FORUMS

[TOOL] imgRePacker (LiveSuit's & PhoenixSuit's firmware images unpacker/packer)

343 posts
Thanks Meter: 237
 
By RedScorpioXDA, Senior Member on 5th July 2012, 08:21 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
9th September 2013, 01:17 PM |#111  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axims

Yes, I don't have the .img file as I mentioned above, just a firmware dump directory as you can see.
I really appreciate If you can help me find the right tool, or any idea you might have.

I think you need:
1. Find stock firmware image
2. Unpack to know structure and formats of files in image (for example, file system.fex may be stored in sparse format)
3. Replace some files with files from your dump
4. Pack firmware

PS, I'm not specialist. It's only IMHO
The Following User Says Thank You to RedScorpioXDA For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift RedScorpioXDA Ad-Free
28th September 2013, 11:51 PM |#112  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Just to let you know, it works with my allwinner a20 firmware image.
30th September 2013, 08:11 AM |#113  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by relol

Just to let you know, it works with my allwinner a20 firmware image.

Thanx
30th September 2013, 05:16 PM |#114  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pogodancer

Thanks RedScorpioXDA.

I made another try:

1. Extract the A10HD-firmware.img with imgRePacker in Win7-32bit
2. Copy the sparse system.fex into the VirtualBox with Ubuntu 12.04-32bit.
3. Change sparse system.fex into ext4 system.img with simg2img in Ubuntu.
4. Mount ext4 system.img in Ubuntu and delete only 1 apk (4K-player) for test purposes.
5. Change back the ext4 system.img into sparse system.fex with make_ext4fs in Ubuntu.
6. Copy the new system.fex into the firmware-dump-folder in Win7.
7. Create a new firmware.img with imgRePacker with /noiso option.
8. Flash the firmware with PhoenixSuit.

=> System cannot boot. It hangs on the Teclast-bootscreen (not bootanimation).

So it seems that the error occurs in step 5. Maybe the make_ext4fs-tool from the ext4_utils do not work correctly in my virtual 32bit-Linux-machine.

Did anybody successfully change a sparse firmware image for an A31 tablet ? If so, how did you do it ? Did I do something wrong ?

Hello,

did you manage to overcome this problem? i'm having the very same issue with Onda v972 firmware right now and i need to fix it. It seems the problem happens when i try to rebuild the system.fex file from mounted system.img file. The file sizes differs (it somehow even differs between linux virtual box and windows in the same shared folder by 30 Mbs), but i can't understand why so. Maybe you have any insight or advice on this?
30th September 2013, 11:42 PM |#115  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Do a ls -la and write down the size of the ext4 image, use that size as argument when using make_ext4fs
It works for me
1st October 2013, 06:34 AM |#116  
pogodancer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
@ konmatas

I have given up. Hope that someone else finds a solution.
2nd October 2013, 02:19 PM |#117  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by pogodancer

Thanks RedScorpioXDA.

I made another try:

1. Extract the A10HD-firmware.img with imgRePacker in Win7-32bit
2. Copy the sparse system.fex into the VirtualBox with Ubuntu 12.04-32bit.
3. Change sparse system.fex into ext4 system.img with simg2img in Ubuntu.
4. Mount ext4 system.img in Ubuntu and delete only 1 apk (4K-player) for test purposes.
5. Change back the ext4 system.img into sparse system.fex with make_ext4fs in Ubuntu.
6. Copy the new system.fex into the firmware-dump-folder in Win7.
7. Create a new firmware.img with imgRePacker with /noiso option.
8. Flash the firmware with PhoenixSuit.

=> System cannot boot.

Same problem with another firmware.
2nd October 2013, 02:39 PM |#118  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelbbs

Same problem with another firmware.

Exclude points 4 and 5 from process. If the problem persists, send the links to both firmware, I will understand. Otherwise, imgRePacker doesn't have any relation to the problem.
2nd October 2013, 06:35 PM |#119  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pogodancer

Thanks RedScorpioXDA.

I made another try:

1. Extract the A10HD-firmware.img with imgRePacker in Win7-32bit
2. Copy the sparse system.fex into the VirtualBox with Ubuntu 12.04-32bit.
3. Change sparse system.fex into ext4 system.img with simg2img in Ubuntu.
4. Mount ext4 system.img in Ubuntu and delete only 1 apk (4K-player) for test purposes.
5. Change back the ext4 system.img into sparse system.fex with make_ext4fs in Ubuntu.
6. Copy the new system.fex into the firmware-dump-folder in Win7.
7. Create a new firmware.img with imgRePacker with /noiso option.
8. Flash the firmware with PhoenixSuit.

=> System cannot boot. It hangs on the Teclast-bootscreen (not bootanimation).

So it seems that the error occurs in step 5. Maybe the make_ext4fs-tool from the ext4_utils do not work correctly in my virtual 32bit-Linux-machine.

Did anybody successfully change a sparse firmware image for an A31 tablet ? If so, how did you do it ? Did I do something wrong ?

Problem solved.
Compile the latest version of make_ext4fs.
Sorry, can't insert links
5th October 2013, 06:47 AM |#120  
pogodancer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
@ angelbbs

I would like to try it. Maybe you could post the link to the tool just like this:

www xda com ???

Thanks.

Sent from my Teclast A10HD / AOKP Jelly Bean 4.3 using Tapatalk 4
6th October 2013, 10:06 PM |#121  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Hi,
I'm unpacking and repacking a31s and a20 images fine. I can flash and it works fine. Just noticed something, if i unpack a image packed with imgrepacker , it creates a home/imgrepacker folder and unpacks the rom into it. Is this a bug?
Regards
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
allwinner, imgrepacker, livesuit, phoenixsuit

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes