FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How To Root An Acer Iconia A500

26 posts
Thanks Meter: 99
 
By Slowie911, Junior Member on 29th April 2011, 12:28 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
5th January 2012, 04:17 PM |#501  
Jrocker23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 96
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpinsl

To root under 3.2, you can use timmyDean's method from XDA.
Probably better to wait for ICS at this point.

I used timmys, method and it worked great. I had all the latest updates on my tab and was losing hope anyone would find root so I even downloaded the newest maintenance fixes thinking I would be stuck at stock.

When i did timmys method it seemed to me that at worst I would be downgraded to 3.1 then I would have to flash the latest 3.2 rom but to my great surprise, when all was said and done, my tab was fully up to date running on the latest gen 2 and honeycomb software that I had installed & have full root.

Awesome & thank you for posting the link to timmys work...
The Following User Says Thank You to Jrocker23 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jrocker23 Ad-Free
 
 
12th January 2012, 10:30 AM |#502  
AndrewASB's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minsk
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Is it work?
Is it work really???

https://market.android.com/details?i...b3RrZWVwZXIiXQ..

This application makes a backup or a protected backup of your device's root.
This device must already be rooted: OTA RootKeeper doesn't have the ability to root devices.

If several conditions are matched, OTA RootKeeper will make root survive OTAs and... pretty much well anything − except /system partition formatting.

Requirement:
- /system partition as Ext2, Ext3 or Ext4
- Upgrades not formatting or overwriting completely the /system partition.

Typical systems where its perfectly effective:
- Nexus S
- Galaxy Nexus
- Every Honeycomb tablet
The Following User Says Thank You to AndrewASB For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AndrewASB Ad-Free
6th February 2012, 07:05 PM |#503  
bdubs4200's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 267
 
More
I'm really close to buying one tonight, quick question though, 501 and 500- what is the difference between the 2? Can I flash 501 roms on the 500??

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using xda premium
6th February 2012, 08:20 PM |#504  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 546
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdubs4200

I'm really close to buying one tonight, quick question though, 501 and 500- what is the difference between the 2? Can I flash 501 roms on the 500??

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using xda premium

The A501 model has a built-in 3G radio, so you can fit a SIM and access the cell data network (no voice). Other than that, the hardware is identical to the A500.

A500 ROMs WILL work, but you'll lose the 3G radio capability.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to FloatingFatMan For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift FloatingFatMan Ad-Free
13th March 2012, 04:20 PM |#505  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
the first post for rooting is ok for iconia with honeycomb 3.2...I just want rooting it for installing battery saver...or in 3.2 version it is not needed???
13th March 2012, 10:11 PM |#506  
t-dkp's Avatar
Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Hello
Still no solution to find our A500 UID?
The solution of ADB DEVICES is not good
for me that gives me the serial number

Thank you

François
13th March 2012, 10:26 PM |#507  
vizzzy's Avatar
Member
Flag Zaandam
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-dkp

Hello
Still no solution to find our A500 UID?
The solution of ADB DEVICES is not good
for me that gives me the serial number

Thank you

François

are you on a stock ics rom?
13th March 2012, 10:33 PM |#508  
t-dkp's Avatar
Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vizzzy

are you on a stock ics rom?

Yes "TABOONAY"
and I'm looking everywhere without solution.

Sorry my English is bad
13th March 2012, 10:45 PM |#509  
vizzzy's Avatar
Member
Flag Zaandam
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-dkp

Yes "TABOONAY"
and I'm looking everywhere without solution.

Sorry my English is bad

oh so you have root?

edit :- So if finding the UID is your only problem then do this.
1.Open your terminal on tablet
2.Type dmesg > /mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt
3.in dmesg search for for androidboot.serialno=. that will be your UID

note - this should be done within few seconds after you reboot your tablet.
The Following User Says Thank You to vizzzy For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift vizzzy Ad-Free
14th March 2012, 11:18 AM |#510  
t-dkp's Avatar
Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vizzzy

oh so you have root?

edit :- So if finding the UID is your only problem then do this.
1.Open your terminal on tablet
2.Type dmesg > /mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt
3.in dmesg search for for androidboot.serialno=. that will be your UID

note - this should be done within few seconds after you reboot your tablet.

Unfortunately in ICS when it publishes dmesg there is not androidboot.serialno
And this is the problem

Edit:
I am not the only one in this case.... look here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1522384&page=3
6th April 2012, 01:30 AM |#511  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
probably a dumb question, but does the gingerbreak process normally take 10+ minutes?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
acer a500 root file, acer iconia a500 root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes