEXT FOLLOW THE HTC WEBSITE STEPS
    (this is on the website)

    1. After you've pulled the battery and placed it back in, hold VolumeDown and Power button to restart. At white screen, select Fastboot with volume rocker and hit the power button. Connect cable from phone to mac.

    2. Download the Mac version of the Fastboot in Step 5 of the HTC Website. Uncompress it and place it in the root of the 'android' folder. Rename it 'fastboot' (without single quotes) from 'fastboot-mac'.

    3. Open a new Terminal window (Applications/Utitilies).

    Type: cd /android
    (that's if you had placed the android folder at the root of your hard drive) or you can type: cd then <space> then drag the android folder from a finder window into the terminal window
    hit return

    Type: ./fastboot oem get_identifier_token

    4. Per the instructions at the HTC Website Step 9, Copy the Identifier token text.
    (I copied and pasted it into a text app and deleted the "(bootloader)" text in there, then copied the resulting text.)

    5. Paste into HTC Website Step 10 inside the "My Device Identifier Token:" box and hit submit.

    If it goes through you'll get a Congratulations webpage and your unlock file will be sent to your registered email.

    6. Download the Unlock_code.bin file into the android folder where the 'fastboot' file should be.

    7. Go back into the Terminal window.
    Type: ./fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin

    8. Your phone should go off and come up with an Unlock Your Phone screen. Use the volume rocker to select Yes and hit the Power button. Should restart and you're good to go.

    Good luck!

    TIP:
    Originally Posted by AshtonTS
    to avoid having to use the ./ (this should probably be done after you set up adb and fasboot but before you start the Actual unlock part)
    Code:
    nano ~/.bash_profile
    and then add
    Code:
    export PATH=${PATH}:/Users/yourusername/wherever/adbfolder
    2
    Small tip when I adb on my mac:

    Instead of worrying about the actual path to the tools (platform-tools) folder i simply type "cd "and drag the actual folder right next to it.
    1
    Will unlocking on OS X also result in a factory reset at the end?

    Of course.
    1
    What Slacker101 said. Yup
    1
    @xjedi, please add this to the op (credit to me lol) :laugh::D

    DONE. Thanks