FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOWTO] Installing the unlocked bootloader and fixing broken recovery in leaked ICS

229 posts
Thanks Meter: 46
 
By jm77, Senior Member on 28th February 2012, 09:36 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
21st March 2012, 05:47 PM |#31  
ztotherad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Illinois
Thanks Meter: 636
 
More
Is there anyway someone can do this in Linux (Ubuntu) instead of windows? I'm running Ubuntu on my computer. Is there a simple how to for linux users?
22nd March 2012, 06:40 AM |#32  
Senior Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Pure legend
23rd March 2012, 03:56 AM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotShotAzn

I know this thread is a few days old but I am having the same issue as above. I do not have androidboot.serialno in the dmesg file.

I got this same problem.... I've tried it multiple times and I cannot find the line in the outputed file... any help?
24th March 2012, 04:24 AM |#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,157
 
More
I've been trying to boot into bootloader but all I get is a blank screen.

When I try booting it by holding vol-down+power I get the following:

Booting recovery kernel image
Recovery verified failed ...


Does anyone know what might be causing this?

Thanks a lot.

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:49 PM ----------

Never mind. Got everything working following the instructions here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=44

26th March 2012, 02:00 PM |#35  
giancaleone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nucleotide

I've been trying to boot into bootloader but all I get is a blank screen.

When I try booting it by holding vol-down+power I get the following:

Booting recovery kernel image
Recovery verified failed ...


Does anyone know what might be causing this?

Thanks a lot.

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:49 PM ----------

Never mind. Got everything working following the instructions here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=44

Which recovery have you installed?
Have you a ICS bootloader or HC Bootloader?

Try this:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1522384
by APXmode
27th March 2012, 03:56 AM |#36  
Junior Member
Flag Bellevue, WA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I get to the press any key when tablet is in download mode step and my tablet never goes to download mode. It stays black screen and the power button illuminated. nvflash shows me this:

************************************************** ********
* Press any key when your A500 is in bootloader mode *
************************************************** ********
Press any key to continue . . .
Flashing patched bootloader V2...
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Flashing Thor Recovery 1.7...
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Exiting APX mode...
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
************************************************** ******
* Hold the power button on your A500 to power off, *
* then turn it back on normally *
************************************************** ******
Press any key to exit...
Press any key to continue . . .

Can't unlock bootloader using fastboot, can't seem to get nvflash to go. Help!
The Following User Says Thank You to endrsothershadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift endrsothershadow Ad-Free
28th March 2012, 07:16 AM |#37  
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Hi guys,

I would like to know why I can't find my CPUID on the DMESG.TXT file

Open up dmesg.txt and look for androidboot.serialno. That is your CPUID. In my case, the serial number reported by the OS, on the box, in the MicroSD slot was NOT my cpuid.

nope... no serialno inside this file.

but when I check the devices information the SNID match with the sticker... is that mean if i add 0x0............. it's my CPUID ?
28th March 2012, 03:45 PM |#38  
Euclid's Brother's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas, TX
Thanks Meter: 262
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanaell

Hi guys,

I would like to know why I can't find my CPUID on the DMESG.TXT file

Open up dmesg.txt and look for androidboot.serialno. That is your CPUID. In my case, the serial number reported by the OS, on the box, in the MicroSD slot was NOT my cpuid.

nope... no serialno inside this file.

but when I check the devices information the SNID match with the sticker... is that mean if i add 0x0............. it's my CPUID ?

No.. Your UID is an 8 byte hex number.

Which bootloader do you have installed?

if you have the old HC3.01 bootloader and you have an HC rom installed, just do a nandroid backup using Thor's recovery (can be an advanced backup of just boot) and it will create a UID.txt file

if you have the old bootloader and you have an ICS rom, make a full nandroid backup, install an HC rom and then do as i said before. Then you can restore you full nandroid backup.

if you have the new bootloader and ISC rom, then I think it should be in that dmesg text.
The Following User Says Thank You to Euclid's Brother For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Euclid's Brother Ad-Free
28th March 2012, 03:55 PM |#39  
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
I had to wipe out my tablet, and reset to factory to get the serialno...


seems my dmesg was truncated....

the bootloader was the stock one.


note:
I figured how install the bootloader and the rest after getting the serialno, that was a question of trigger on the nvflash... a missing -w on the first command seems my tablet is little bit boring with the usb

Thanks for your answer euclid anyway.

---------- Post added at 09:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:50 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by endrsothershadow

I get to the press any key when tablet is in download mode step and my tablet never goes to download mode. It stays black screen and the power button illuminated. nvflash shows me this:

************************************************** ********
* Press any key when your A500 is in bootloader mode *
************************************************** ********
Press any key to continue . . .
Flashing patched bootloader V2...
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Flashing Thor Recovery 1.7...
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
Exiting APX mode...
Nvflash started
[resume mode]
connection failed NvError 0x30011
************************************************** ******
* Hold the power button on your A500 to power off, *
* then turn it back on normally *
************************************************** ******
Press any key to exit...
Press any key to continue . . .

Can't unlock bootloader using fastboot, can't seem to get nvflash to go. Help!

I got the same problem here the solution that took me couple of search...
Be sure to have the VACHE Acer A500 bct etc... as well sorry can t remember where I downloaded it.

first. let your tablet aside.

edit the RUN.BAT file you got
and replace
Code:
nvflash --bct bct.bct --setbct --bl bootloader.bin --configfile flash.cfg --odmdata 0x300d8011 --sbk %MYSBK% --sync
by
Code:
nvflash -w --bct bct.bct --setbct --bl bootloader.bin --configfile flash.cfg --odmdata 0x300d8011 --sbk %MYSBK% --sync
the -w will wait until the USB mode APX is detected and will continue

save and lauch it,

type your SBK when asked
then start your tablet in APX mode (keep reset pushed, press power on and keep your finger on it 5s, then remove it, and stop pressing the reset button)
Black screen (if you are under windows you should check if the device is APX or not here... )
now, because your device is APX mode, you can continue the RUN.BAT by pressing enter...
and follow the instruction...

and that should be ok
if you want see what happen,
just edit the RUN.BAT and remove all the CLS lines

reboot your tablet when finished
wait all is booted
then.... continue what you wanna do

beware, you need to wipe your tablet when you install new ROM...
18th April 2012, 07:34 PM |#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 274
 
More
Thank you,
I had tried other methods and just could not get boot menu back. With update coming next week from acer I didn't know if this was going to be a problem.
Thanks again,
Woody
PS two min. after getting bootloader back, I was off looking for some new way to get me in trouble. go figure
21st April 2012, 02:32 PM |#41  
strongergravity's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Earth...for now...
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Cautionary Tale:
Where step 1 of these instructions says "Install the A500 drivers from Acer on PC (from Acer's site)"...do so. I already had working ADB, and I could get into bootloader mode, but I spent a couple of hours last night banging my head against the wall trying to get into APX mode to no avail. This morning I downloaded & installed the driver package from Acer & the whole thing went through in a matter of minutes.

I've been rooting & roming for a couple of years now, but there is no replacement for reading and following instructions.

In a word - facepalm!

Thanks to JM77, Strra, Vache and company.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes