FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[KERNEL]DualBoot - Devil4.2 (04-Feb-2013)

10,302 posts
Thanks Meter: 27,817
 
By DerTeufel1980, Recognized Developer on 15th January 2013, 08:22 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
17th January 2013, 01:52 PM |#81  
KUN1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerTeufel1980

Did you choose mount secondary rom in the dual boot menu, before installing?

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9000 mit Tapatalk 2

Yes of course
17th January 2013, 02:06 PM |#82  
hertzschi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 264
 
More
Thumbs up
Just installed the kernel and 2 different roms.
And I'm excited
This is genious, I can have my daily driver rom on the primary boot and can try out new Rom/Rom versions on the secondary
and have always a working system. Great.

A little side note: I just found out, that the patched for secondary rom also installs on primary without problems.
So I don't have to store a patched and a untouched version of the Rom.

Big Thanks @DerTeufel Great Work!
17th January 2013, 02:08 PM |#83  
DerTeufel1980's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 27,817
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUN1

Yes of course

Please try my modded slim or Hellybean. If they work, compare the zip

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9000 mit Tapatalk 2
17th January 2013, 02:12 PM |#84  
KUN1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerTeufel1980

Please try my modded slim or Hellybean. If they work, compare the zip

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9000 mit Tapatalk 2

I will try this, thank you
Is it maybe because i didnt do any paragraphs (absätze) between
Quote:

package_extract_file("mount_system.sh", "/tmp/mount_system.sh");
set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/mount_system.sh");

and
Quote:

package_extract_file("format_system.sh", "/tmp/format_system.sh");
set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/format_system.sh");

?

Do i have to modify both update scripts and add format_system etc to both roms?

Edit: The one from you worked =D
17th January 2013, 02:23 PM |#85  
saszseb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hungary, Gy-M-S.
Thanks Meter: 1,022
 
More
A small issue:

- flashed Elite's ROM as primary ROM
- rebooted
- set google account and TB restore
- rebooted
All is OK.

- recovery
- dualboot menu
- mounting of secondary filesystem
- installed Slim_dual, slim_gapps, extra
- flashed Devil_dual
- reboot secondary system now
and now
- got back to recovery
- reboot primary system now
And SLIM_dual booted up.

Questions:
Where is/was my Elite ROM as primary filesystem?
What did I do wrong?
17th January 2013, 02:31 PM |#86  
ugoms's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 179
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by saszseb

A small issue:

- flashed Elite's ROM as primary ROM
- rebooted
- set google account and TB restore
- rebooted
All is OK.

- recovery
- dualboot menu
- mounting of secondary filesystem
- installed Slim_dual, slim_gapps, extra
- flashed Devil_dual
- reboot secondary system now
and now
- got back to recovery
- reboot primary system now
And SLIM_dual booted up.

Questions:
Where is/was my Elite ROM as primary filesystem?
What did I do wrong?

Got the same issue

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium
17th January 2013, 02:45 PM |#87  
DerRomtester's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Neumarkt
Thanks Meter: 5,845
 
Donate to Me
More
Can we use the kernel without a secondary rom ?
17th January 2013, 02:50 PM |#88  
saszseb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hungary, Gy-M-S.
Thanks Meter: 1,022
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerRomtester

Can we use the kernel without a secondary rom ?

Yes.
17th January 2013, 04:09 PM |#89  
saszseb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hungary, Gy-M-S.
Thanks Meter: 1,022
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by saszseb

Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saszseb

A small issue:

- flashed Elite's ROM as primary ROM
- rebooted
- set google account and TB restore
- rebooted
All is OK.

- recovery
- dualboot menu
- mounting of secondary filesystem
- installed Slim_dual, slim_gapps, extra
- flashed Devil_dual
- reboot secondary system now
and now
- got back to recovery
- reboot primary system now
And SLIM_dual booted up.

Questions:
Where is/was my Elite ROM as primary filesystem?
What did I do wrong?

Yes,yes...! It's working!

- flashed Elite's ROM as primary ROM
- rebooted
- set google account and TB restore
- rebooted
All is OK.

- recovery
- dualboot menu
- mounting of secondary filesystem
- installed Helly_dual without gapps !!
- flashed Devil_dual kernel
- reboot secondary system now
- after booting up
- recovery again
- mounting of secondary filesystem
- install gapps
- reboot secondary system now
That's all.

I think the prob was by flashing Slim: I flashed not only Slim_dual but addons (extra, gapps, voice dialer) too.
17th January 2013, 04:09 PM |#90  
DerTeufel1980's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 27,817
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugoms

Got the same issue

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium

I'll check this

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9000 mit Tapatalk 2
17th January 2013, 05:35 PM |#91  
Driv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
If i would choose the wrong Rom like 10,1 with 9 (just an example) can it brick my phone :s ?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes