UrukDroid (Android) - developers ONLY thread

Search This thread

$aur0n

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
1,461
509
Ok need 0.4 to be tested - list of changes is here but in short:
  • Some more tools like: bc, proc utils, vim, tcpdump, bzip2, tar etc.
  • Android apps (Market, Maps, Talk, Calendar, Contact, Feedback, Locator, Updater) by default
  • Samba (3.2.5) support for sharing /mnt/storage (internal and sdcard storage) from Archos
  • Removed two apps. TelephonyProvider.apk, Phone.apk
  • Backported modprobe, depmod etc. tools for modules management
  • Initial DVB-T support (Afatech AF9005, Afatech AF9015, DiBcom DiB0700, Terratec CinergyT2/qanu)

It requires to erase old data in rootfs (it will probably work without that - but part of this release is cleanup). It may conflict with already installed googleapps (market,gtalk) - stuff that are in gAppInstaller (or similar).
So it's perfectly ok to ignore above information’s and give it a try with overwrite - but write conclusions here ;)

Update as I see:
On PC/Linux - download rootfs.tar.gz somewhere on PC, check "dmesg | tail" where your SD card is, I assume it's /dev/sdb:
Code:
su
cd /tmp
mkdir sdcard
mount /dev/sdb1 sdcard
cd sdcard
tar -cf ../backup.tar *
rm -rf *
tar -zxf /pathtoimage/rootfs.tar.gz
umount scdard
copy somewhere /tmp/backup.tar - just in case...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1017593/ArchosGEN8/UrukDroid-0.4/rootfs.tar.gz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1017593/ArchosGEN8/UrukDroid-0.4/zImage
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1017593/ArchosGEN8/UrukDroid-0.4/initramfs.cpio.gz

Be default samba in running - so you should see Archos in localnetwork. User name is "storage" password is "UrukDroid". To change password use on terminal "smbpasswd -a storage".

chulri: please check DVB support, I've added modules like above and firmware from your git. There are also basic tools in /usr/local/bin/ (also from your git).
To enable dvb edit /etc/uruk.conf/dvb (it should be clear what to edit)
If anything else should be enabled during boot - please tell me or modify /etc/uruk.d/dvb

cheefy: you have a normal tar, and bzip2 for better compress ratio ;) - waiting for scripts

Who wanted VIM? :)
 
Last edited:

Kashban

Senior Member
Ok need 0.4 to be tested - list of changes is here but in short:
  • Some more tools like: bc, proc utils, vim, tcpdump, bzip2, tar etc.
  • Android apps (Market, Maps, Talk, Calendar, Contact, Feedback, Locator, Updater) by default
  • Samba (3.2.5) support for sharing /mnt/storage (internal and sdcard storage) from Archos
  • Removed two apps. TelephonyProvider.apk, Phone.apk
  • Backported modprobe, depmod etc. tools for modules management
  • Initial DVB-T support (Afatech AF9005, Afatech AF9015, DiBcom DiB0700, Terratec CinergyT2/qanu)

It requires to erase old data in rootfs (it will probably work without that - but part of this release is cleanup). It may conflict with already installed googleapps (market,gtalk) - stuff that are in gAppInstaller (or similar).
So it's perfectly ok to ignore above information’s and give it a try with overwrite - but write conclusions here ;)

Update as I see:
On PC/Linux - download rootfs.tar.gz somewhere on PC, check "dmesg | tail" where your SD card is, I assume it's /dev/sdb:
Code:
su
cd /tmp
mkdir sdcard
mount /dev/sdb1 sdcard
cd sdcard
tar -cf ../backup.tar *
rm -rf *
tar -zxf /pathtoimage/rootfs.tar.gz
umount scdard
copy somewhere /tmp/backup.tar - just in case...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1017593/ArchosGEN8/UrukDroid-0.4/rootfs.tar.gz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1017593/ArchosGEN8/UrukDroid-0.4/zImage
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1017593/ArchosGEN8/UrukDroid-0.4/initramfs.cpio.gz

Be default samba in running - so you should see Archos in localnetwork. User name is "storage" password is "UrukDroid". To change password use on terminal "smbpasswd -a storage".

chulri: please check DVB support, I've added modules like above and firmware from your git. There are also basic tools in /usr/local/bin/ (also from your git).
To enable dvb edit /etc/uruk.conf/dvb (it should be clear what to edit)
If anything else should be enabled during boot - please tell me or modify /etc/uruk.d/dvb

cheefy: you have a normal tar, and bzip2 for better compress ratio ;) - waiting for scripts

Who wanted VIM? :)

Will look into it, especially for DVB-Support for Cinergy. Unfortunately I cannot do this in Office, since I don't have Access to Linux Box (required to update/overwrite rootfs).

What is VIM?
 

N23

Senior Member
Mar 29, 2007
180
22
vi Improved - the best Text editor on *nix :D

I'll also test later today and report then !
 

$aur0n

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
1,461
509
I performed a fresh install on my 101. The only issue I've encountered so far is that the new splash screen does not display correctly. It looks like static.
It is static image - but I guess on 101 (witch has higher resolution) it will look bad - I need to do some hardware recognition - am I correct?

From a cosmetic perspective, /system/etc/init.d/K01samba should be renamed to /system/etc/init.d/K01swap.
Yep - fixed.

Everything else works ok? (market, samba, dvb ?)
 

NotoriousBDG

Member
Dec 30, 2010
13
0
It is static image - but I guess on 101 (witch has higher resolution) it will look bad - I need to do some hardware recognition - am I correct?


Yep - fixed.

Everything else works ok? (market, samba, dvb ?)

Yes, hardware detection is probably needed. It looks like the get_info utility might help with identifying the platform.

Code:
$ get_info p
A101IT

Market and samba work for me. I haven't tested dvb.
 

$aur0n

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
1,461
509
xenicle (or anyone with A70H) - please try current 0.4 initramfs+zImage from dropbox.

rootfs.tar.gz HAVE to be extracted to first partition (ext4) on your HD. Flash zImage and initramfs.cpio.gz - it should boot as a clean (no installed apps) Android.
Waiting for feedback!
 

N23

Senior Member
Mar 29, 2007
180
22
0.4 works like a charm on the 101 , fast and so on - only problem ist the market for me, it's not working :( completely wiped the rootfs-partition...

adb over usb - works!


i think the error is that i had the market installed before and removed the files from /data/test/... now i have a error in the logs:
Code:
Failed to find provider info for com.google.android.gsf.services
TosActivity$TosLoadAction.displayResults(): Could not check for TOS

how can i fix this? completely wipe the /data partition?

Maybe the Google Mail Application should be included? Because in some markets (germany for example) we only get a very old version in the market...
 

$aur0n

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
1,461
509
i think the error is that i had the market installed before and removed the files from /data/test/... now i have a error in the logs:
I'm not sure if this is a problem - you should probably just uninstall it, not erase. There has to be some kind of apk - to make android actually read stuff from /data/test ...

how can i fix this? completely wipe the /data partition?
Well this will help for sure ;) - but it's rather drastic solution...

edit: N23, could you reflash initramfs and zimage - I've added bootlogo, and I wander how bad it looks on 101 ;)
 
Last edited:

$aur0n

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
1,461
509
it's broken, totally distorted ... with some imagination it could be a white background with a green android :)

Hmm I'm not sure how Archos do it - I'm not sure if there is different rawfs filesystem with different banner :/. I'll deal with it later - rest is ok?

Can you (or someone with 101) do some dumps with logo?
Download this gfx (logo1 logo2), open them in Uruk in FramePhoto, so there is nothing else on screen, except image) and from ssh do "cat /dev/graphics/fb0 >/sdcard/logo1", and the same for second image "cat /dev/graphics/fb0 >/sdcard/logo2" - compress and send them to me... (sauron ( at ) rpg (dot) pl).

It's lame - but fast - will take more care about this later...
 
Last edited:

Tsusai

Member
Aug 29, 2010
42
0
I've patched wpa_supplicant source files to supposedly allow Ad-Hock wifi detection and connecting. Since I can't compile, I'll post them when they get home and I hope one of you guys can integrate it :)
 

$aur0n

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
1,461
509
I've patched wpa_supplicant source files to supposedly allow Ad-Hock wifi detection and connecting. Since I can't compile, I'll post them when they get home and I hope one of you guys can integrate it :)
What patch? I'm almost sure wpa_supplicant can use adhoc - it's just configuration problem you can't choose it on Archos...
 

chrulri

Senior Member
Dec 7, 2010
895
275
Hey $aur0n

One question (maybe a feature request):
why don't we use a squasfs ROM (as its name says: read-only, like the stock archos android) and put it where the stock android squashfs resides and put a unionfs on top with a writable storage somewhere else like dogmaphobias solution, but instead of tmpfs we use some file on internal storage or even a custom partition on sdcard?

updating and installing (initramfs checks for a specific file, namely the squashfs file, on sd or internal storage and moves it to where the squashfs has to reside.
that would be much easier to install AND upgrade and changes by users won't get overwritten by a new rom version :)
even updating OTA would be possible: download the file to sdcard or internal storage and reboot :)

what do you think`?
 
Last edited:

$aur0n

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
1,461
509
One question (maybe a feature request):
why don't we use a squasfs ROM (as its name says: read-only, like the stock archos android) and put it where the stock android squashfs resides and put a unionfs on top with a writable storage somewhere else like dogmaphobias solution, but instead of tmpfs we use some file on internal storage or even a custom partition on sdcard?
I don't really feel any pros here
- slower (compression)
- slower (unionfs)
- potentially risky (unionfs)
- quite a lot of "changes" when porting anything from Linux (since apps like to write ;) )

Replacing original squasfs - what we gain? Stock os is unbootable - just few GB more storage?
 

HerrieMan

Member
Jan 11, 2011
32
1
$auron,
should I give your 0.4 release a go on my A70H ? or is this still only suitable to be installed on an sd-card ?
 

chrulri

Senior Member
Dec 7, 2010
895
275
how much slower? risky? .. facts?
why shouldn't linux apps can write? that's what unionfs and the writable storage (ext4 @ image or partition) is for.

who wan't stock os side by side with a custom rom? just wipe it, if you want it back: reformat. if you want the custom rom back: put the custom update-file where it has to be and reboot with sde -> custom rom installed

pros:
- no more hassling around with with linux tools and untaring rootfs archives.
- so much easier installation and update process
- updates don't wipe customizations by the user as it's stored in another image / partition

contras:
- maybe slower

edit: if you don't want to, I'll give it a try, based on your latest urukdroid release, ok?
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 11
    Here is 1.6RC1

    This package will also update kernel/initramfs and reboot. It will update apps in /system/app (so if you removed some of them - you may need to do it again). It may show startup configuration wizard - but only to confirm existing configuration.

    http://sauron.pourix.com/UrukDroid/UrukDroid-1.6/UrukDroid-1.6RC1-update.tbz2

    After update - device will reboot itself.

    ps. So far UrukDroid 1.5 installation package was downloaded 32593 times :)
    6
    picture.php


    This thread is created for developers and developing of UrukDroid ONLY.
    UrukDroid is alternative Android distribution, based on original Archos OS for Archos GEN8 tablets.

    Please do not write here questions about installing UrukDroid on tablet - you can do it in default post - here.

    All post violating above rule will be deleted.

    This thread is created for:
    • manage people and dividing work
    • plan new releases
    • plan new features
    • help between developers
    • gain knowledge, materials
    • feature proposals by users

    Things we are currently working on:
    • Sauron: memory I/O tuning
    • cheefy: backup script
    • Sauron: upgrade/install scripts
    • chulri: dvb support

    What informations are we looking for:
    • How to prevent Android from going sleep on system level?
    • Format of bootlogo and initlogo.rle on Gen8 (we are aware of rgb2565 converter etc., but with no luck on Archos yet - I've tried different bit settings 4/8/16/24 and resolutions 200x480, 800x480 - Sauron)

    Repository for binary and source releases is currently available here.
    6
    UrukDroid 1.5B2

    Hi,

    Uruk 1.5 beta 2
    http://sauron.pourix.com/UrukDroid/UrukDroid-1.5/UrukDroid-1.5B2-upgrade.tbz2
    130MB f5fc62f433324f3baf51e000f4b187e2 UrukDroid-1.5B2-upgrade.tbz2

    Upgrade (so will erase probably some settings - just like before)
    - recompiled all modules (missing in beta1) for 3g/ethernet tethering and dvb drivers (but I will abandon all non standard dvb cards - too much work )
    - added (again) adhoc wifi support
    - moved libc to 2.13 (and all binaries)
    - configuration and services fixes, changes etc - fixed cifs modules loading

    I've added message during upgrade process if it fails (so perhaps we will know why it failed to erase file on your devices - read messages during process)
    6
    Early Uruk 1.5beta1

    Here is early 1.5 (beta1) - please don't use it if you are not confident in your skills (reverting back to 1.1/1.0 is possible - but annoying).
    http://sauron.pourix.com/UrukDroid/UrukDroid-1.5/UrukDroid-1.5B1-upgrade.tbz2

    It will work as an upgrade of Uruk 1.0, but it's recommended to do it on 1.1 (because you can do full backup in RescueMenu).
    Please copy upgrade file to /data/UrukUpdate and read messages (Uruk 1.1) - device should reboot itself.

    It should upgrade like every Uruk but it's NOT tested (upgrade process) so I advice to do rootfs backup (Uruk 1.1 ResceuMenu). Kernel from 1.5 WON'T work with any previous release - so after upgrade it won't be able to boot 1.1.
    This release has probably not working dvb/3g support - but it may work (simply not tested) - it's quite important for me to report what else is missing.

    If you want revert back to 1.1 you should flash (from Archos BootMenu) 1.1 kernel/initramfs (http://sauron.pourix.com/UrukDroid/UrukDroid-1.1/) and do rootfs restore from Uruk RescuMenu.

    That's probably it :) Good Luck

    btw. If you had Uruk market installed, after upgrade it will be gone (there will be icons left) - I recommend to use Arctool to install market (it has newer one and with it's certificates there is no wifi location problem).
    6
    UrukDroid 1.1RC2

    1.1RC2 with 2.3.81 changes, some kernel module changes (will see if it still do "soft reboot")
    If anyone knows sure method to trigger "soft reboot" - please let me know...
    First update kernel (/data/UrukUpdate)
    http://sauron.pourix.com/UrukDroid/UrukDroid-1.1/UrukDroid-1.1RC2-kernel.tbz2
    Then update file
    http://sauron.pourix.com/UrukDroid/UrukDroid-1.1/UrukDroid-1.1RC2-update-rc.tbz2

    With some new changes in rescue menu I've added software way to disable SDCard Uruk boot: You can dissable boot from SDCard by naming any of it's partition "noboot" ('root@urukdroid:/root# e2label /dev/block/mmcblk2p1 noboot')
    It's usefull if you have Uruk on both sdcard and internal, and you don't want to remove card every time you want to boot internal (I use sdcard as live backup only now)