Second Boot Screen(Android Screen)

Search This thread

pohamir

New member
Dec 5, 2008
2
0
prolly not talking about splash2, but the Android animation and logo after splash1 & splash2. But i could be wrong.
 

andonnguyen

Senior Member
Nov 12, 2008
842
3
Theres a folder in framework-res.apk/assets/images that seems to contain the images used in the second boot screen. I haven't had a chance to play with it to see if anything happened. I guess I'll try now and get back to you in 10 minutes. =]
 

andonnguyen

Senior Member
Nov 12, 2008
842
3
ok so far, I was able to change the second boot screen image without using fastboot, and just modifying the android_320x480.png itself in framework-res/assets/images, but the animation goes out of whack when trying to replace boot_robot.png and boot_robot_glow.png with other images. I'm going to keep at it to see if i can get anywhere.
 

ximonx

Senior Member
Jan 4, 2009
55
20
Hi, i edited the boot_robot_glow.png in PS and it shows up fine when booting

EDIT: I've edited the android_320x480.png but when it boots it shows the original then flicks to the modified one

EDIT: needed to replace boot_robot.png in res/drawable aswell!

Attached images aren'y quite aligned, moves about when booting :S

EDIT: Everything's aligned now :D
 

Attachments

  • android_320x480.png
    android_320x480.png
    5.9 KB · Views: 323
  • boot_robot.png
    boot_robot.png
    2.8 KB · Views: 1,787
  • boot_robot_glow.png
    boot_robot_glow.png
    2.2 KB · Views: 1,779
Last edited:

otto888

Senior Member
Hi, i edited the boot_robot_glow.png in PS and it shows up fine when booting

EDIT: I've edited the android_320x480.png but when it boots it shows the original then flicks to the modified one

EDIT: needed to replace boot_robot.png in res/drawable aswell!

Attached images aren'y quite aligned, moves about when booting :S

EDIT: Everything's aligned now :D
would you mind telling us how to replace the files?
 

ximonx

Senior Member
Jan 4, 2009
55
20
adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk to your computer,
rename it to framework-res.apk.zip
open framework-res.apk.zip
copy all 3 files into /assets/images
copy boot_robot.png into /res/drawable (in assets/images aswell)

(Uploaded my new boot_robot_glow to use with above files)
 

Attachments

  • boot_robot_glow.png
    boot_robot_glow.png
    4.4 KB · Views: 1,762
Last edited:

philje123

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2006
622
87
Paderborn
adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk to your computer,
rename it to framework-res.apk.zip
open framework-res.apk.zip
copy all 3 files into /assets/images
copy boot_robot.png into /res/drawable (in assets/images aswell)

(Uploaded my new boot_robot_glow to use with above files)


Cool... Thanks guys!

Used your images and created a burning Droid for the boot up image.

Adapted the code slightly to run the commands on the phone itself then copied the zip file off the SD card through usb.

Thanks
 

bhang

Senior Member
Aug 19, 2006
443
5
megalopolis
any pitfalls?

does the image have to be a certain size before 'push' ing it back to the phone?

I like your design so Ill start there, thanks for sharing the work, people have been speculation on how to change this and you did it.


bhang
 

ximonx

Senior Member
Jan 4, 2009
55
20
I'd play it safe and keep everything the size it is, although if you have the dev BL then go for it. It will probably start from the same location on the screen but extend further across and down
 

jedinerd

Member
Jan 16, 2009
7
0
So i went ahead and tried to modify the images that make up the animation, got it all repackaged, and pushed it onto the phone. I rebooted and my animation came up like a charm, looking pretty cool, but it got stuck there and the animation kept running. I tried rebooting it several times and then restored it using a backup which fixed it. I am still trying to figure out what i did wrong. Could someone take a look?
 

Attachments

  • framework.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 81