FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP] swapsd beta: Samsung

3,112 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,407
 
By jocala, Senior Member on 7th July 2012, 07:04 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
25th September 2012, 12:26 PM |#51  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
How to make swap work on KEMIUI rom
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngoutham

Thanks for your reply,
It worked for me by changing settings and reflashing CM9, Thank you


Today I installed KEMIUI ROM, As per the developer it was developed based on CM9.
As swap can be done on CM9, i tried to do the same on this ROM, but I am unsuccessful.

I tired to edit vold.fstab using different file managers and terminal also, but no luck, says file is readonly.

Can anyone help me on this.

Thanks.
25th September 2012, 05:25 PM |#52  
jocala's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 2,407
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngoutham

Today I installed KEMIUI ROM, As per the developer it was developed based on CM9.
As swap can be done on CM9, i tried to do the same on this ROM, but I am unsuccessful.

I tired to edit vold.fstab using different file managers and terminal also, but no luck, says file is readonly.

Can anyone help me on this.

Thanks.

You are in the exact same situation you were in yesterday. Reflash and don't use this app on anything but stock roms!
The Following User Says Thank You to jocala For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jocala Ad-Free
28th September 2012, 07:20 AM |#53  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocala

You are in the exact same situation you were in yesterday. Reflash and don't use this app on anything but stock roms!

Thank you dude for your reply,

That only I tried to say in my previous post....

1) I did not used this app on this ROM.

2) I did not find setting on this ROM to change between memory card.

On ROM development thread one of the member suggested to change vold.fstab file to swap memory..... Did the same and when rebooted.... same rebooting loop happening.

Then I re flashed the ROM.... vold.fsatb changed to default because of reflashing...

However Now I am gud with CM9 ROM by Jocala.

Once again thanks for your previous help and fast reply to all my doubts.
1st October 2012, 11:01 AM |#54  
andu86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
hi , i have used this app on my s5830 with android 2.3.5 and now my phone doesnt read any sd card that i insert ,i tried to revert it back to default but nothing happend it says that i dont have an sd card inserted , what can i do in this situation ? im thinking about resofting the phone and install cm9 but for this operation i need the sd card, can u please help me
The Following User Says Thank You to andu86 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift andu86 Ad-Free
1st October 2012, 11:44 AM |#55  
phillybizzle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brew City, WI, 414
Thanks Meter: 12
 
Donate to Me
More
Any word if it is workable on a Galaxy Tab 2 7in?
1st October 2012, 11:57 AM |#56  
YOSEFE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 117
 
Donate to Me
More
+1=10 characters.
1st October 2012, 04:19 PM |#57  
jocala's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 2,407
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andu86

hi , i have used this app on my s5830 with android 2.3.5 and now my phone doesnt read any sd card that i insert ,i tried to revert it back to default but nothing happend it says that i dont have an sd card inserted , what can i do in this situation ? im thinking about resofting the phone and install cm9 but for this operation i need the sd card, can u please help me

From the OP:
Quote:

Tested by me on the Samsung Galaxy Exhibit only. (I'm told it works on the Galaxy W). If your device's /system/etc/vold.fstab file matches the attached original Galaxy Exhibit fstab file, it may work for you as well.

Since you're not using those devices, you need to carefully examine your /etc/vold.fstab file and make sure it matches the fstab file attached to the OP. To recover, if you're comfortable with adb, do:
Quote:

adb remount
adb shell
cp /system/etc/vold.fstab.backup /system/etc/vold.fstab
exit
adb reboot

If you're not proficient using a command line, you'll probably need to reflash.
1st October 2012, 04:20 PM |#58  
jocala's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 2,407
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillybizzle

Any word if it is workable on a Galaxy Tab 2 7in?

Untested by me, assume no.
2nd October 2012, 02:16 AM |#59  
chleoj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Olongapo City
Thanks Meter: 63
 
Donate to Me
More
@OP

I attached my vold.fstab from HTC Sensation XE, would it be compatible with this useful app?

Thanks & Regards...
Attached Files
File Type: txt vold.txt - [Click for QR Code] (712 Bytes, 29 views)
2nd October 2012, 02:22 AM |#60  
jocala's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 2,407
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chleoj

@OP

I attached my vold.fstab from HTC Sensation XE, would it be compatible with this useful app?

Thanks & Regards...

Sorry, no.
The Following User Says Thank You to jocala For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jocala Ad-Free
2nd October 2012, 03:29 AM |#61  
chleoj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Olongapo City
Thanks Meter: 63
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocala

Sorry, no.

thanks anyway...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes