Any developers here?

Search This thread

commodoor

Senior Member
Mar 8, 2008
921
68
Venlo
Is there a site where the root proces is described. how to edit the bootloader to gain root acces not a tutorial to root nexus or something.
 

Hawkysoft

Senior Member
Jul 21, 2010
762
182
40
Rotterdam
erhm....

ok...

bootloader is open why dont u guys got root?

its not that hard....

push the files with adb, install em, and ur done...

have fun lads
 

Meister_Li

Senior Member
Jun 26, 2010
298
37
Cork
erhm....

ok...

bootloader is open why dont u guys got root?

its not that hard....

push the files with adb, install em, and ur done...

have fun lads

Unfortunately, it's not quite as easy. First, we need read/write access to /system, which is only possible if we boot the device with something else than the stock kernel.
 

DooMLoRD

Inactive Recognized Developer
Jul 27, 2010
13,187
39,710
Pune
Unfortunately, it's not quite as easy. First, we need read/write access to /system, which is only possible if we boot the device with something else than the stock kernel.

to remount /system partition:

if u have adb shell access...

push the busybox binary to /data/local/tmp/

Code:
adb push busybox /data/local/tmp/.

change permission to execute...

Code:
adb shell "chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/busybox"

then enter adb shell and type following commands:
Code:
cd /data/local/tmp/
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 `mount | busybox grep /system | busybox awk '{print $1}'` /system
 

Attachments

  • busybox.rar
    521.3 KB · Views: 36

commodoor

Senior Member
Mar 8, 2008
921
68
Venlo
to remount /system partition:

if u have adb shell access...

push the busybox binary to /data/local/tmp/

Code:
adb push busybox /data/local/tmp/.

change permission to execute...

Code:
adb shell "chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/busybox"

then enter adb shell and type following commands:
Code:
cd /data/local/tmp/
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 `mount | busybox grep /system | busybox awk '{print $1}'` /system

doesn't work because of no root access "busybox: permission denied"
 

commodoor

Senior Member
Mar 8, 2008
921
68
Venlo
ok first try this:

can u post the output of the following command:

Code:
adb shell "mount"

Sure:
PHP:
rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock0 /system yaffs2 ro,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock3 /data yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock2 /cache yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock1 /data/idd yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/sys/kernel/debug /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:1 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:1 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0
/dev/block/dm-0 /mnt/asec/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/dm-1 /mnt/asec/com.xeudoxus.privacy.blocker-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/dm-2 /mnt/asec/com.dropbox.android-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
 

DooMLoRD

Inactive Recognized Developer
Jul 27, 2010
13,187
39,710
Pune
Sure:
PHP:
rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock0 /system yaffs2 ro,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock3 /data yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock2 /cache yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock1 /data/idd yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/sys/kernel/debug /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw,relatime 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:1 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/vold/179:1 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0
/dev/block/dm-0 /mnt/asec/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/dm-1 /mnt/asec/com.xeudoxus.privacy.blocker-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block/dm-2 /mnt/asec/com.dropbox.android-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0

great so the system MTD block is at /dev/block/mtdblock0

now try this in adb shell:

Code:
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock0 /system
--OR--
Code:
mount -o remount,rw,relatime -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock0 /system

and if u dont get any error then post output of:
Code:
adb shell "mount"

BTW: how come u have "com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup-1"??? is ur device rooted yet? or were u just trying out apps ;) ?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: commodoor

commodoor

Senior Member
Mar 8, 2008
921
68
Venlo
great so the system MTD block is at /dev/block/mtdblock0

now try this in adb shell:

Code:
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock0 /system

and if u dont get any error then post output of:
Code:
adb shell "mount"

BTW: how come u have "com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup-1"??? is ur device rooted yet? or were u just trying out apps ;) ?

Nope didn't work:
"mount: Operation not permitted"

We still don't got root, i think till than we can't do anything
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 2
    So here's simple root package that is supposed to work for Arc. It's not tested as I don't have the device myself - just made it for my buddy who got the phone few hours ago and successfully unlocked.

    I modified the original initrd to provide the root shell. Use it to copy su binary file + install Superuser.apk to achieve root.

    This is only for people who understand what they are doing!
    If you don't... just wait for some tutorials etc!


    1. Unlock the bootloader
    2. Download the boot.img http://www.mediafire.com/?il5sb1n45fw5dxa
    3. fastboot flash boot boot.img
    4. adb shell -> remount system rw -> push su into /system/bin
    5. Install Superuser.apk

    Cheers,
    z
    1
    Sure:
    PHP:
    rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
    tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
    /dev/block/mtdblock0 /system yaffs2 ro,relatime 0 0
    /dev/block/mtdblock3 /data yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
    /dev/block/mtdblock2 /cache yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
    /dev/block/mtdblock1 /data/idd yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
    /sys/kernel/debug /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw,relatime 0 0
    /dev/block/vold/179:1 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/vold/179:1 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0
    /dev/block/dm-0 /mnt/asec/com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/dm-1 /mnt/asec/com.xeudoxus.privacy.blocker-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/dm-2 /mnt/asec/com.dropbox.android-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0

    great so the system MTD block is at /dev/block/mtdblock0

    now try this in adb shell:

    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock0 /system
    --OR--
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw,relatime -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock0 /system

    and if u dont get any error then post output of:
    Code:
    adb shell "mount"

    BTW: how come u have "com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup-1"??? is ur device rooted yet? or were u just trying out apps ;) ?
    1
    I'm sure it will come but what I didn't understand what it makes harder to root it after the bootloader got unlocked.

    We will keep doing try and fail till we succeed. Thanks for the help

    Sent from my LT15i using XDA Premium App

    rooting and bootloader cracking (not needed on Arc) are different things

    rooting involves using an exploit (uptill now psneuter/rageagainstthecage) to gain access to root shell and then install superuser binaries...

    google mostly patches the codes in android for these exploits and so new versions of android are harder to root because newer exploits need to be found...