FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[DEV] The project to port Android(froyo) on S8500 (8530)

183 posts
Thanks Meter: 624
 
By oleg_k, Retired Recognized Developer on 29th March 2011, 05:26 AM
Thread Closed Email Thread
4th April 2011, 02:01 AM |#31  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
I think we should all be donating to the oleg_k fund instead of Androbada or Android port! here we have proof he is actively working
4th April 2011, 02:18 AM |#32  
smokestack76's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Clinton Indiana
Thanks Meter: 447
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabianadmin

oleg_k are you custom compiling that kernel your self, if so can you send me the config file?

EDIT: found it, working down through it to see if i can help/

EDIT 2: You may want to supplement the lack of RAM by defining a bit of swap mem by the way. not sure if you would be able to create a swap partition with the acces to the device you have.

Where is the kernel? I searched but couldnt find it.
4th April 2011, 02:22 AM |#33  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
oh i was only looking for the config file for the kerenl, thats attached in the first post (config.txt)
4th April 2011, 03:47 AM |#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabianadmin

oh i was only looking for the config file for the kerenl, thats attached in the first post (config.txt)

Just a heads up, something to bear in mind, from reading the kernel log upon bootup, something occurred to me - I do recall reading a blog posting about codesourcery's gcc version 4.4.1 was buggy in that the code produced clobbers some stack frame pointers... - (I did point this out to the samsung bada dev last year)

@oleg_k - a quick suggestion - can you not download the latest and greatest toolchain, this is the version I have - gcc version 4.5.1 (Sourcery G++ Lite 2010.09-51) - perhaps its worth a shot to try the newer version...
4th April 2011, 05:10 AM |#35  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 624
 
Donate to Me
More
t0mm13b,
i used Sourcery G++ Lite 2010.09-51 but i temporary downgrade to 4.4.1.
4th April 2011, 08:11 AM |#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,428
 
More
Quote:

Total we have 128+256=384MB of RAM (Galaxy S have 512MB).

This can NOT be correct. Also I9000 have more RAM...
Check this out:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=899661

Link is expired, but from I9000 I remember they posted true Type/name of 2x RAM Chips.
Quote:

The K4X1G323B, KLM8G4DEDD and K4X2G323PB represnt the 1Gb DDR SDRAM, 8Gb Managed NAND and 2Gb DDR SDRAM respectively.

You can use Original Samsung PDFs and their Homepage to proof size.
Its Giga Byte, not Gigabit.

Yes, its true. S8500 and S8530 have less physically RAM as I9000.
BUT 512MB + 256 MB.

Please try to count...
apps_compressed.bin + Rsrc_S8500_Open_Europe_Common.rc1
= decompressed and hold in RAM more then 230 MB..... AMSS and more OS related stuff is loaded into RAM...

Then 200 MB is left... free RAM.

So over 430 MB RAM is possible to confirm with open eyes.

Oh, forgotten GPU used shared Memory I think. No extra Chip...

So less then 512 MB physically RAM is impossible.

Best Regards
4th April 2011, 08:42 AM |#37  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 624
 
Donate to Me
More
It's true, S8500 have ONLY 384MB RAM memory.
check bootloader log....

<6>Memory: 80MB 256MB = 336MB total
<5>Memory: 198708KB available (7748K code, 1687K data, 4444K init)

on Galaxy S : 80MB 256MB 128MB=464MB total
The Following User Says Thank You to oleg_k For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift oleg_k Ad-Free
4th April 2011, 12:01 PM |#38  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
The boot loader prob isn't seeing the full amount of memory at boot time, this isn't definitive proof.
4th April 2011, 12:54 PM |#39  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 624
 
Donate to Me
More
Look at the original Galaxy S bootloader logs:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...54&postcount=8
4th April 2011, 01:07 PM |#40  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
Hmm ok seems you're right. Like i said in a previous post. the best way to off set that is by creating some Swap space for the device, be that on a MicroSD card or internally, it only needs to be 128mb after all.

Edit: I used to own a HTC G1 and it only had 192mb of ram the Wave has almost 3 times that (well give or take) and the G1 still runs beautifully running gingerbread to this very day the wave should have no problem what so ever!

By the way was the new boot loader access method of any use to you, e.g can you use it to directly boot Android without using Jtag?
4th April 2011, 01:23 PM |#41  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 624
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabianadmin

Hmm ok seems you're right. Like i said in a previous post. the best way to off set that is by creating some Swap space for the device, be that on a MicroSD card or internally, it only needs to be 128mb after all.

Edit: I used to own a HTC G1 and it only had 192mb of ram the Wave has almost 3 times that (well give or take) and the G1 still runs beautifully running gingerbread to this very day the wave should have no problem what so ever!

By the way was the new boot loader access method of any use to you, e.g can you use it to directly boot Android without using Jtag?

now only with jtag. maybe later will be use injection code to original bootloader.
jtag tool need first time for initial putting android bootloader.Then i used Odin 1.7 for manipulate with varios firmwares and bootloaders.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
wave s8500 android
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes