FORUMS

 View Poll Results: GPS working for you?

Yes
 
101 Vote(s)
29.53%
No
 
241 Vote(s)
70.47%

GPS (possible issue)

370 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By arcticreaver, Senior Member on 21st December 2011, 09:47 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
31st December 2011, 03:09 AM |#751  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdp252

Guys I just noticed something strange. Isn't correct time down to the micro-second required for proper GPS functionality? My Windows desktop is configured to update it's time from, "time-a.nist.gov". I watched the clock and noticed that the tablet rolled over it's minutes about 2 seconds before my desktop.

If both devices were properly updating time I would have expected to see the time change occur simultaneously.

Could it be that this entire issue is because the tablet is not correctly updating time from an atomic source? (I have the prime setup to do so)

It would seem this is a non-issue as there is an auto-correction protocol implemented in consumer market chips : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GPS . Search for : Correcting a GPS receiver's clock
31st December 2011, 03:13 AM |#752  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
So I just got my replacement ATP. Before I took the first one I got back to
Best buy I shot a comparison video for the GPS. The Second one I got has a
working GPS. Its not as strong as it should be but its working. The first one..
nothing.

Both on my car hood in my driveway on a clear night with full view of the sky.
It took about 1 minute for the one with a working gps to get any signal. The
signal strenth seemed to fluctuate a lot.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to malice95 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift malice95 Ad-Free
31st December 2011, 03:21 AM |#753  
ducktaperules's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
very interesting.
31st December 2011, 03:25 AM |#754  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Were you able to keep a lock while driving/moving? That would be an upgrade!

Thx malice95.
31st December 2011, 03:34 AM |#755  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
Several sites have picked up the cause. Goggle "Asus prime GPS". I think Asus execs will be meeting over the weekend to find out why they weren't informed there was a potential problem.

http://www.theverge.com/2011/12/30/2...low-gps-update



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201
31st December 2011, 04:10 AM |#756  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
To those who clicked "yes", did you guys test the GPS while driving?
I can't find any feedback, comment, or evidence of GPS working while it is being driven around.

If so, could one guess/hypothesize that at least 90% of the Prime that is currently in the hands of the consumers are faulty/broken?
31st December 2011, 04:30 AM |#757  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
It would appear that we need the option to change our vote in the poll, as some thought it was working, but later found it couldn't keep a fix.
31st December 2011, 04:35 AM |#758  
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by malice95

So I just got my replacement ATP. Before I took the first one I got back to
Best buy I shot a comparison video for the GPS. The Second one I got has a
working GPS. Its not as strong as it should be but its working. The first one..
nothing.

Both on my car hood in my driveway on a clear night with full view of the sky.
It took about 1 minute for the one with a working gps to get any signal. The
signal strenth seemed to fluctuate a lot.

The one I got from BB works like your new one. Took about a minute, but I get 9 or so satellites with accuracy fluctuating between 30 and 75 ft.

edit: Going for a drive now. I'll report my results.

I was able to keep a lock on at least 5 satellites only if the tab was on my dash. Taking it off the dash pretty much killed the lock instantly. There was a huge gap in my mytracks during the period I had it in my lap. My area has a lot of oak tree cover, so not sure how that affected it when it was off of the dash.

If there's any consolation, this is about as well as my Captivate gps worked out of the box, and my Cappy's has certainly gotten a lot better since then. Also, if you drive a convertible, you're all set.
31st December 2011, 04:50 AM |#759  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
mine doesn't work either.
31st December 2011, 04:55 AM |#760  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Not a fan of this article or the author...

http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/12...thread-ensues/
31st December 2011, 05:10 AM |#761  
Scumbag Inc.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinzz

To those who clicked "yes", did you guys test the GPS while driving?
I can't find any feedback, comment, or evidence of GPS working while it is being driven around.

I didn't vote but:
Does my GPS work? Yes
Does it work well? No

Here in a few minutes I will be headed to the store for cigarettes. I will take it along with me and report back. Unfortunately I think we know what that report will be.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps, transformer prime

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes