FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[DEV] BACKTRACK 5 on Xperia X10 chroot

687 posts
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Post Reply Email Thread
4th February 2012, 05:40 AM |#291  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
how to do this step???
extract using first file and you will get following files
bt
bt.img
startbt
stopbt
installbt.sh

---------- Post added at 05:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackmok

how to do this step???
extract using first file and you will get following files
bt
bt.img
startbt
stopbt
installbt.sh

i need to use which software to extract???

---------- Post added at 05:40 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:08 AM ----------

why my file only 500mb but othr person 3.x gb= =
4th February 2012, 10:12 AM |#292  
DiabloBasic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lugano
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackmok

how to do this step???
extract using first file and you will get following files
bt
bt.img
startbt
stopbt
installbt.sh

---------- Post added at 05:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 AM ----------



i need to use which software to extract???

---------- Post added at 05:40 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:08 AM ----------

why my file only 500mb but othr person 3.x gb= =

Hi man, for me work all wich mod CM7 FXP, you need extract parts (3 parts) wich 7zip and in auto create one dir name "bt" and this dir you need copy and paste in your sd cart root. If you need more help im here.

Sorry for my bad english, im italian

greetings

Joseph
10th February 2012, 03:59 PM |#293  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Question CM7 ??
Hi
I have an issue with my terminal. i c'ant copy "startbt", "stopbt" and "bt" files with installbt.sh
If i put them in system/bin folder, when i launche "startbt" in my terminal i have "permission denied"...WTF ??
I'm using FXP CM 7.2 106
16th February 2012, 01:37 PM |#294  
Junior Member
Flag xanthi
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by benben972

Hi
I have an issue with my terminal. i c'ant copy "startbt", "stopbt" and "bt" files with installbt.sh
If i put them in system/bin folder, when i launche "startbt" in my terminal i have "permission denied"...WTF ??
I'm using FXP CM 7.2 106

maby system partition is write-protected. you can still copy them in the sd, boot in recovery, mount sd and system , and then you could have the job done via adb thats what i did. I asume you have granted superuser permission by typing 'su' before typing any command.
16th February 2012, 06:21 PM |#295  
Denie46's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Radomir
Thanks Meter: 624
 
More
Hi, I have a few questions that may seem stupid, but I'm a noob into this thread, so please forgive me
1. is this a full-functioning Linux distribution?
2. can i install apk files and if not where I can find apps that run on Backtrack?
3. lastly, does it lag like some of the ROM's?
I'm really, really interested into this development so I'd be thankful if you answer my questions.
thanks!
9th April 2012, 02:11 AM |#296  
a_rocklobster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
Donate to Me
More
This is really cool and it is working well on my samsung sgh i727 (skyrocket).

I followed the instructions and everything worked perfectly.


Quote:

Monitor mode is not supported by android devices yet

I'm just wondering if this will work with my phone (i know its not an x10 but i thought you might know)

I was also wondering how exactly I might access this from my computer.
I saw someone said all i need is the IP and password but I had a problem with it.
9th April 2012, 08:35 AM |#297  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denie46

Hi, I have a few questions that may seem stupid, but I'm a noob into this thread, so please forgive me
1. is this a full-functioning Linux distribution?
2. can i install apk files and if not where I can find apps that run on Backtrack?
3. lastly, does it lag like some of the ROM's?
I'm really, really interested into this development so I'd be thankful if you answer my questions.
thanks!

1) Yes its a fully functioning GNU/Linux disribution.
2) its linux and not android so any linux binary works. (should be arm compatible and not x86)
3) it will show slow response as its running in a chrooted environment alongside android so yes performance will be impacted.


Quote:
Originally Posted by a_rocklobster

This is really cool and it is working well on my samsung sgh i727 (skyrocket).

I followed the instructions and everything worked perfectly.

I'm just wondering if this will work with my phone (i know its not an x10 but i thought you might know)

I was also wondering how exactly I might access this from my computer.
I saw someone said all i need is the IP and password but I had a problem with it.

I have not seen monitor mode working on anything except G1 on android device.

to access gui on system.
you will need to connect phone in adb mode
then run following set of commands
adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5900
adb forward tcp:5901 tcp:5901
vncviewer localhost:5901

use password as listed above.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to anantshri For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift anantshri Ad-Free
12th April 2012, 07:29 AM |#298  
a_rocklobster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anantshri

to access gui on system.
you will need to connect phone in adb mode
then run following set of commands
adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5901
vncviewer localhost:5901

use password as listed above.

Hi again.
I ran 'adb forward tcp:5900'
'adb forward tcp:5901'
and 'vncviewer localhost:5901'

i ran the first 2 separately because when i ran that line as you wrote it i got the error "cannot bind socket"
when i ran the first 2 commands it the adb help came up as if i ran the command: 'adb'.

then when i ran 'vncviewer localhost:5901' it said:

C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>vncviewer localhost:5901
'vncviewer' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

I'm using windows and I'm not sure what vnc software i should use
tightvnc and vnc viewer dont have the same fields as the viewer for android; i cannot even enter a password.

this info would be much appreciated.
Thanks
12th April 2012, 11:25 AM |#299  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_rocklobster

Hi again.
I ran 'adb forward tcp:5900'
'adb forward tcp:5901'
and 'vncviewer localhost:5901'

i ran the first 2 separately because when i ran that line as you wrote it i got the error "cannot bind socket"
when i ran the first 2 commands it the adb help came up as if i ran the command: 'adb'.

then when i ran 'vncviewer localhost:5901' it said:

C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>vncviewer localhost:5901
'vncviewer' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

I'm using windows and I'm not sure what vnc software i should use
tightvnc and vnc viewer dont have the same fields as the viewer for android; i cannot even enter a password.

this info would be much appreciated.
Thanks

Ohk my bad command should be
adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5900
adb forward tcp:5901 tcp:5901
then try the vnc command
13th April 2012, 04:33 AM |#300  
a_rocklobster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anantshri

Ohk my bad command should be
adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5900
adb forward tcp:5901 tcp:5901
then try the vnc command

I'm sorry but I'm still not understanding

C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5900
error: cannot bind socket

I did the same thing with port5901 and it worked

I'm still not understanding the vnc command. i just opened vnc viewer. i was getting an error over and over again but then i entered 'ui' on the phone and i got prompted to enter the password.

I finally got it working the right way
Thanks very much. I'm going to try installing some more backtrack tools now.
13th April 2012, 11:43 AM |#301  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 321
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_rocklobster

I'm sorry but I'm still not understanding

C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5900
error: cannot bind socket

I did the same thing with port5901 and it worked

I'm still not understanding the vnc command. i just opened vnc viewer. i was getting an error over and over again but then i entered 'ui' on the phone and i got prompted to enter the password.

I finally got it working the right way
Thanks very much. I'm going to try installing some more backtrack tools now.

oh forgot to mention inside bt ui command must be fired first to get this working.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
backtrack, bt5, chroot

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes