FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] How to write "capacity" without stopping Update?

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By bitboy0, Junior Member on 24th January 2011, 06:12 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey Folks.

I'm just a beginner for Android, but have some expirience with several PC-Programming languages. Hopefully this is the right place for this Question?

The first thing I'd like to do sounds simple, but there is a point where I'm not able to find a solution.

The Quest:
I'd like to have 1%steps in akku-display. on my DEFY


What I' found until now:
There are 2 Files containing the Information!
/sys/devices/platform/cpcap_battery/power_supply/battery/capacity
there is a symlink to that file
/sys/class/power_supply/battery/capacity

and the file can be found on two furthermore places:
/d/battery
/sys/kernel/debug/battery

at the same locations there is a second file : charge_counter
This is also with the named other directorys.

The file "charge_counter" contains the 1%step-value for the akku-level!
The file "capacity" contains the 10%step-value which is displayed by all the Widgeds and tools

The files in /sys/devices and /sys/class can't be changed. Even with 777 they resist any write-atempt

The files in /d/battery and /sys/kernel/debug/battery CAN changed they are 666 by default.

So the idea was just to copy the content from "charge_counter" to "capacity" if "charge_counter" change its value.

at first it seems to work! Every Value I wrote to "capacity" is present with the whole System! It changes the value in every presence of "capacity" I found. Also It changes the Batt-Widgets content, the status-bar-symbol and so on.

BUT

The Problem:
Once changed the value in "capacity" the phone doesn'd update "charge_counter" any more. Also "voltage" an some other Values in that directory will stop showing the real state!

So once I copied the value it will shown fine and than never change again until reboot.

Question: HOW can I avoid stopping the Update?

Sorry for typo ... english is not the language I usaly speak

any ideas?
The Following User Says Thank You to bitboy0 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bitboy0 Ad-Free
 
 
24th January 2011, 11:06 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
This should be in the development thread. Not many have their eye on this section.

Sent from my MB525 using XDA App
24th January 2011, 11:32 PM |#3  
Perilla_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cádiz
Thanks Meter: 147
 
More
Sounds good... post in development. If we have 1% step values, must be a way to be show.
25th January 2011, 06:01 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I think I can't ... hav not enough Posts here until now! Maybe someone else may post it?

"bitboy0, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:"
25th January 2011, 10:03 AM |#5  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin
Flag NSW, Australia
Thanks Meter: 23,380
 
10
More
Leave it in this forum for now. It's related to Apps from what I understand.

Also, you won't be able to post in the Dev sections until you have 10 posts
25th January 2011, 10:30 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Yes, I knew that 10-posts-thing as I red the stickys

Until now I tried to solve the "problem" without Java ... just using "Tasker" and the locale-execute-plugin ...

But I think It would be more effektive to handle that using Java? ...
27th January 2011, 01:24 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
It makes me sad to know: here the pro's doesn't read ...

Where the pro's are I can't write.

11th February 2011, 10:49 PM |#8  
3c's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,576
 
Donate to Me
More
Exclamation Excellent question!
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitboy0

It makes me sad to know: here the pro's doesn't read ...

Where the pro's are I can't write.

Here you go a new thread has been create to see if someone will take on hacking the Defy to get 1% increment

See here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=11295128
13th February 2011, 04:10 PM |#9  
mick711's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Joncy
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Do you think that can help ?

http://grepcode.com/file/repository....ryService.java
16th February 2011, 12:51 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,194
 
More
I don't think this all is needed. I am almost sure, that it's just about editing battery stats (and maybe some others) xml's and png's in framework-res.apk. Nothing more.
edit: And maybe something in services.jar. I had it changed on X10 mini.
7th March 2011, 09:34 AM |#11  
3c's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,576
 
Donate to Me
More
Battery Monitor Widget now supports Motorola Defy
Hello,

Just to let you know support for the Defy has been added in BMW (which can be download from Market).

You can follow the app thread here.

Can someone test it and let me know if it works ok, not having a Defy makes it hard for testing

By the way Defy supports need to be activated in settings / monitoring settings!
The Following User Says Thank You to 3c For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift 3c Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
battery, defy

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes