FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

(car audio) Parrot ASTEROID Smart

223 posts
Thanks Meter: 34
 
By qs504792, Senior Member on 26th January 2013, 07:52 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
18th September 2013, 08:57 AM |#1151  
getiem's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Since we are getting more development on the Volvo SCT system and it differs in Hard- and Software from the Parrot Asteroid Smart, it may be usefull to open a separate topic here?

Would be better to bundle the stuff of Volvo SCT.

Who will start a new topic with some base info from this topic copied? Can a moderator split SCT postings to a different topic?

---------- Post added at 08:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by getiem

Since we are getting more development on the Volvo SCT system and it differs in Hard- and Software from the Parrot Asteroid Smart, it may be usefull to open a separate topic here?

Would be better to bundle the stuff of Volvo SCT.

Who will start a new topic with some base info from this topic copied? Can a moderator split SCT postings to a different topic?

I opened a new topic about Volvo SCT
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8#post45695718
18th September 2013, 09:06 AM |#1152  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieb122

All,

I have created an extended volume widget the models an ACTUAL VOLUME KNOB. I was so frustrated with not having a knob... I was also frustrated with not being able to change tracks or toggle play pause. Just swipe from the right of the screen to activate.

Current Features:
Auto Starts at Boot
Swipe from right of screen to activate
Touch sensitive volume knob
Play/Pause Toggle
Previous/Next Track buttons
Activate from ANYWHERE (it is always running), and not have to close your current app...

Upcoming Features:
Show track meta data
Configuration options with to change swipe location to either left or bottom
Option to activate via a button
Color options?

If you have any other suggestions let me know.

Here is a link to a youtube demo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PgCPrTySN9s


I really like what you've done with this, the other volume widgets I've tried have been way to small or tried to do too much. I like the simplicity and size of your solution.

I have one suggestion though before jumping into adding the cool customisation features. It suffers from the same issue that all other volume widgets seem to have, and that is the volume jumps to where the touch is registered, meaning if your clumsy or accidentally touch near the max volume, you're likely to get a bit of a surprise.

I think it would be more useful if the volume knob didn't try to jump to the point where the touch is registered, and that it just becomes 'active' when you touch it. So the interaction would be more like touch the knob, nothing changes, but as soon as you touch it and rotate this is when the volume would change.

As it stands it's already the best volume widget I've tried, but if volume knob was a little more 'safe' for want of a better word, this would make the widget an absolute essential for all asteroid smarts.

As for customisation features, maybe the ability to theme the knob/buttons, or make the background more transparent. A source button might be nice for going straight to the active source or the source list.
The Following User Says Thank You to veearrsix For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift veearrsix Ad-Free
18th September 2013, 06:11 PM |#1153  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldta

This leads me to believe the Android Debug Bridge (ADB) is running over TCP by default, sort of like on the original Google TV. So, you might be able to download the Android Developer Tools. Unzip it, and then at the command line use "platform-tools\adb connect <IP.address.of.SCT>" to connect to your SCT and install third party apps by either using "platform-tools\adb install <package_name>" or use the GUI, "\tools\monitor.bat" Either than or try and figure out which port on the SCT is USB 0 which turns into a ADB port when something is connected to it.


ok, I have tried this.
ADB Connect works well
when I do the ADB install command line, the package seems to copy correctly and then I get the message [INSTALL_FAILED_INVALID_APK]

I tried with 2 differents APK and result is the same

not cool
19th September 2013, 09:15 AM |#1154  
RigWig's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Has anyone been able to get a more current play store running on the smart? I know everyone has been able to get the old android market running but I was wondering if a more updated version was possible.
19th September 2013, 09:16 AM |#1155  
Taomyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigWig

Has anyone been able to get a more current play store running on the smart? I know everyone has been able to get the old android market running but I was wondering if a more updated version was possible.

I've run the current version (with updates) without any issues since I got the unit in July.
19th September 2013, 04:27 PM |#1156  
donaldta's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 461
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moogvo

So the Asteroid gets switched power from the Unika?

When the swc wires are completely disconnected, the Unika still flashes amber. The reset button does nothing. Apparently I have something connected wrong.

FYI, I found this buried in the Unika Support page > F.A.Q. > Installation
Quote:

After connecting the Parrot UNIKA, the diode on the unit is orange and flashes. What does this mean?
> This indicates that the Parrot UNIKA is updating. Do not disconnect it until the LED changes to green.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajosefox

Hey folks you've already been an immense help in getting Play Service working on my Smart. However, I'm running into just one new issue. Google Play Music thinks I'm offline. It will load up all my music but it appears grayed out and when I click on it it tells me I'm offline. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

It may be showing you a cached copy of the music you stored on Google's servers. Is your Asteroid Smart connected via WiFi or tethered to use cellular data? Do you have any music stored on the SD Card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy_barzed

ok, I have tried this.
ADB Connect works well
when I do the ADB install command line, the package seems to copy correctly and then I get the message [INSTALL_FAILED_INVALID_APK]

I tried with 2 differents APK and result is the same

not cool

That's pretty disappointing. I suggest continuing this conversation on the new dedicated thread, "[VOLVO SCT] Volvo Sensus Connected Touch"
19th September 2013, 06:45 PM |#1157  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Cobra iRadar S-Series
I just installed Cobra's new iRadar S-series. This unit which is installed up under the hood of you car sends a signal via Bluetooth to your Android or iPhone. I can get it to work with my iPhone, but the Asteroid Smart doesn't see it. You have to go into your Bluetooth setup and set it to discover-able, then the radar shows up as a headset. Any ideas as to how I can the Asteroid Smart to see this device?
19th September 2013, 07:30 PM |#1158  
donaldta's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 461
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronsno

I just installed Cobra's new iRadar S-series. This unit which is installed up under the hood of you car sends a signal via Bluetooth to you Android or iPhone. I can get it to work with my iPhone, but the Asteroid Smart doesn't see it. You have to go into your Bluetooth setup and set it to discover-able, then the radar shows up as a headset. Any ideas as to how I can the Asteroid Smart to see this device?

I was actually thinking of doing the same thing. However, it was pretty clear on the Cobra website that the iRadar S-series is NOT compatible with Android devices. Most likely the root of the problem is that there isn't a Bluetooth (BT) device driver for it on Android yet or possibly they just haven't updated their Android app. That means, until they do then only the Cobra iRadar ATOM and 200 are compatible with Android. I'm guessing those two are using commonly use BT serial drivers, much like most ELM327 ODB2 devices do.

Additionally in my research, I found out that Cobra radar detectors are pretty much a joke to radar enthusiasts. This got me into thinking of going with an Escort model but they don't have a "hidden" or custom installation that is compatible with their Escort Live! app. Though they do have several windshield mounted devices that are compatible. However, the least conspicuous model is the Escort SmartRadar which sort of hides behind your rear view mirror. So, I personally decided to put that project on hold.
19th September 2013, 09:31 PM |#1159  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldta

I was actually thinking of doing the same thing. However, it was pretty clear on the Cobra website that the iRadar S-series is NOT compatible with Android devices. Most likely the root of the problem is that there isn't a Bluetooth (BT) device driver for it on Android yet or possibly they just haven't updated their Android app. That means, until they do then only the Cobra iRadar ATOM and 200 are compatible with Android. I'm guessing those two are using commonly use BT serial drivers, much like most ELM327 ODB2 devices do.

Additionally in my research, I found out that Cobra radar detectors are pretty much a joke to radar enthusiasts. This got me into thinking of going with an Escort model but they don't have a "hidden" or custom installation that is compatible with their Escort Live! app. Though they do have several windshield mounted devices that are compatible. However, the least conspicuous model is the Escort SmartRadar which sort of hides behind your rear view mirror. So, I personally decided to put that project on hold.

On their web-site they don't mention Android, but on all articles about it they say iPhone and Android compatible. I looked into other brands as well and they are very expensive especially including the install cost. I figured even if it's not the best radar, 1) it was inexpensive and 2) completely hidden. Cobra has navigation products. I'm hoping they come out with a Nav-App with built-in radar. I figure eventually we'll get it working with Android. I've already contacted them. For now I've got it working with my iPhone. I'll give feedback on whether its a piece of crap or has some value.
19th September 2013, 11:06 PM |#1160  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by veearrsix

I really like what you've done with this, the other volume widgets I've tried have been way to small or tried to do too much. I like the simplicity and size of your solution.

I have one suggestion though before jumping into adding the cool customisation features. It suffers from the same issue that all other volume widgets seem to have, and that is the volume jumps to where the touch is registered, meaning if your clumsy or accidentally touch near the max volume, you're likely to get a bit of a surprise.

I think it would be more useful if the volume knob didn't try to jump to the point where the touch is registered, and that it just becomes 'active' when you touch it. So the interaction would be more like touch the knob, nothing changes, but as soon as you touch it and rotate this is when the volume would change.

As it stands it's already the best volume widget I've tried, but if volume knob was a little more 'safe' for want of a better word, this would make the widget an absolute essential for all asteroid smarts.

As for customisation features, maybe the ability to theme the knob/buttons, or make the background more transparent. A source button might be nice for going straight to the active source or the source list.

You seemed to have read my mind, although I forgot to add that to the feature list, it will be the next thing I add...It should be up by tomorrow or Monday evening at the latest...
19th September 2013, 11:13 PM |#1161  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieb122

You seemed to have read my mind, although I forgot to add that to the feature list, it will be the next thing I add...It should be up by tomorrow or Monday evening at the latest...

I installed your app, but it's not coming up. Any ideas as to why?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes