The OnePlus 6 is officially on sale! Buy now →
FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
OnePlus 6 On Sale

[GUIDE] (For Noobs) SDK, ADB, and Drivers

455 posts
Thanks Meter: 199
 
By MLIGN, Senior Member on 3rd July 2011, 08:35 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
3rd July 2011, 04:32 PM |#11  
bobsbbq's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Covington, LA
Thanks Meter: 357
 
Donate to Me
More
Just a little tip to save a few key strokes. To get to a cmd prompt and be ready to start typing commands right away, just navigate to the AndroidSDK directory and open it. Then hold the shift key + right click on Tools folder, you will see a option for opening a cmd prompt here.

Just saves a few strokes.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to bobsbbq For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bobsbbq Ad-Free
 
 
3rd July 2011, 04:38 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Flag New Haven, CT
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
This should be made into a stickie!
3rd July 2011, 05:40 PM |#13  
o0o Wiggy o0o's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Telford, England
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Thanks for this...I wouldnt have a clue otherwise.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App
3rd July 2011, 06:12 PM |#14  
PiloterB's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
First Of all tnx for the !
i did exactly how you wrote.
but i have a problem

i have win7 64 bit
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	575
Size:	92.9 KB
ID:	644638  
3rd July 2011, 07:21 PM |#15  
MLIGN's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 199
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiloterB

i did exactly how you wrote.
but i have a problem

i have win7 64 bit

Do you have a virus protection program open?
Try to disable the virus protection program first, if that doesn't work. I have another way to get the drivers.
It's a bit more complicated but it works.

I made this guide on a brand new computer, and wrote this guide from a brand new computer stand point. So I didn't have any virus protection or any firewall programs.

Try to reboot and uninstall HTC Sync and reinstall.

Hope this helps!
3rd July 2011, 07:28 PM |#16  
EddyOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,034
 
More
Slightly easier way to get ADB and Fastboot running in ANY window without having to go to the SDK folder each time (this is for Windows 7 but should work in other Windows version too):

1. Click 'Start and right-click on 'Computer'
2. Go to 'Properties'
3. Click on 'Advanced system settings' in the top-left corner
4. Click the 'Environment variables...' button
5. In the bottom pane, scroll down to the 'Path' entry and then add the location of the SDK to the end of the line, using a ; to seperate it from the previous entry

Voila, you can just open a CMD windows and type adb and you're good to go!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ADB.jpg
Views:	503
Size:	94.1 KB
ID:	644688  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift EddyOS Ad-Free
3rd July 2011, 07:38 PM |#17  
shorty87's Avatar
Senior Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Thanks so much for this guide. This is my first Android phone so I am a complete noob. I'm gonna try the temp root now!

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using XDA App
3rd July 2011, 07:59 PM |#18  
MLIGN's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 199
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

Slightly easier way to get ADB and Fastboot running in ANY window without having to go to the SDK folder each time (this is for Windows 7 but should work in other Windows version too):

1. Click 'Start and right-click on 'Computer'
2. Go to 'Properties'
3. Click on 'Advanced system settings' in the top-left corner
4. Click the 'Environment variables...' button
5. In the bottom pane, scroll down to the 'Path' entry and then add the location of the SDK to the end of the line, using a ; to seperate it from the previous entry

Voila, you can just open a CMD windows and type adb and you're good to go!

I have this done to mine, I just didn't want to overload newcomers on all this info real quick.
The Following User Says Thank You to MLIGN For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift MLIGN Ad-Free
3rd July 2011, 08:07 PM |#19  
EddyOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,034
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLIGN

I have this done to mine, I just didn't want to overload newcomers on all this info real quick.

Fair enuff, but it's quite easy to do if you follow those instructions. Combined we've put pretty everything you need to get it running
3rd July 2011, 08:23 PM |#20  
r3awak3n's Avatar
Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Instead of copy pasting adb from platform-tools to tools you can do this:

http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/...ll-it-android/

read step 3. works great.

Edit: read the edit .

Thank you for the guide btw. I wish i researched and found out how to do it, its easy but a great guide like this would have gone a long way and save me an hour
3rd July 2011, 08:24 PM |#21  
ringrover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
help plz
the HTC sync dosent open ..... i dont know where and what and why this happened ....

before 3 days it was working 100% ....

i try to fallow you steps 100% but still the htc sync not working ... any suggestions
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes