FORUMS

[REF] Tutorial: How to partition sd card to run wp7 and android from same sd card

109 posts
Thanks Meter: 87
 
By darrengladysz, Senior Member on 14th January 2011, 10:22 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
1st February 2011, 08:41 AM |#441  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 87
 
Donate to Me
More
Seems there might be an sd version of wm65 after all

http://pocketnow.com/windows-phone/d...f-wm65-for-hd2
1st February 2011, 11:27 AM |#442  
Senior Member
Flag SouthSide of Chicago
Thanks Meter: 190
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrengladysz

Seems there might be an sd version of wm65 after all

http://pocketnow.com/windows-phone/d...f-wm65-for-hd2

OK, good, cotulla just tweeted about that 9 hours ago... I started worrying that he gave up on developing wm65 for sd. I can't wait until we can quad-boot wp7, wm65, android and ubuntu... then hopefully in a few months maybe we'll have a decent working meego port, too.
1st February 2011, 11:59 PM |#443  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
personally i like the look of energies wm6.5 the best
i hope this happens
I love me HD2!
thanks to XDA and to COTULLA
4th February 2011, 07:14 AM |#444  
shree.cse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,555
 
More
I have an 8gb transcend class 2 stock SD card. I partitioned it with 3.5gb for windows7 and the rest of fat32 for Android using the 3rd method in OP. When ever I booted into Android and restarted to wp7, I am loosing all my settings. But not the hard reset, I am sure. And now my Memory status in wp7 is 15mb only, before it must be around 2.6gb
May something is causing SD card to be corrupted!
This is my whole problem
Is there any other solution for my problem?

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
4th February 2011, 08:51 AM |#445  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 87
 
Donate to Me
More
First, I think you don't have a wp7 partition if you only see 15mb.

Second, re-read the instructions and redo the 3rd method. Windows partition needs to be larger than the android partition and don't forget to set wp7 partiion to primary.

If not, get a 4gb card and do 1st method. It is longer but more predictable.

Good luck
4th February 2011, 11:28 AM |#446  
shree.cse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,555
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrengladysz

First, I think you don't have a wp7 partition if you only see 15mb.

Second, re-read the instructions and redo the 3rd method. Windows partition needs to be larger than the android partition and don't forget to set wp7 partiion to primary.

If not, get a 4gb card and do 1st method. It is longer but more predictable.

Good luck

That's what I am saying. Before booting the Android even after partitioning Wp7 has 2.6gb. Once I booted into Android and after that if I came back to WP7 the available free memory is 15mb. May be the reason is something was damaging the partition


Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
4th February 2011, 12:12 PM |#447  
Senior Member
Flag SouthSide of Chicago
Thanks Meter: 190
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shree.cse

That's what I am saying. Before booting the Android even after partitioning Wp7 has 2.6gb. Once I booted into Android and after that if I came back to WP7 the available free memory is 15mb. May be the reason is something was damaging the partition


Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App

That's what was happening when trying to setup dualboot with a kingston card... it set up at first and wp7 showed the space, but when I would reboot, it didn't read the card in wp7 anymore. You might need a different sd card if you can't get it to work.

Sent from my HTC bravo using XDA App
4th February 2011, 01:12 PM |#448  
shree.cse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,555
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zarathustrax

That's what was happening when trying to setup dualboot with a kingston card... it set up at first and wp7 showed the space, but when I would reboot, it didn't read the card in wp7 anymore. You might need a different sd card if you can't get it to work.

Sent from my HTC bravo using XDA App

May be, I will try.
But After everything was fine after a normal restart except for running Android.


Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
4th February 2011, 03:24 PM |#449  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
thanks for the info, gonna try it!
4th February 2011, 03:46 PM |#450  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
ok this tutorial is great and all but the question i have to ask is:

when using a phone you try to keep your stuff as "neat and organized" as possible -- restarting the phone to boot into WP7 or Android will never leave you with one static organized place to do your tasks. so how do you decide when to choose what OS to boot into?
4th February 2011, 03:54 PM |#451  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hi, when I was formatting the SD Card, the maximum value given to me for the cluster size was 16kb.

Now, when I enter MAGLDR and select the option to boot from SD, it seems that the phone says something is wrong with my zImage.

I have tried both Desire DL and RAM Froyo Sense (modded), but both have the same problem.

Is this a problem with the 16kb cluster size or did I miss something out?

Any help is much thanked in advance.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
dual boot, wp7 and android

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes