FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[2017.08.02] DSLR Controller v1.05

11,218 posts
Thanks Meter: 86,132
 
By Chainfire, Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt? on 4th August 2011, 01:41 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
6th August 2011, 07:46 AM |#101  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This looks awesome - great work. I'll be buying it as soon as I can get hold of the cable.

Bit of a long shot, but any chance of getting it to work wirelessly?

I've got a 1D Mk IV with the wireless file transmitter.

If your software could be made to work with this, it would be amazing.
 
 
6th August 2011, 08:44 AM |#102  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Talking Need usb OTG
Wooow, amazing app. Kudos M. Chainfire !

Now I need a OTG cable for my Galaxy S2
And I need it fast !

.:EDIT:.
ok, OTG cable ordered

Now Android Market says the app isn't compatible with any of my devices and I can't buy it :/
My Galaxy S2 runs an official KG1 firmware but I bought it as a carrier branded phone (2.3.3)... maybe that's the cause of the issue.
I know this is a bit off topic but I would really like to buy the app. Is there a way I can do it through market in these circumstances ?
6th August 2011, 11:02 AM |#103  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Eos450d xperia neo
I will use the program I have a Canon EOS450D with a NEO XPERIA 2.3.3 may work?
Greetings.
6th August 2011, 11:07 AM |#104  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire


Interesting. I will be releasing a free app to help test compatibility ASAP. It will give some more info about your setup. It could be related to the custom ROM... I do believe the Adam can read USB memory sticks and such, right ?

USB memory sticks works fine. I moved to HC ROM that NI offers, no problems with USB sticks but I can't see the version 0.51 anymore so there is something screwed up in my USB host and I suspect that it is the kernel that it is used in these versions of HC (2.6.32), as the REAL kernel version for HC should be .36.



Sent from my Adam using Tapatalk
6th August 2011, 11:22 AM |#105  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 86,132
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyboy405

Im having Issues.

I have a Canon DSLR EOS XS And im using an ACER A500

I can get Live view to show up.. But I cannot Control anything. I get Blank Menus if I press ISO or anything like that. And If I try and take a picture it says Capture Failed.

Im Using the Full size USB port on my Tablet. And it all looks good. I just get no control

Am I doing something wrong? Or is my Camera or Tablet Being Retarded?

I am assuming here that the XS is not a very new model ? It appears that the older the EOS model, the issues there are. I am going to try to borrow some older models from friends and camera clubs (luckily my sister is a camera club organiser) so I can test with more of those and hopefully figure out the issue. This will however take a while.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Philippens

Ok, I thought the usb control mode for Canon DSLR's was generic because I used to have a program on my laptop to control my 1D Mk2 and that particular program can control nearly all Canon camera's. That's why I thought they had figured out a way to make this generic. A bit like Philips made up the RCx protocol for controlling various devices.

Still hopefull. I read various comments that the Desire has USB OTG support. Something I have to investigate. Would love to control the camera from the phone. Good for studio work.

Well the thing is, there are really old Canons who use a proprietary communication protocol, then there are Canons who do use the PTP protocol but with command set #A, and the newer Canons who use the PTP protocol but with command set #B (A and B or not official names, it's just to illustrate that they are different).

All the liveview models pretty much use the #B command set, but then there are still different dialects between them - these differences cause the problems we are currently seeing.

And even though the PTP protocol is used, it is just a bare protocol. Yes, it does provide for standard commands, but the PTP protocol is extensible. What happened is that each and every camera brand that supports PTP has decided to use only the extensible command set, and has completely custom and undocumented commands, instead of using the standard commands.

Due to this, the only way to get this stuff to work, is a very lengthy process of reverse engineering, USB tracing, and a lot of trial and error during testing. That is why I actually need these cameras in hand to play with, there is no other way to figure out how to get them to work. That is also why Nikon will only be supported after Canon is stable, I need to get my hands on some Nikons, while I have a bunch of Canons already lying around.

I'm sure there are programs that do all this fairly well, but the complexity of it should not be underestimated. The more features you add, the more problematic it all becomes - especially in combination with the liveview functionality, which also works different across various models. Big chance a lot of work went into that program you mention, even if it might not be apparent.

As for the Desire, again, its hardware is perfectly capable of doing USB host. Pretty much all 1ghz phones have the hardware, the problem is the software (kernel + Android framework) support. That support has not been introduced until Honeycomb (exact Honeycomb version differs per device, some have it on 3.0, others only on 3.2). It works on the leaked firmwares of the Samsung Galaxy S2 because apparently Samsung backported that functionality - maybe not even from Honeycomb but from Ice Cream Sandwich, which I'm sure Samsung already access to. That is also why I keep mentioning Ice Cream Sandwich - most phones that get this will likely support the software parts of USB host.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweak41

I can see it, I just cannot purchase and download it.

On the web market you'd be able to see it, on the device itself you probably wouldn't. Either way, either your device or your firmware isn't compatible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeski27

Ok I just did a bit more testing on the loss of touch-screen focus with my setup (Galaxy Tab 10.1 + Canon 50D). After the program connects and opens, 1) I drag and set the focus point to the desired location, 2) I tap the screen to focus, which it does, 3) I capture the photo (successfully), and finally 4) after I move the focusing point to a new location, I tape the screen to focus and nothing happens. The program still works and isn't completely frozen, as I can still access the focusing toggle buttons which do work just fine. I've also noticed that again I can only change the focus option (Quick, Live, and :) ) once during a session; after that when I try to select a different option I am unable to select another toggle button.

Well, I have just received word that my USB host adapter for my own Galaxy Tab 10.1v has finally shipped, and should arrive Monday, so I'll be able to start testing on the Galaxy Tab coming week. I also have a 50D, so hopefully I can replicate - and fix - this. Unfortunately, the 50D I have has all sorts of issues, so let's hope I get it to work well enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultima888

This is so cool!! I was reading DPReview and was thinking, WTF a XDA developer doing here in a camera website!? http://www.dpreview.com/news/1108/11...etheredapp.asp
This is very cool!

One question thought, is the frame rate limit by the phone/tablet itself or by the camera? Since 15fps is quite choppy...of course I don't think anyone will use this to take split second photo, but improving the frame rate might be some sort of priority. If it's limit by the camera, maybe using a Sony DSLR could improve the frame rate? Since I think Live View is best on Sony rather than on Canon or Nikon. Oh, and when is Sony DSLR be supported? Will definitely try this once you have Sony supported since I only have a Sony a33 at the moment.

Also, is it possible to select where the photo will be saved? On the camera's card or on the phone/tablet SD card?

It is currently artificially limited to 15 fps, but I hope to build in a tuner that will help you reach the highest FPS possible with your camera / Android combination. However, I must warn you, the chance that it'll be over 15 FPS is very small. DSLR Controller already uses multi-threading to make it perform at any rate at all. Decoding the liveview stream takes a lot of processing power, and while your desktop PC's processor wouldn't break a sweat, the processors used in Android really aren't all that great at this.

Sony support is way down the line.

Quote:
Originally Posted by togad

This looks awesome - great work. I'll be buying it as soon as I can get hold of the cable.

Bit of a long shot, but any chance of getting it to work wirelessly?

I've got a 1D Mk IV with the wireless file transmitter.

If your software could be made to work with this, it would be amazing.

Unlikely for the near future. I don't have a 1D mk IV, nor do I have a wireless file transmitter, nor do I know how that protocol works. I'm not saying it will never be supported, but don't expect it anytime soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by be0ne

Wooow, amazing app. Kudos M. Chainfire !

Now I need a OTG cable for my Galaxy S2
And I need it fast !

.:EDIT:.
ok, OTG cable ordered

Now Android Market says the app isn't compatible with any of my devices and I can't buy it :/
My Galaxy S2 runs an official KG1 firmware but I bought it as a carrier branded phone (2.3.3)... maybe that's the cause of the issue.
I know this is a bit off topic but I would really like to buy the app. Is there a way I can do it through market in these circumstances ?

You need to upgrade your SGS2 to the 2.3.4 branch of the KG series. Yes, it is a bit confusing Samsung has a KG firmware series on 2.3.3 as well as 2.3.4. You need the 2.3.4 one. It can be found here on XDA, but I do not believe it has rolled out officially anywhere yet.
The Following User Says Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th August 2011, 11:35 AM |#106  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thanks a lot for the super fast answer ! That's indeed the reason.The actual KG1 I use is in 2.3.3. I'll upgrade to KG6 which is in 2.3.4 asap.

Thx again, see you on the CF-Root topic and on the market then
6th August 2011, 11:51 AM |#107  
m.shafik's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
What about us poor people with no access to the paid market or paypal?
I live in Egypt and we can't use paypal, even using "Market Access" to reveal the paid apps doesn't work when it comes to the payment method.

Is there anyway I can buy this app? I am willing to do online money transfer if possible, can you please make it work? Before your app I tried contacting the "RemoteYourCam Pro" developer but I didn't get a response.
6th August 2011, 11:53 AM |#108  
toaom2's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up
AI can't wait till support for Sony Alpha (700 or A77) is added .

Looks great, I'd buy it in a heartbeat when my camera system gets supported!
http://alphasight.blogspot.com/2008/...lpha-dslr.html
6th August 2011, 12:03 PM |#109  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Great work there, I bought the app and it works great on Samsung Galaxy S2 (2.3.4) and EOS 550D. While it has very little basic options, I propose you really start doing on stuff you already have on "to-do" list and here are even more ideas:
- saving images/video to mobile phone
- direct sending images/video over wifi/3g to web hosts (facebook/dropbox...etc) (with an option of only making smaller preview picture)
- live web broadcast through mobile internet/wifi with use of Ustream/others...
- timer
- better video recording support (live view while recording would be nice, and a working button for "start record")

if you like, I could write more ideas ^^

Thx!!
6th August 2011, 12:06 PM |#110  
Aymara's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ruhr Region
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

You need to upgrade your SGS2 to the 2.3.4 branch of the KG series. Yes, it is a bit confusing Samsung has a KG firmware series on 2.3.3 as well as 2.3.4. You need the 2.3.4 one. It can be found here on XDA, but I do not believe it has rolled out officially anywhere yet.

The official 2.3.4 should also be available soon.
6th August 2011, 12:08 PM |#111  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question Question
XPERIA NEO this application works on 2.3.3 and CANON EOS450D??
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes