FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

DROID RAZR HD Utility 1.10 [Windows]

2,298 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,490
 
By mattlgroff, Inactive Recognized Developer on 2nd November 2012, 10:44 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
30th December 2012, 01:13 AM |#121  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 367
 
More
Safe strap is used to flash ROMs. It has nothing to do with root itself but you need root to install it.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GoClifGo05 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift GoClifGo05 Ad-Free
30th December 2012, 07:35 PM |#122  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Hey,

I am thinking about rooting my VZW RAZR HD -- just want to make sure that I have the correct steps (taken from a previous post in this thread):

1.) Restore 4.0.4 if you need to.
2.) Go to settings - about phone - system updates, take the 6MB update.
3.) Root
4.) Install voodoo or just download from the market (i downloaded from the market)
5.) Open voodoo and protect root.
6.) Temp unroot
7.) Take JB OTA
8.) Open voodoo and restore root.

I notice some people talking about the need to update the su binaries -- do I just do that by downloading this APK?

Superuser APK Android Play Store

If so, where do I do that in the sequence listed above? I'm guessing it's between steps 3/4 -- is that right?

Thanks
30th December 2012, 07:49 PM |#123  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 367
 
More
The utility was updated to 1.10 so you no longer have to update the SU binary... those steps are correct.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
30th December 2012, 07:58 PM |#124  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
OK Thanks -- so do you need that APK from the play store at all?

I've had a rooted phone before and I recall that the APK just gives you some additional prompts/notifications about things that want su or have been using su -- is that still the correct assumption?

Thanks again
30th December 2012, 08:42 PM |#125  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 367
 
More
The SU apk? It will be installed automatically for you when you root.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
1st January 2013, 03:06 AM |#126  
Senior Member
Flag El Paso
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Can I return to ICS from OTA JB on my XT912 Razr MAXX using Droid utility?

Is not the HD
1st January 2013, 03:21 AM |#127  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 367
 
More
From what I understand no.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
1st January 2013, 03:47 AM |#128  
Senior Member
Flag El Paso
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoClifGo05

From what I understand no.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

I install the Jelly Bean OTA update but didnt do the root. Now I want to get back my RAZR to ICS but I dont know if I can do that or if is safe.
1st January 2013, 06:43 AM |#129  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 367
 
More
Yea, like I said I don't think you can anyway... youd probably have better luck in the RAZR section.. this section is specific to the HD.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
1st January 2013, 04:05 PM |#130  
Senior Member
Flag El Paso
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoClifGo05

Yea, like I said I don't think you can anyway... youd probably have better luck in the RAZR section.. this section is specific to the HD.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

Thanks I will
3rd January 2013, 01:51 PM |#131  
Senior Member
Flag Eindhoven
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
any chance of adding an unroot option?

i rooted my phone, almost right out of the box
i then got the update notification, so i started the update

it failed, and now my root is "not working" anymore
when i start Root Exlorer, it says "Root Explorer has been granted root privileges", but i cant mount any partition R/W, so i cant delete su manually

rerooting didnt work either

any ideas on how to fix this?
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes