FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Linux and Android for Vogue [kernel thread]

2,478 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,039
 
By dzo, Senior Recognized Developer on 3rd April 2008, 10:28 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
5th January 2011, 09:38 AM |#5881  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
Donate to Me
More
Exclamation latest kernel - type 1 panel not working
Hi,
I have 2 kaisers one has panel type 1 and one has panel type 2.
No problems with the type 2 panel and the latest kernel.
But regarding the type 1 panel...

using atools I try dmzo´s latest kernel and set it to type 1 kaiser and the screen looks ok. using the latest kernel here again using atools to set it to kaiser and type 1 the screen does not look ok (looks the same as when setting the wrong panel type)

again using atools kernel 2.6.25 works fine (but it is not so good with battery usage so I would really like to have the latest 2.6.32 kernel working with type 1 panel)

I also tried autodetect in atools but same story: screen looking wrong
 
 
6th January 2011, 10:25 PM |#5882  
Josue_181's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Quito
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
The kernel 2.6.25 has lower battery performance with respect to kernel 2.6.32? If so I change now the kernel because it is one of the biggest complaints I have about Android on this computer (vogue) that the battery does not last at all.
10th January 2011, 07:33 PM |#5883  
Josue_181's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Quito
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
There is a difference whether or not in the use of the battery in Android if you use kernel 2.6.25 or 2.6.32, as casacristo mention that I liked not battery with kernel 2.6.25 me stay with the doubt whether there is better performance of the battery using the kernel 2.6.32.

I would like to that they respond me, currently I use kernel 2.6.25
19th January 2011, 01:57 AM |#5884  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
need some help guys,

i have an htc touch p3450 omap850 processor
ive downloaded the VaniljFroyo_RLS2 at //sourceforge.net/apps/trac/androidhtc/wiki/WikiStart

I was able to save the

haret.exe
default.txt
androidinstall..tar
initrd.gz
zimage

on the boot of my memcard

when i run the haret.exe, im getting the initial kernel screen then it will just go to a white screen,

i tried to change the value in the default.txt for board-htcvogue.panel_type to 1,2 and 3

did i miss anything?..i really need the help..thanks
19th January 2011, 03:00 AM |#5885  
mrkite38's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 371
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectghost

need some help guys,

i have an htc touch p3450 omap850 processor
ive downloaded the VaniljFroyo_RLS2 at //sourceforge.net/apps/trac/androidhtc/wiki/WikiStart

I was able to save the

haret.exe
default.txt
androidinstall..tar
initrd.gz
zimage

on the boot of my memcard

when i run the haret.exe, im getting the initial kernel screen then it will just go to a white screen,

i tried to change the value in the default.txt for board-htcvogue.panel_type to 1,2 and 3

did i miss anything?..i really need the help..thanks

This project doesn't run on OMAP. It runs on qualcomm msm.

Sent from my DROID2 using XDA App
19th January 2011, 02:25 PM |#5886  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@markite38

any suggestions on what i can do to run android on my htc touch running on omap?
thanks
19th January 2011, 02:34 PM |#5887  
mrkite38's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 371
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectghost

@markite38

any suggestions on what i can do to run android on my htc touch running on omap?
thanks

I am not aware of a port for elf. Its resources are even more limited than vogue so it'd be veeeery slow. Elfin might be comparable. In either case, check the elf forum.

Sent from my DROID2 using XDA App
19th January 2011, 07:36 PM |#5888  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@mrkite38

Thanks for the info..

Will try to look into it
21st February 2011, 02:58 AM |#5889  
Junior Member
Upper Hutt
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
How to make data connection and settings
Hi there, I'm ned to this thread and have install the android 2.3 onto my Okta Touch (HTC Vogue) and it works great, Thanks! Can anyone help me get the data connection going on telecoms network? I assume any settings are different to the XT data system, If someone can help step me through it I'd be very greatful.
21st February 2011, 03:18 AM |#5890  
dzo's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland
Thanks Meter: 5,039
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by im_jase

Hi there, I'm ned to this thread and have install the android 2.3 onto my Okta Touch (HTC Vogue) and it works great, Thanks! Can anyone help me get the data connection going on telecoms network? I assume any settings are different to the XT data system, If someone can help step me through it I'd be very greatful.

In settings..wireless & networks..mobile networks..access points names, press menu, new apn and create an apn with username: mobile@jamamobile and password: telecom

This should work but it will be slow now that they have switched off the evdo network.
The Following User Says Thank You to dzo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2011, 01:39 AM |#5891  
Junior Member
Upper Hutt
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks dzo, I created an APN as you said, and in the status bar I get a grey symbol with two arrows above it(which means no data service?) I assume I don't have to fill in proxy, port, server, mmsc, mms proxy, mms port, mcc(310), MNC(260), authentication type or apn type can I be missing something else?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, linux, vogue

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes