FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Tcpmp Mod With GoForce 5500 Hardware Decoder (alpha 1)

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By zhzcy, Junior Member on 26th September 2008, 02:52 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Say hello to this new TCPMP mod

It has:
1. Hardware MPEG4 decoder, resolution up to 720*576, bitrate up to 1mbps
2. File container support: AVI, MP4 and MKV (not tested)
3. Hardware overlay accelerated output.
4. Works on G900/X01T/FLAME

How to use:
1. Settings->Video->Choose "GoForce 5500"
2. All smooth, dither and video quality options are useless since all process is done inside GPU.

READ BEFORE USE:
1. Videos with resolution larger than 720 * 576 can't decode properly (this is caused by hardware limit)
2. Videos with MPEG4 profile > Sample Level 3 will need extra GPU processing power and may not be able to decode properly.
3. If you want to use TCPMP after you have ran CorePlayer with overlay mode, please do a softreset first, otherwise there'll be artifacts on video image and system may hung. this is caused by code defect in nv ddraw driver.
4. *Important* Please do not power off / enter stand by mode when playing with TCPMP, otherwise the system will become sleepbeauty

Issues and tips:
1. GF5500 hardware decoder has 2 modes. 1st is DSP mode, entire decoding job is done by DSP embedded in GPU in this mode. This mode saves CPU processing power and battery, but it's a little slower. 2nd is CPU mode, CPU will share the load in this mode. This mode requires more CPU processing power but it's faster than mode1.
You can always switching between the 2 modes by:HKLM/Software/NVIDIA Corporation/GFSDK/GFSDK_MP4_DEC_USE_DSP. Set 1 will use DSP mode, set 2 will use CPU mode.

2. After some benchmark, I've found that hw decoder can't offer better performance than sw decoder, however, a big advantage is hw decoder saves your battery life.

---

Develop plan:
Currently I'm working on a generic driver for GF5500 which is able to accelerate all SW decoders for TCPMP, which will have the best performane.
if anybody instrests in this research and wants to help, please contact me via eoc1985@gmail.com
-----------------
http://myg900.com/index.php?showtopic=1180&st=0
Attached Files
File Type: zip TCPMP.zip - [Click for QR Code] (809.2 KB, 1070 views)
 
 
26th September 2008, 06:19 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Jpeg .mov files
I am using an old version of TCPMP and it works with my Files above with
ATI IMAGEON(very slowly on my ameo) . Now your new version dosn`t have this driver. Your version seems to be very quick. Is there a way to see my files with this quicker version of tcpmp
26th September 2008, 07:47 PM |#3  
kwill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
i took the zip and just copied over my current tcpmp configuration, but i dont see the goforce option under video. am i missing something? i only copied over the files as i flashvideobundle associated to the appropriate folder and still want to use it. thanks for the update to tcpmp by the way.
26th September 2008, 08:07 PM |#4  
Piotr1225's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Great news for all Toshiba G900 and XDA Flame users
26th September 2008, 08:30 PM |#5  
JstarLuvsTina's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwill

i took the zip and just copied over my current tcpmp configuration, but i dont see the goforce option under video. am i missing something? i only copied over the files as i flashvideobundle associated to the appropriate folder and still want to use it. thanks for the update to tcpmp by the way.

exactly!

i didnt see "goforce" either.

so is there something we're missing..oh better yet..how about install instructions, it seems like its a 2 - 3 step process at the most.
4th October 2008, 06:20 AM |#6  
xeirwn's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Exclamation
Hey guys! This is ONLY for devices with Nvidia Goforce 5500 GPU !!
What's more, it doesnt work on WM5 (like the official Xda Flame ROM)...

Anyway its a great start and congratulations to the developer
4th October 2008, 04:57 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Wow! Great work!
Good!

this is great work!

i feel the better performance than cpu only mode.

now g900 can play the movie! ^_^
14th October 2008, 01:17 PM |#8  
tn9's Avatar
Member
Flag Poznań
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Thanks guys I will check this on my I-mate 8150
17th October 2008, 06:53 PM |#9  
xeirwn's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Exclamation
there's a new alpha release (Alpha 3 Fix2) with many improvements!!

check it out here:
http://www.portegeclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1677
4th March 2009, 05:50 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Has anyone been using this extensively?
I downloaded it and it seems to support more codecs than coreplayer 1.3...
4th March 2009, 07:09 AM |#11  
Sian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Tried it on my THD.. emm.. one of the video (WVGA) encoded using MP4forHD play pretty smoothly tho' at a lower resolution, while the other 3 video can't be played as the movie is 'dragging its feet' or jumping frame. But the quality of the old QGVA video seems to be displaying pretty nicely tho'.. or just my wrong impression?? :P
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes