FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

GSM SIM card mode for Sptint Glaxy Note II?

419 posts
Thanks Meter: 145
 
By leond, Senior Member on 27th October 2012, 07:50 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
22nd December 2012, 04:51 AM |#221  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 145
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashton_Durkhun


Also, on that note, if we get the radios fully unlocked couldn't the phone connect to VZW/ATT's LTE when the appropriate SIM is inserted since the note2 supports the mhz bands that VZW/ATT uses?

Unlikely, All 3 companies use different bands for LTE http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samsung_Galaxy_Note_II
GSM had anly 4 bands (850 Mhz, 900 Mhz, 1.8 Ghz, and 1.9 Ghz) so a quad-band phone would cover all networks, LTE has I think somethig like 44 bands - i think it will be a while before we see a universal carrier independent LTE phone.
 
 
28th December 2012, 11:13 PM |#222  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I live in Australia and ended up buying an galaxy note 2 ( sprint ) unfortunalty i did not know that version had no SIM slot

if I installed SIM-Card-Holder-Memory-Slot-Flex-Cable-For-Samsung-Galaxy-Note-2-N7100

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-SIM-C...ht_2988wt_1125


would that work ( no need for sprints built in sim )

assuming all that would be left to do is firmware flashing >?
28th December 2012, 11:53 PM |#223  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 145
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterCATZ

I live in Australia and ended up buying an galaxy note 2 ( sprint ) unfortunalty i did not know that version had no SIM slot

if I installed SIM-Card-Holder-Memory-Slot-Flex-Cable-For-Samsung-Galaxy-Note-2-N7100

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-SIM-C...ht_2988wt_1125


would that work ( no need for sprints built in sim )

assuming all that would be left to do is firmware flashing >?

>would that work ( no need for sprints built in sim )
Hopefully. try and tell us please

>assuming all that would be left to do is firmware flashing
you shouldn't need to flash firmware, just put it in GSM/UMTS from "Settings" ,you should get voice right away. to get data you might need to update the apns-conf.xml file I've mentioned in post #200 of this thread

I would also buy
Samsung Galaxy Note II N7100 Middle Cover with Side Keys -White MBRPSS959
from http://www.parts4repair.com/ or any other place you can find it, this way you don't have to cut the existing one, unless you do not mind doing it.
I bought both the cover and the SIM holder from them, took about 3 weeks to get to US.

Also you would not get a 4G so it will be UMTS only if you even have that.
29th December 2012, 12:12 AM |#224  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leond

>

Also you would not get a 4G so it will be UMTS only if you even have that.

I paid $500 for the phone ( should have been $450 but paypals exchange rate did not work .. )

I could have gotten n7100 new for $580 AUD the n7105 ( 4G version ) are about an extra $200 but I doubt our rural area will ever get it .. we only just got 3G ( phone is only used for NAV so speed no real issue ) plus i heard the 4G still drains the battery fast even when in 3G mode

main concern with these phones is that many seem to shatter the screen in weeks


currently around 200 phones on market with screens shattered

I'll order the kit its only $10 , i'll hack up the sprint case its usless to me any how :P

worst case senario I buy a new phone and use the sprint as backup screen then try and fix it later on as a wifi phone /ROM tester

even cheaper $5

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1PCS-Sim-...#ht_2277wt_959

now to rememberer where my sim card unlocker got to :P
31st December 2012, 07:23 PM |#225  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Enabling GSM
Quote:
Originally Posted by leond

>Please confirm will it work with GSM carrier outside the USA?
The phone will work outside of USA, as is regardless of the MOD.


>What tools do I need to enable GSM?
No tools needed, just go to Settings->More Settings ->Mobile Networks->Network mode and select GSM/UMTS

Without the MOD you'd have to pay Sprint international roaming charges. The mod should allow insertion of local SIM card. the MOD has not been confirmed to work internationally yet.

I'm afraid it won't be that easy. Some people over on the AT&T Note 2's forum determined enabling AWS support for the AT&T i317 took modifying the NV partition. Perhaps something like this will have to be done to enable GSM support: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2068041
2nd January 2013, 06:35 AM |#226  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 145
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cephasara

I'm afraid it won't be that easy. Some people over on the AT&T Note 2's forum determined enabling AWS support for the AT&T i317 took modifying the NV partition. Perhaps something like this will have to be done to enable GSM support: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2068041

this is different, Sprint Galaxy note 2 supports GSM out of the box according to it's specs
SPH-L900 Sprint Nextel
GSM: quad-band
CDMA/EVDO: 800, 850, 1900
UMTS: 1900

and sprint actually wants you to use GSM with this phone in other countries.
The NVRAM tricks discussed in the thread you mention however could be an interesting direction to look in to as far as enabling US GSM carriers
2nd January 2013, 05:21 PM |#227  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 145
 
More
I finaly received my hardware and opened my phone. how do you replace the sim/uSD holder? it seems to be glued or soldered to the board.
P.S. Never mind, it is glued, i popped it out
2nd January 2013, 09:12 PM |#228  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leond

I finaly received my hardware and opened my phone. how do you replace the sim/uSD holder? it seems to be glued or soldered to the board.
P.S. Never mind, it is glued, i popped it out

Would you mind sending a pic of this? I'd like to do the same but before I do, it'd be nice to see what I might be getting myself into as a newb.

---------- Post added at 03:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:48 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by leond

I finaly received my hardware and opened my phone. how do you replace the sim/uSD holder? it seems to be glued or soldered to the board.
P.S. Never mind, it is glued, i popped it out

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterCATZ

if I installed SIM-Card-Holder-Memory-Slot-Flex-Cable-For-Samsung-Galaxy-Note-2-N7100

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-SIM-C...ht_2988wt_1125

would that work ( no need for sprints built in sim )

assuming all that would be left to do is firmware flashing >?

Please, please keep us posted and let us know if this works! I would love to duplicate this process if I can get verification that it indeed works. I'll even take step-by-step notes and pics for posting.

---------- Post added at 04:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:15 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildta

Would you mind sending a pic of this? I'd like to do the same but before I do, it'd be nice to see what I might be getting myself into as a newb.

---------- Post added at 03:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:48 PM ----------





Please, please keep us posted and let us know if this works! I would love to duplicate this process if I can get verification that it indeed works. I'll even take step-by-step notes and pics for posting.

I found a good teardown video but it's not Sprint specific: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gD6zGVbqNMA
2nd January 2013, 09:14 PM |#229  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 145
 
More
I've already closed the case so too late for the pictures, if I do it again, I can try to make some. It really comes down to opening the phone which is described in details in the first few minutes of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ArgxwyogunE, This is the most difficult part. then disconnect the connector from the SIM holder and carefully pop it up pulling it up evenly with a tiny screwdriver from all sides, it is sitting on a layer of a glue paper that can be reused later. plug in the new module and put the new cover back. took me about 20 minutes to do the entire thing.
The Following User Says Thank You to leond For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift leond Ad-Free
2nd January 2013, 09:17 PM |#230  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leond

I've already closed the case so too late for the pictures, if I do it again, I can try to make some. It really comes down to opening the phone which is described in details in the first few minutes of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ArgxwyogunE, This is the most difficult part. then disconnect the connector from the SIM holder and carefully pop it up pulling it up evenly with a tiny screwdriver from all sides, it is sitting on a layer of a glue paper that can be reused later. plug in the new module and put the new cover back. took me about 20 minutes to do the entire thing.

Understandable. Thanks for the response. Have you tried another SIM? Everything working as hoped?
2nd January 2013, 09:40 PM |#231  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 145
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildta

Understandable. Thanks for the response. Have you tried another SIM? Everything working as hoped?

Same as reported before - the phone can see the SIM card and the status is "Ready" as it shows in "Phone info" program which to me is an indication that the phone is not SIM locked. The phone does not see US GSM networks as it has nothing to do with SIM - they are locked somewhere in modem or NVRAM. I have no real interest in US GSM networks. I am planning to go to Europe in the end of the month and I am planning to test it then.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to leond For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift leond Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes