FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

【MODEMS】【100+ Captivate I897 ♦ I9000 ♦ CM7/MIUI ♦ ICS】+【Google Location Map】

562 posts
Thanks Meter: 482
 
By Oxicottin, Senior Member on 21st August 2011, 01:49 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
9th January 2012, 06:07 PM |#171  
cjd80's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
there is a chance that this might also be a stupid question, but ive never seen it asked, so here goes:

how come in the i9000 section, all the modem names start with "captivate", but not in the i897 section? isnt the i897 the captivate, and the i9000 is the international galaxy s?

I have also found this with roms. specifically, i am currently running the KK4 saurom, but the splash screenw hen i turn my phone on says i9000. in about phone, my kernal says its the i897UCKK4... so why the i9000 splash screen?

anyway my main concern is about the modems, especially since i live in the toronto area, and my i896 stock modem is kh2, which has never been able to get a lock for me, and yet the i9000 KG3 modem works much better... but then id be running an i9000 modem on an i897 rom, and i want to stay with an i897 rom to have better call quality.
 
 
9th January 2012, 07:35 PM |#172  
Oxicottin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag West Virginia
Thanks Meter: 482
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjd80

how come in the i9000 section, all the modem names start with "captivate", but not in the i897 section? isnt the i897 the captivate, and the i9000 is the international galaxy s?

The reason the I9000 modems start with captivate is to tell you they are for the I897 captivate and the reason the I897 captivate modems don't is its already a captivate modem so it doesn't need introduction.

Quote:

I have also found this with roms. specifically, i am currently running the KK4 saurom, but the splash screenw hen i turn my phone on says i9000. in about phone, my kernal says its the i897UCKK4... so why the i9000 splash screen?

The reason for your I9000 splash screen is I do believe is either your running a captivate I9000 kernel for a captivate I897 ROM which is a no no OR your running captivate I9000 bootloaders for a captivate I987 ROM which is a double no no. Someone correct me if im wrong but If your running a I897 ROM you have to run I897 bootloaders but if your running a I9000 you can run either or and if your running a I897 ROM you have to run a I897 kernel and if your running a captivate I9000 ROM you have to run a I9000 kernel.

Quote:

anyway my main concern is about the modems, especially since i live in the toronto area, and my i896 stock modem is kh2, which has never been able to get a lock for me, and yet the i9000 KG3 modem works much better... but then id be running an i9000 modem on an i897 rom, and i want to stay with an i897 rom to have better call quality.

If your running a I897 ROM you have to use a I897 Modem but if your running a captivate I9000 ROM then you have to run I9000 modems BUT if your running CM7/MIUI OR any ICS then you can run "Radio" modems either I9000 or I897 but only if they are "Radio" modems. I removed the "Radio" I897 modems from my site because the lack of audience chip makes the sound quality for the other person crappy.

NOTE: All my modem .zip files are for the Captivate.... If that helps!

If this helps please hit the THANKS button.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Oxicottin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Oxicottin Ad-Free
9th January 2012, 10:28 PM |#173  
cjd80's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxicottin

The reason the I9000 modems start with captivate is to tell you they are for the I897 captivate and the reason the I897 captivate modems don't is its already a captivate modem so it doesn't need introduction.



The reason for your I9000 splash screen is I do believe is either your running a captivate I9000 kernel for a captivate I897 ROM which is a no no OR your running captivate I9000 bootloaders for a captivate I987 ROM which is a double no no. Someone correct me if im wrong but If your running a I897 ROM you have to run I897 bootloaders but if your running a I9000 you can run either or and if your running a I897 ROM you have to run a I897 kernel and if your running a captivate I9000 ROM you have to run a I9000 kernel.



If your running a I897 ROM you have to use a I897 Modem but if your running a captivate I9000 ROM then you have to run I9000 modems BUT if your running CM7/MIUI OR any ICS then you can run "Radio" modems either I9000 or I897 but only if they are "Radio" modems. I removed the "Radio" I897 modems from my site because the lack of audience chip makes the sound quality for the other person crappy.

NOTE: All my modem .zip files are for the Captivate.... If that helps!

If this helps please hit the THANKS button.

holy smokes, that is a beast of a reply -- wish I could click the thanks button 3 times, but I cant so...thanks!

weird that I would have had an incorrect kernel or bootloader with SauroM... i flashed it using DaGr8's one-click for the rom. in any case, the rom would still boot fine and everything, so why is it such an issue? or is it just bad form?
10th January 2012, 02:13 AM |#174  
fractaline's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OZ,far north
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Saurom is jvz based (i9000) with semaphore kernel (also i9000) but packed with kg3 (i897) which seems odd as it's a known issue that you need i897 kernel/rom for good voice quality.
The one click is jw1 which (i think) is i9000 so it would have i9000 boot loaders. People do run i9000 boot loaders with i897 roms (and vice versa) without issue but it's not officially recommended.
I don't mess with cappy modems as I rely on hsupa, just throwing in my two cents, as I understand it.

Phoned in.....
10th January 2012, 02:25 AM |#175  
4-2ndtwin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 2,488
 
Donate to Me
More
ugkg3 is an i9000 modem.

From the Gingerbread 2.3.3 I9000UGKG3 of the Bell I9000M
10th January 2012, 02:27 AM |#176  
fractaline's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OZ,far north
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Oops, thanks.

Phoned in.....
12th January 2012, 04:10 PM |#177  
whisky_x's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
one noob question: can i flash modem KK4 for my Miui rom?
12th January 2012, 04:46 PM |#178  
Oxicottin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag West Virginia
Thanks Meter: 482
 
More
If is packaged for a miui rom but I took them all of my website. It would say miui in its description

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Oxicottin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Oxicottin Ad-Free
29th January 2012, 01:56 AM |#179  
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjd80

there is a chance that this might also be a stupid question, but ive never seen it asked, so here goes:

how come in the i9000 section, all the modem names start with "captivate", but not in the i897 section? isnt the i897 the captivate, and the i9000 is the international galaxy s?

I have also found this with roms. specifically, i am currently running the KK4 saurom, but the splash screenw hen i turn my phone on says i9000. in about phone, my kernal says its the i897UCKK4... so why the i9000 splash screen?

anyway my main concern is about the modems, especially since i live in the toronto area, and my i896 stock modem is kh2, which has never been able to get a lock for me, and yet the i9000 KG3 modem works much better... but then id be running an i9000 modem on an i897 rom, and i want to stay with an i897 rom to have better call quality.



hey bud..i'm in the Toronto area too and have had a similar issue to you with the differing splash screens.. I have a cappy sgh-i897 (exact same as the i-896 but 896 is rogers in Canada and 897 is at&t in USA).. when i got the phone it had a Mosaic rom on it and the boot up screen actually showed BOTH gt-i9000 and then sgh-i897... and then the about screen had model i9000..
from what you're showing it sounds like you have i9000 bootloaders...which is what i have.. i have found out that is supposedly fine and many roms/kernels/loaders are done this way for these cappys as they're very similar and based on the i9000 framework.. but you seem to be running an i-897 rom/kernel.. that i'm not too sure about...running that rom with different bootloaders..

anyways.. for our area and basically almost all of southern Ontario I've found that the i9000 captivate UGKG3 modem is by far the best. I've had issues ever since i flashed to various ICS roms.. stock kernels, roms, modems WERE fine on this very phone until i've switched..but now that i'm on this SGSICS release i've had to switch modems and this one made a huge difference immediately.

So you should find out first if you can use the i9000 modems if you're using an i-897 rom cuz i would recommend the i9000 UGKG3 modem. I'm curious too, how the modems work in terms of should they be matched with the actual phone model or the rom/kernel model?
4th February 2012, 02:34 PM |#180  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 539
 
More
What's the best way to test these modems? I could run speedtest on all of them, but that wouldn't really test their signal strength performance

Sent from my CM9 ICS i897 Captivate
4th February 2012, 04:36 PM |#181  
Oxicottin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag West Virginia
Thanks Meter: 482
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13

What's the best way to test these modems? I could run speedtest on all of them, but that wouldn't really test their signal strength performance.

Its all trial and error and what works best for your area. If this helps I'm running KG3 for ICS in Pittsburgh PA.... hope this helps!

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes