FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[REF][TUT] UPX Squeezer BATCH --> Improve program launch times

27 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By ndda, Junior Member on 16th March 2009, 01:18 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Going through some posts in the blackstone forum I discovered an interesting thread by Sir.B...

He talked about an old trick used for older devices to fit WM6 onto them with the side effect that load times of applications is much faster and tried this on his Blackstone.

I just gave it a try and it's impressive. So far I only tried it on HTC Album and Navigon Mobile Navigator 7:

HTC Album now loads in about 1 sec (previously about 4-5 sec)
Navigon MN 7 loads in about 2 sec (previously about 6-9 sec)

Seems to work flawless on any WM Device ;)

I'm loving it!!!

Many thanks to Sir.B and everyone else at XDA-DEV!

I attached version 1.1 (which worked fine for me); 1.0 can be found on the original post.

Here's the quote and the link to the original post...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir.B

this is an old trick that was/is used for older devices to fit WinMo 6 on them
but a side effect is faster application load times

i figured i'd try it on the Blackstone and difference is noticeable
HTCAlbum loads in about 1 Second, before it took about 4
so i'm sharing this with anyone who is interested

The batch file is kept as simple as possible for everyone's ease of use
but this is pretty advanced tweaking, so all common warnings apply
and/or
if you are not comfortable with getting files from/to your PocketPC
and/or
can't figure out how to extract this zip and read the "read me.txt"
and/or
don't know what “any key” is DO NOT TRY THIS!
(read the forum and the wiki a bit more, and you'll gain the knowledge)


Version History:
v 1.0 - initial release
v 1.1 - no icon compression switch added to the batch, for more general compatability

to get you started
a short list of EXEs that i have UPXed and work well for me

AdobeReaderLE.exe
ASyncKiller.exe
BCR.exe
Camera.exe
FMRadio.exe
GoogleMaps.exe
HTCAlbum.exe
iContact.exe
KeePassPPC.exe
kinoma.exe
Labyrinth.exe
LongPressEndKeyApp.exe
MP3Trimmer.exe
MusicID.exe
Opera9.exe
OperaL.exe
QuickGPS.exe
RSSHub.exe
s2p.exe
s2u2 Settings.exe
s2v.exe
StreamingPlayer.exe
TomTom Navigator.exe
USBtoPC.exe
WMRegOptimizer.exe
YotaCenter.exe
YotaCenterUpdater.exe
YouTube.exe


and here is a list of things NOT to compress

manila.exe
cprog.exe
thumbCal.exe
calculator.exe
wt5jetpr.exe
any DLL

Please share your findings so that others can benefit from it
(SEARCH this thread for your application name or EXE filename)

note: you'll have to repeat this proses after upgrading your applications

thanks to;
edhaas - for the original simple to use batch file More info in this THREAD
UPX Team - a lot of technical info on the Website
kwbr - for a great ROM
and especially XDA-DEVELOPERS as a whole

LINK
Attached Files
File Type: zip Squeezer 1.1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (300.7 KB, 1057 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to ndda For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ndda Ad-Free
 
 
17th March 2009, 12:13 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Ioannina
Thanks Meter: 501
 
More
amazing!! It works! Thanks very much.
I tryed successful SecondToday.exe , iDialer.exe , Destinator.exe
17th March 2009, 02:22 PM |#3  
Giannis86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tilburg
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
this looks quite interesting..will try it with all my programs after i backup the exe files
17th March 2009, 04:37 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giannis86

this looks quite interesting..will try it with all my programs after i backup the exe files

It backs up the exes automatically. I did it on my device, Didn't notice any difference. Then again, it might be because my rom is already fast
17th March 2009, 06:54 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
List of EXEs that WORK / DON'T WORK
Quote:
Originally Posted by sosimple

amazing!! It works! Thanks very much.
I tryed successful SecondToday.exe , iDialer.exe , Destinator.exe

I guess we should start a list with Applications that work / don't work.

EXEs that WORK

AdobeReaderLE.exe
ASyncKiller.exe
BCR.exe
Camera.exe
Destinator.exe
FMRadio.exe
GoogleMaps.exe
HTCAlbum.exe
iContact.exe
iDialer.exe
KeePassPPC.exe
kinoma.exe
Labyrinth.exe
LongPressEndKeyApp.exe
MobileNavigator.exe (Navigon MN7)
MP3Trimmer.exe
MusicID.exe
Opera9.exe
OperaL.exe
QuickGPS.exe
RSSHub.exe
s2p.exe
s2u2 Settings.exe
s2v.exe
SecondToday.exe
StreamingPlayer.exe
TomTom Navigator.exe
USBtoPC.exe
WMRegOptimizer.exe
YotaCenter.exe
YotaCenterUpdater.exe
YouTube.exe

and here is a list of things NOT to compress

manila.exe
cprog.exe
thumbCal.exe
calculator.exe
wt5jetpr.exe
any DLL

...to be continued
17th March 2009, 09:10 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Ioannina
Thanks Meter: 501
 
More
I compressed with the above methode 105 .exe files of the windows folder (of a htc diamond). I compressed every exe file that i found in windows. I deleted all that had 0 kb file size as probably those files does not compressed corectly or something is wrong. So the exe files that left, was 105 exe files. I puted all those to windows folder ,overwriting the originals . I saved 15 Mb or more of space, the phone was extremely fast ,but cant run manila. I try to find which of the files must changed to the originals to run manila. I am sure it must be 2 or 3 files , but how can i find which 2-3 of the 105 files must be changed?
If i make it , i will give the full list of files that can be changed to earn max space and max speed
17th March 2009, 10:07 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Ioannina
Thanks Meter: 501
 
More
I compressed 104 files of windows folder without problem!
So i found the file that caused problem and manila didn't start. It was _mpman.exe By changing all the 104 others , no problem until now. I giving all the list with the 104 files of window folder of a diamond running manila 2.0.3 if anyone else want to try. Here is the list :
catalog.exe
CommManagerLink.exe
LaunchMSItem.exe
MobileCalculator.exe
tdsserver.exe
WelcomeCenter.exe
AdvancedConfig.exe
__cusTSKTEMP.exe
_mp07.exe
_mp08.exe
AdvancedNetwork.exe
AlbumSearcher.exe
ArcMC.exe
arinvalid.exe
AudioBooster.exe
AudioManager_Eng.exe
AutoAttribute.exe
AutoFormatMoviNAND.exe
AutoRun.exe
AutoShortcut.exe
Biotouch.exe
btdwake.exe
BTFtpClient.exe
btlauncher.exe
btrenamedir.exe
CheckAutoRun.exe
ClearStorage.exe
CommManager.exe
ConfigureDevice.exe
ConnectionSetup.exe
ConnectionSetupAuto.exe
DataDisconnect.exe
DeviceInfo.exe
EndKey.exe
EngInfo.exe
eT9MyWords.exe
FaxView.exe
felvop.exe
FieldTest.exe
FMRadio.exe
GAlarmWakeup.exe
HACSetting.exe
HTCMessage.exe
HTCStartUp.exe
HTCUSBToPCPopUp.exe
IA_Zip.exe
JBlend_AMS.exe
JBlend_VM.exe
KeyLock.exe
Labyrinth.exe
LongPressEndKeyApp.exe
ManilaActivateToday.exe
ManualFormatMoviNAND.exe
MicrophoneAGC.exe
MP3Trimmer.exe
NewMailAccount.exe
OneNoteMobile.exe
PhoneAgent.exe
PlayShow.exe
Powerexe.exe
PowerOffWarning.exe
ppt.exe
pword.exe
pxl.exe
QuickGPS.exe
Recorder.exe
Redial.exe
RegistryCSPTool.exe
remote.exe
RUpdate.exe
saplaywm.exe
SAPSettings.exe
sdpready.exe
SignatureReplace.exe
SIM_MGR.exe
SIMLock.exe
SIPGT_app.exe
startkey2.exe
StartUPBioTouch.exe
STK_UIPPC.exe
StopEvtSnd.exe
StorageLow.exe
StreamingPlayer.exe
TaskManagerApp.exe
TaskManagerLite.exe
TFSettings.exe
TmAppLauncher.exe
Transport.exe
USBtoPC.exe
VCDaemon.exe
VocabSetting.exe
VoiceCommander.exe
voicemail.exe
VTKey.exe
wcsan.exe
WLANSettings.exe
WLMImageUpdate.exe
WLMLauncher.exe
WLMMessenger.exe
WLMSetup.exe
WMADBG.exe
xT9Settings.exe
YouTube.exe
ZipView.exe
17th March 2009, 10:53 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This works really well on my Verizon TP, but when I did it on all the .exe's in the Windows directory, it messed up the HTC volume control program. I'm not sure which .exe it was but afterwards, when I hit the volume up/down hard keys, only the Windows volume pop-up would come up. I've had to do a hard reset to get it back.

I agree that a list of .exe's that it works well on would be really helpful.

My 2 cents
18th March 2009, 10:19 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi, I think it's a bit useless to do all exe files: If you compress a 16 Kb exe file to 12 Kb the loading time will not make a huge difference. Also, after two or three reads from the storage memory the program should actually be cached in memory assuming that you have made the cache performance tweaks. Furthermore this seems only sensible for exes that you use often; why would you want to do "ClearStorage.exe" which basically does the hard-reset from the control panel?

The big performance gain and space safe comes from large exe files that are cut to about 1/3 in size. Here it does make a huge difference. I am currently trying and running:
Opera9.exe and OperaL.exe << Edited after comments of PierreDiamond which is very right to leave the Pre alone.
Googlemaps.exe
HTCAlbum.exe
Camera.exe
HTC_GPStool.exe
TomTomNavigator.exe
ScummVM*.exe

The biggest effects were seen with Opera (6MB), Tomtom (7MB) and ScummVM (4.5 MB)(!!! : -) ). For Camera.exe and HTC_Album.exe I am not 100% confident that I am going to keep these. The speed gain is very little, and it does seem to affect the Manilla stability a little bit when more stuff is running. However I am not sure whether this is fully related to compressing the programs. So for now I am still trying.

Another thing I noticed is that it does not like exe programs which are still linking to outside files / sources such as 3.5 Net. An example of this is the Lightsaber program (Saber.exe).
18th March 2009, 03:38 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I tried with some prog (MP3Trimmer, Powerpoint, Opera, Acrobat Reader)

Works great! But NOT for Opera! Because there's a OperaPre which launch Opera after SoftReset while Boot... and it seems to be, that the driver for decompress needs much time to load and needs additional RAM when its needed while boot. I had a CPU consumption around 6 % more.

Also - never pack something which is started automatically after soft reset. The other programms like Acrobat Reader or Powerpoint - everthing's fine and are really a little bit faster to start and less need in main storage.

Thanks for this Tweak

Pierre
18th March 2009, 10:47 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlee83

This works really well on my Verizon TP, but when I did it on all the .exe's in the Windows directory, it messed up the HTC volume control program. I'm not sure which .exe it was but afterwards, when I hit the volume up/down hard keys, only the Windows volume pop-up would come up. I've had to do a hard reset to get it back.

Why did you do a hard reset? Squeezer makes a backup of the original file in the folder "2_Backup". Therefore you could just copy those back to the device.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes