FORUMS

Windows Media Player Resume-Plugin (Version 1.2.1 09/25/08)

105 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By Wolfman-XP, Senior Member on 30th July 2008, 02:00 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello,
for everyone who is interested in: i have developed a resume-plugin for the windows media player. Just install the .cab and everytime you press pause on the MediaPlayer it will save the playlist and the position. Afte you exit the player or the device resets it will resume at the same position.
Perhaps someone find it useful in combination with audio-books.
Have fun,
greets,
Thomas

P.S: The plugin is for the MOBILE Windows Media Player, that means it is for devices with the Windows Mobile OS! (For those who come direct from google to this PDA-Forum..:)

UPDATE 1.1:
-now it is not necessary (written correct..? :) to press "pause". Every 20 sec a resume list is written.

UPDATE 1.2:
-New Config-Tool for setting the Save-Interval and an option for asking to resume on startup.
-The save-interval is the time for automatic save in Milliseconds
-please de-install the previous version before installing the new!

UPDATE 1.2.1:
-the PopUp for resuming is bound to the mediaplayer so you can use the library startoption.
You have to close the library to see the PopUp.
Have Fun!
Attached Files
File Type: cab ResumePlugin1.1.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (181.1 KB, 4819 views)
File Type: cab ResumePlugin1.2.1.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (360.9 KB, 6478 views)
30th July 2008, 02:22 PM |#2  
starbase64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,694
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Hi,

your cab installs the "ResumePlugin2.dll" on "\Program Files\ResumePlugin", without reg entries or Links.

how will this work?

wfg

starbase64
31st July 2008, 06:22 AM |#3  
Wolfman-XP's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by starbase64

Hi,

your cab installs the "ResumePlugin2.dll" on "\Program Files\ResumePlugin", without reg entries or Links.

how will this work?

wfg

starbase64

It is a self-register com-component. On install the installer calls the self-register function of the .dll, it registers itsself as WMP Plugin and makes the reg-entries in \hklm\software\microsoft\mediaplayer\uiplugins. After that, the plugin works.
Greet,
Thomas
31st July 2008, 06:26 AM |#4  
Hazz-Prophet's Avatar
Member
BCN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Really very useful plug in.
Thanks a lot for this app.
31st July 2008, 07:23 AM |#5  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfman-XP

Hello,
for everyone who is interested in: i have developed a resume-plugin for the windows media player. Just install the .cab and everytime you press pause on the MediaPlayer it will save the playlist and the position. Afte you exit the player or the device resets it will resume at the same position.
Perhaps someone find it useful in combination with audio-books.
Have fun,
greets,
Thomas

Wowz! You're a star! I check it ASAP.
31st July 2008, 07:46 AM |#6  
krishan2207's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Thanks! i m going to try.
31st July 2008, 08:38 AM |#7  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Works great on all my WM5+ test devices (PPC and SP alike), except for the HP iPAQ 210.
31st July 2008, 08:54 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
thank you. this is working great for me as well. it is standard on every other media player except wm...
side note: s2p has this standard and seems to use less resources then wm.

thanks again for this very handy hack. I will pass this along as well.
31st July 2008, 09:32 AM |#9  
YoLoLo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Just near Disneyland Paris
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfman-XP

Hello,
for everyone who is interested in: i have developed a resume-plugin for the windows media player. Just install the .cab and everytime you press pause on the MediaPlayer it will save the playlist and the position. Afte you exit the player or the device resets it will resume at the same position.
Perhaps someone find it useful in combination with audio-books.
Have fun,
greets,
Thomas

Another thing that Windows have forgotten !
Thanks for making WMP better !

PS : It was one of the reasons that make me install S2P... I was obliged to select again and again the playlist...
31st July 2008, 09:48 AM |#10  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=2469301
31st July 2008, 09:49 AM |#11  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tadevinney

s2p seems to use less resources then wm.

No it doesn't. Read my related review.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes