FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][3.21.16] TWC TV - VZW/ADB/HDMI checks removed & watch away from home!!

122 posts
Thanks Meter: 278
 
By dice, Senior Member on 4th March 2013, 09:44 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
UPDATE
Development of this app will continue here: https://forum.xda-developers.com/and...wc-tv-t3847520

Thanks for everyone who kept this project going!



Hello here you will find the most recent TWC TV App from the android market... except it has ALL restrictions removed, NO ADB checks, NO proxy checks, NO HDMI checks, NO ROOT checks, and best of all, a method to watch ALL the channels while you're away from home, not just SOME of the channels TWC let's you watch; this can be viewed over 3g/4g/wifi... hell even 1x lol.

NOW the part I like... and maybe the reason why the root check was implemented by TWC.... you can actually WATCH live TV on any wifi, 3g/4G network away from your home! all you need is a few tools and you're on your way.... if this is of no interest to you then just scroll down to the download link

To watch outside of the home network:
  1. Install a proxy server on a machine inside your network (a computer that can play live tv from twctv.com successfully)
  2. I use wingate FREE edition (http://wingate.com)
  3. Make sure you configure your router to forward traffic on that port to your machine
  4. as a side note, make sure you assign a static IP on your local machine so your router doesn't get confused
  5. also make sure you go to whatsmyip.org and get your external IP address (as you'll need this for the android side)
  6. Install an app from the android market called "Auto Proxy (ROOT)"
  7. Configure Auto Proxy to connect to your machine... here you will enter the IP you got earlier from your home machine and the port you chose when you configured wingate...
  8. Now activate AutoProxy and all traffic will be routed through your home computer (all apps, etc...) meaning when you use the timewarner app it will think you're inside your home network!!
  9. Make sure you turn it off once you're done watching TV, otherwise you will be consuming all of your upload bandwidth and also slow down your speeds since it has to go through the proxy...
  10. Profit!!

Some Notes:
  • This app should work on any phone with gingerbread and up. (Tested myself)
  • Feel free to donate It took me a while to learn how to do this and it took alot endless nights
  • I think i should also point out that I didn't use anyone else's code to do this; I'm a lone developer and just like the challenge :P
  • I am also working on a workaround to the proxy thing... a way to watch Live TV on your cellular network alone... no proxy required (I make no promises but i'm looking into it and hopefully I'll come up with something)
  • I'll also try to release a new version if updates are released... try and keep everything current
  • Questions? need a more detailed guide or anything else? just ask! I'm here to help ... (but see post #2 first)
  • The 3.21.14 app would not be possible without GreenNasty... THANKS!

[CHANGELOG]

[3.21.16][v8] - App Version 4.1.8.10
  • Removed VPN/ADB/HDMI/Proxy restrictions
  • Enabled VZW Exclusive content for everyone!
  • Live TV and VOD DAI disabled
  • Fast forwarding enabled for all Video on Demand content... go ahead and skip those commercials
  • Enjoy!
Quote:

[12.12.15][v7] - App Version 4.1.7.1

  • Removed Proxy/VPN/ADB/HDMI Checks
  • Enabled VZW Exclusive content for everyone!
  • Live TV and VOD DAI disabled
[11.14.15][v6] - App Version 4.1.2.32
  • Removed Proxy/VPN/ADB/HDMI Checks
  • Enabled VZW Exclusive content for everyone!
  • Enabled Seeking while playing VOD content (yes, you can skip ads )
  • Disabled DAI (Dynamic Ad Placement) in Live TV and VOD (My little bit of rebellion against all these restrictions) Google for more info
  • Removed regional restrictions (Now you may use the app even if you're outside the US)
[3.14.14][v5.1] - App Version 3.4.4#78
  • Removed Proxy and VPN checks from both Live TV and OnDemand
  • HDMI checks REMOVED!!!
  • Proxy and VPN checks removed
  • ADB Checks fully removed
[3.14.14][v5] - App Version 3.4.4#78
  • Removed Proxy and VPN checks
  • Partially removed HDMI checks from Live TV, OnDemand should still have same HDMI Restrictions
[8.21.13][v4.1] - App Version 3.3.1#57
I use wingate FREE edition (http://wingate.com)
  • Workaround for ISP Checks, now users of every network get the perks that verizon customers get
[8.07.13][v4.0] - App Version 3.3.1#57
  • Removed ADB Checks
  • Removed HDMI Checks
  • Removed Proxy/VPN Checks
  • Hope I didn't miss anything!
[7.13.13][v3.2] - App Version 3.2.1#49
  • Missed VPN Check... VPN should be working now
[7.10.13][v3.1] - App Version 3.2.1#49
  • Fixed ADB Check in Live TV - overlooked some code
[7.10.13][v3] - App Version 3.2.1#49
  • 3g/4g/lan/etc.. streaming enabled
  • Proxy Checks Removed
  • HDMI Checks disabled (Not 100% sure on this, but if you have issues let me know)
  • All channels exclusive to VZW Customers are now available for everyone
  • Removed Root Checks
  • Removed Proxy/VPN Checks
  • Removed ADB Checks
  • Note: Since i actually REMOVED some of the code that performs the checks, the app might be smaller than the original app from the market (yeah i like to be efficient :P)
[5.17.13][v2] - App Version 3.2#44
  • Enabled 3G Streaming for EVERYONE! xD enjoy!
[5.15.13][v1.1] - App Version 3.2#44
  • Removed another HDMI check when plugging/unplugging HDMI cable while watching Live TV
[5.15.13][v1] - App Version 3.2#44
  • Completely new version!
  • Removed Root Checks
  • Removed ADB Checks
  • Removed HDMI Checks
  • Removed Proxy and VPN Checks
  • Should run smoothly on most devices! seems like TWC did some optimizations
[3.15.13][0.3] - App Version 2.6#36[3.10.13][0.2] - App version 2.6#36
  • Removed HDMI checks!!
[3.04.13][0.1] - App version 2.6#36 (Initial Release)
  • Removed Root & ADB Checks
  • Increased buffer size to help with iffy networks


[Bugs/Issues]
None reported yet... let me know if you encounter any issues

[DOWNLOAD]
[3.21.16][v8] - http://www.mediafire.com/download/qr...10.release.apk
Thank you all for your support! <3

[Questions/Issues?]
See post #2 and reply if you question is not addressed.

Thanks to those that made decompiling/recompiling easy!!

Don't forget to hit that thanks button if this app works for you!
donations are also appreciated... modifying something without the source code is tough... and a cup of coffee can go a long way when coding thanks for your support!
The Following 111 Users Say Thank You to dice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dice Ad-Free
4th March 2013, 09:55 PM |#2  
dice's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 278
 
Donate to Me
More
Bug List
  • APP Version 3.2#44: Some users report that HD doesn't work as well with the new app. Time Warner did alot of changes due to the move to streaming away from home, that means that they definetely could have messed something up.... if HD is not working properly for you and want to try the previous version (2.6#36) feel free to download it here: http://www.mediafire.com/?s3evtfhdedy3061
  • If you wish to decompile the app yourself, i have included comments in most of the important parts of the code that i modified... i will admin, they are HARD to understand and modify, but if you're looking to do it yourself in the future, I've helped you out

Issues/Troubleshooting

If you have tried this app and it does not work for you then i need the following information:
  • are you using the proxy instructions I mentioned or using the app using your home network?
    • MAKE SURE your device is rooted
    • if you are then please test it on your home network first and make sure it works (whithout ANY proxy, etc...)... if it does then let me know what issues you get when you use wingate and Auto Proxy....
    • if it does work on your home network but not with the proxy, then please tell me detailed instructions on how you set it up or if you need a guide on how to do so
  • do you have internet service through time Warner?
  • what device are you using?
  • what rom and kernel are you using, and what versions? (if you don't what kernel then just tell me which rom and version and i'll figure it out)
  • Are you rooted? With Super SU or just SuperUser?
  • All of the above checked? then i will need a logcat while the app is running Feel free to pm me the logcat ONLY after you have posted what i've requested and I'll let you know to send me a logcat... i don't want to receive random logcats and will ignore them if i haven't seen your information in this thread first!
    • Logcats can be taken via: adb shell logcat
    • OR adb shell and then type logcat, you can use the -f parameter to save it to a file rather than copying it from your command prompt to a file...
    If there is anything else you think i should know, then please post that as well.... any little bit of information WILL help, trust me
I am committed to help.... but please help me by following the above instructions to make both our lives easier!


Thanks!
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to dice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dice Ad-Free
5th March 2013, 01:33 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Question Will this work home lan with rooted / adb on ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by superman1101

I know i haven't posted yet, but i recently got the TWC TV app and found that it doesn't work on Rooted devices or EVEN if you have ADB on!! anyways, I'm a developer but in a different language, nevertheless I looked around the forums and figured out how to modify the APK and came up with this... what better way to do my first post huh? lol


I really do not understand why they care if rooted / debugging is turned on?
I mean its at least a little understandable if one has an unlocked
bootloader and running on a non-standard rom.
5th March 2013, 02:03 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Didn't work for me
5th March 2013, 02:39 AM |#5  
dice's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 278
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennettg

Didn't work for me

How come? what rom are you using, and do you get an error message?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzynco

I really do not understand why they care if rooted / debugging is turned on?
I mean its at least a little understandable if one has an unlocked
bootloader and running on a non-standard rom.

There is competing theories on why they care... one of the reason i can think of (which i said in the OP) is that you can use a root app to enable traffic tunneling through a proxy (thus circumventing their "home network") restriction
The Following User Says Thank You to dice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dice Ad-Free
6th March 2013, 04:23 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Is this the phone version of the app?? Just wondering because I'm trying to get it to work on my HP Touchpad with CM10 and the signed versions I have found for the tablet are around 5mb and yours its just under 2.

Thanks!

*UPDATE*
Not sure why you version is so much smaller but it works perfectly on my tablet. I have been searching high and low for a fix and this was it. I can't thank you enough!!!
6th March 2013, 07:20 AM |#7  
dice's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 278
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by talon4x4

Is this the phone version of the app?? Just wondering because I'm trying to get it to work on my HP Touchpad with CM10 and the signed versions I have found for the tablet are around 5mb and yours its just under 2.

Thanks!

*UPDATE*
Not sure why you version is so much smaller but it works perfectly on my tablet. I have been searching high and low for a fix and this was it. I can't thank you enough!!!

Glad it worked for you! this app is what i extracted from the app market with my EVO 3D, however i did see code segments in there for tablets so this app should be universal... let me know if you encounter any issues
The Following User Says Thank You to dice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dice Ad-Free
6th March 2013, 04:02 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Thank you! Works perfectly on my rooted Nexus 10!
7th March 2013, 04:35 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I hope...
I hope you can remove the nightmare msg: "We are unable to present this channell..." in Kindle Fire 8.9 with OS 8.1.4
Thank you
8th March 2013, 01:08 AM |#10  
dice's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 278
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by field3d

I hope you can remove the nightmare msg: "We are unable to present this channell..." in Kindle Fire 8.9 with OS 8.1.4
Thank you

I wish I could, unfortunately that's a problem on the server's end, not the app... sometimes certain channels are unavailable because tw is having an issue on their end.... unless you're getting the error on every channel... right now I think Disney channel is having that issue, is it happening with a lot of channels?
The Following User Says Thank You to dice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dice Ad-Free
8th March 2013, 04:47 AM |#11  
Aron_H's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Works great on nexus 10 running cm10.1 nightly thank you! I had to edit files after updating ROM now I don't have to, appreciate your work. HDMI would be a big bonus, cheers mate.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hdmi, proxy, time warner, twc, vpn

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes