[ROOT] <Generic topic about verified root exploit>

Search This thread

jcase

Retired Forum Mod / Senior Recognized Developer
Feb 20, 2010
6,308
15,761
Raleigh NC
Sparkym3 released an automated tool for this, please see here http://xdaforums.com/showpost.php?p=31730134&postcount=1

Please DO NOT donate to nor credit me me for this matter, this was not my find, we just tried an existing exploit on the device.

Dear bloggers, source this when copying:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09/17/amazon-kindle-fire-hd-7-already-rooted-heres-how-to-do-it/

Amazon failed to fix the bug sparkym3 (http://xdaforums.com/member.php?u=4411543) found in ICS, whoops.

http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn.com/superuser/Superuser-3.1.3-arm-signed.zip
unzip the zip, get su from /system/bin/ and Superuser.apk from /system/app/ and put them in your current directory

adb shell
rm -r /data/local/tmp
ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
exit

adb reboot

adb shell
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb install Superuser.apk
 
Last edited:

jayper

Member
Sep 17, 2012
9
1
SWEET!

Please DO NOT donate to nor credit me me for this matter, this was not my find, we just tried an existing exploit on the device.

Dear bloggers, source this when copying:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09/17/amazon-kindle-fire-hd-7-already-rooted-heres-how-to-do-it/

Amazon failed to fix the bug sparkym3 (http://xdaforums.com/member.php?u=4411543) found in ICS, whoops.

http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn.com/superuser/Superuser-3.1.3-arm-signed.zip
unzip the zip, get su from /system/bin/ and Superuser.apk from /system/app/ and put them in your current directory

adb shell
rm /data/local/tmp
ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
exit

adb reboot

adb shell
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb install Superuser.apk

This is really exciting news! Been hoping for some good news on this front! Just got my new Fire over the weekend. Looking forward to getting the play store working.

Was there a way with the old fires to block Amazon's automatic updates?
 

ncvikingx97

Senior Member
Jan 2, 2012
751
48
Jcase , you love these kindles don't you:). Thanks for helping us out

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
 

Zagzagel

Senior Member
Aug 29, 2010
73
37
how do i get my kindle to be recognized when i type "adb shell" in the command line? I enabled adb in the security settings

If you have the SDK installed and you get "error: device not found" you need to do the following steps. This worked for me.

Navigate to the [your user name]/.android folder. It is under C:\Users

Edit the adb_usb.ini file, adding the following line of code at the end:

0×1949

Close and save that file.

Now find the folder where your SDK is installed, and open the usb_driver folder. In that folder, find the file android_winusb.inf and add the following code to both the [Google.NTx86] and [Google.NTamd64] sections:

;Kindle Fire
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006&MI_01

Reboot and then run adb shell again. It should recognize your device.
 

pbailey212

Senior Member
Apr 12, 2011
870
308
Jcase is the android locksmith. Just about every device I have seen he has atleast helped unlock. Now if a working recovery can get made, I can see my self getting one of these puppies down the road.

sent from my Nokia 5110 using t9
 

padest.com

Senior Member
Sep 12, 2012
84
9
Please DO NOT donate to nor credit me me for this matter, this was not my find, we just tried an existing exploit on the device.

Dear bloggers, source this when copying:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09/17/amazon-kindle-fire-hd-7-already-rooted-heres-how-to-do-it/

Amazon failed to fix the bug sparkym3 (http://xdaforums.com/member.php?u=4411543) found in ICS, whoops.

http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn.com/superuser/Superuser-3.1.3-arm-signed.zip
unzip the zip, get su from /system/bin/ and Superuser.apk from /system/app/ and put them in your current directory

adb shell
rm /data/local/tmp
ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
exit

adb reboot

adb shell
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb install Superuser.apk

Thanks for your sharing!
Thanks Cameron Summerson!
 

BELASCO

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2012
381
85
H-Town, Texas
Qemu automated root problem

Kindle Fire HD 7.2.1 using the Qemu auto - thing keeps stalling at step 3 "looking for access"

The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

It's leaving me an unstable device that requires a factory reset to operate. Any insight would be appreciated.
 

scs1man

New member
May 11, 2010
2
1
Kindle Fire HD 7.2.1 using the Qemu auto - thing keeps stalling at step 3 "looking for access"

The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

It's leaving me an unstable device that requires a factory reset to operate. Any insight would be appreciated.


Mine did the same, simply ignore it..
CTRL c

to stop
restart the script and start with step 4 --> it will stall again but will work..

Scsi
 
  • Like
Reactions: BELASCO

VbSin

Member
Dec 5, 2012
6
0
7.2.2

So my system updated to 7.2.2 - darn!

So what's the current status...

- Google Chrome, Play store and frameworks still present - and working.

- ES Explorer is not able to enable Root Explorer, so root obviously shorted.

- The Superuser app remains, but is useless without the 'su' file.

- GoLauncher was completely removed.

- The Qemu exploit is not working. Gives error on cmd line: echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop

Hope everyone still on 7.2.1 puts up their firewalls. And :angel: praying that our developer legends work something out on what Amazon did to lock 7.2.2.
 

Imenak

Member
Jan 24, 2011
16
3
Also, an additional warning about the 7.2.2 update... I don't know if this happened to anyone else, but I had the Swype Beta installed on my rooted KFHD. The new update also came with Swype, and for some reason, instead of overwriting mine, there's this bizarre conflict with the two. When attempting to type, Swype tells me have an incorrect license, and refuses to work and tells me to redownload the beta. On top of that, attempts at removal or reinstallation are impossible since I no longer have root (Swype is in the system/apps directory).

Just about everything else works (minus apps needing root), including Nova Launcher Prime. I still can't type though. Yay Amazon.
 

jacewt

Senior Member
Mar 7, 2009
354
82
Los Angeles
I had Swype too, but I used nook tools to choose the Amazon keyboard and it works fine.

Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2
 

nora_noob

Member
Nov 18, 2012
20
4
Milan
No root yet for 7.2.2

someonhe has sucessfuly rooted a 7.2.2 version?

I tried and tried, but no success. With the automatic procedure I get always the same error ( screenshot attached) and it sends me to NOROOT-

Going to try the cmd one, let's hope!
 

Attachments

  • Capture1.PNG
    Capture1.PNG
    43.7 KB · Views: 253

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 16
    Sparkym3 released an automated tool for this, please see here http://xdaforums.com/showpost.php?p=31730134&postcount=1

    Please DO NOT donate to nor credit me me for this matter, this was not my find, we just tried an existing exploit on the device.

    Dear bloggers, source this when copying:
    http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09/17/amazon-kindle-fire-hd-7-already-rooted-heres-how-to-do-it/

    Amazon failed to fix the bug sparkym3 (http://xdaforums.com/member.php?u=4411543) found in ICS, whoops.

    http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn.com/superuser/Superuser-3.1.3-arm-signed.zip
    unzip the zip, get su from /system/bin/ and Superuser.apk from /system/app/ and put them in your current directory

    adb shell
    rm -r /data/local/tmp
    ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
    exit

    adb reboot

    adb shell
    echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
    exit

    adb reboot

    adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
    adb push su /system/xbin/su
    adb shell
    chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
    chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
    rm /data/local.prop
    exit

    adb reboot

    adb install Superuser.apk
    2
    As always thanks for your work man!!

    Not my work, thank sparkym3. We just went testing older exploits before releasing a new one, and this worked.
    2
    how do i get my kindle to be recognized when i type "adb shell" in the command line? I enabled adb in the security settings

    If you have the SDK installed and you get "error: device not found" you need to do the following steps. This worked for me.

    Navigate to the [your user name]/.android folder. It is under C:\Users

    Edit the adb_usb.ini file, adding the following line of code at the end:

    0×1949

    Close and save that file.

    Now find the folder where your SDK is installed, and open the usb_driver folder. In that folder, find the file android_winusb.inf and add the following code to both the [Google.NTx86] and [Google.NTamd64] sections:

    ;Kindle Fire
    %SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006
    %CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006&MI_01

    Reboot and then run adb shell again. It should recognize your device.
    1
    Kindle Fire HD 7.2.1 using the Qemu auto - thing keeps stalling at step 3 "looking for access"

    The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

    It's leaving me an unstable device that requires a factory reset to operate. Any insight would be appreciated.


    Mine did the same, simply ignore it..
    CTRL c

    to stop
    restart the script and start with step 4 --> it will stall again but will work..

    Scsi
    1
    someonhe has sucessfuly rooted a 7.2.2 version?