Just ordered an Atrix 4g Lapdock for my AHD

Search This thread

skeevydude

Inactive Recognized Contributor
Feb 10, 2012
3,072
3,042
39
Hot Springs
For those working on a Tasker solution, installing Screen Standby # Root adds HDMI detection into Tasker's States. About to flash Mex Retail since 4.3 isn't a good environment with the Laptops. On 4.3 Pac I've only been able to get the screen to work once out of what seems like hundreds of echo commands for various resolutions (0x27 for the curious ones). Also, 0x51 and 0x56 are 1366x768.
 

skeevydude

Inactive Recognized Contributor
Feb 10, 2012
3,072
3,042
39
Hot Springs
No mater what, it will always be "just the phones' 720p mirrored"

going for the lapdock native resolution (if we can) will be a stretched 720p to 768p dealt by the phone graphic system instead of the HDMI monitor stretching with it's own hardware.

I will settle for the Monitor/Lapdock doing all the stretching work.

you can play with the video_mode values using the standard modes :

updated resolution table from kernel located at
kernel/motorola/msm8960-common/include/video/msm_hdmi_modes.h (from 4.3 dev-team kernel, does not exist in stock kernels)

Code:
/* all video formats defined by CEA 861D */
#define HDMI_VFRMT_UNKNOWN		0
#define HDMI_VFRMT_640x480p60_4_3	1
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480p60_4_3	2
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480p60_16_9	3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1280x720p60_16_9	4
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080i60_16_9	5
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i60_4_3	6
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480i60_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i60_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i60_16_9	7
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480i60_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i60_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x240p60_4_3	8
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x240p60_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x240p60_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x240p60_16_9	9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x240p60_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x240p60_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x480i60_4_3	10
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x480i60_16_9	11
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x240p60_4_3	12
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x240p60_16_9	13
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480p60_4_3	14
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480p60_16_9	15
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080p60_16_9	16
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576p50_4_3	17
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576p50_16_9	18
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1280x720p50_16_9	19
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080i50_16_9	20
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i50_4_3	21
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576i50_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i50_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i50_16_9	22
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576i50_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i50_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x288p50_4_3	23
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x288p50_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x288p50_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x288p50_16_9	24
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x288p50_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x288p50_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x576i50_4_3	25
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x576i50_16_9	26
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x288p50_4_3	27
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x288p50_16_9	28
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576p50_4_3	29
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576p50_16_9	30
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080p50_16_9	31
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080p24_16_9	32
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080p25_16_9	33
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080p30_16_9	34
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x480p60_4_3	35
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x480p60_16_9	36
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x576p50_4_3	37
#define HDMI_VFRMT_2880x576p50_16_9	38
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1250i50_16_9	39
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080i100_16_9	40
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1280x720p100_16_9	41
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576p100_4_3	42
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576p100_16_9	43
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i100_4_3	44
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576i100_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i100_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i100_16_9	45
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576i100_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i100_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080i120_16_9	46
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1280x720p120_16_9	47
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480p120_4_3	48
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480p120_16_9	49
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i120_4_3	50
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480i120_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i120_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i120_16_9	51
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480i120_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i120_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576p200_4_3	52
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576p200_16_9	53
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i200_4_3	54
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576i200_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i200_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i200_16_9	55
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x576i200_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x576i200_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480p240_4_3	56
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480p240_16_9	57
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i240_4_3	58
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480i240_4_3	HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i240_4_3
#define HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i240_16_9	59
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1440x480i240_16_9	HDMI_VFRMT_720x480i240_16_9
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1280x720p24_16_9	60
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1280x720p25_16_9	61
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1280x720p30_16_9	62
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080p120_16_9	63
#define HDMI_VFRMT_1920x1080p100_16_9	64
/* Video Identification Codes from 65-127 are reserved for the future */
#define HDMI_VFRMT_END			127
 
Last edited:

smogtdi

Senior Member
Jul 16, 2012
160
45
Montreal
updated resolution table from kernel located at
kernel/motorola/msm8960-common/include/video/msm_hdmi_modes.h (from 4.3 dev-team kernel, does not exist in stock kernels)

sure the phone can do 768p but it will have to use the software to stretch the phone native 720p to the hdmi 768p.

so far the lapdock will handle the stretching on the lcd screen hardware.
 

skeevydude

Inactive Recognized Contributor
Feb 10, 2012
3,072
3,042
39
Hot Springs
sure the phone can do 768p but it will have to use the software to stretch the phone native 720p to the hdmi 768p.

so far the lapdock will handle the stretching on the lcd screen hardware.

There's no mention of 768 anything in our hdmi kernel code. If you look in the Tegra hdmi code, for example, there is. As far as the 500 is concerned, only ICS is usable. With Stock JB the 720p options "work", but the display is seriously F'd up. On ICS, it uses 720p with max overscan. '

So far I've tested the 500 on 4.2 PAC (nothing), 4.3 PAC (nothing), HoloBlurX (garbled 720p, almost usable), ATT/Bell ICS (works perfectly after maxing out the overscan).

I wish we could figure out how to change the hdmi group and do something like the Pi guys are, thought they could just have better hdmi drivers.
 

skeevydude

Inactive Recognized Contributor
Feb 10, 2012
3,072
3,042
39
Hot Springs
  • Like
Reactions: smogtdi

legendnexus

Senior Member
Dec 13, 2012
172
10
You know screen standby app has "run app on hdmi detect" function? It just doesn't show widget but apps.

I think we can make an app that can do the terminal work pretty easy, so we can uninstall the script app, and don't need to click it.

Also, if you miss the option of settings>sounds>hdmi/speakers, this app does just that. You can listen to your phone speakers while in lapdock mode.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.woodslink.android.wiredheadphoneroutingfix

Hi,
The app didnt work out on my Atrix HD, did you do any specific configuration?
 

souljaboy

Senior Member
Apr 30, 2009
2,176
129
Hi,
The app didnt work out on my Atrix HD, did you do any specific configuration?

Detect hdmi methood only. Not atrix lapdock detect.

Wake methood: shake.

Be careful not to hit power button after you take it off the lapdock, but shake and disable the notification of screen standby first. If you hit power button it will stop looking for shake to wake up and you will need to restart phone or put it back to lapdock so it resets the shake function and looks for it again.
 

legendnexus

Senior Member
Dec 13, 2012
172
10
I believe the forum users know that AHD stays behind the lapdock a bit dangerous. For this reason I got hdmi and usb extension cables to connect my AHD to the lapdock. Hdmi extension cable works however the usb cable on the labdock doesnt work. I tried to cable on my laptop to see if the cable is broken, cable is fully functional and works with all sync, debug options, etc.

I wonder does anyone try to use extension cables to hook up AHD with lapdock? if so, am I doing sth wrong or do i need to do any additional settings?
thank you!
 

NikolasV

Member
Jul 1, 2008
21
2
Kharkov
Does anyone know how can i fix a sound issue (volume can't change only on/off) on AHD (Bell rom 4.0.4) with Atrix lapdock?
Rom change between bell 4.1.2 and att 4.1.1 didn't help
 
Last edited:

yujikaido79

Senior Member
Oct 15, 2007
168
28
Hong Kong
I am running my atrix lapdock with the OTA 4.4 with full screen mirroring working on my Razr HD and I had same problem i used an app to switch the sound to my phone speaker then I was able to control the sound. Hot keys even work but didn't have any luck with the lapdock speakers themeselves. The app is found here. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.woodslink.android.wiredheadphoneroutingfix

Does anyone know how can i fix a sound issue (volume can't change only on/off) on AHD (Bell rom 4.0.4) with Atrix labdock?
Rom change between bell 4.1.2 and att 4.1.1 didn't help
 

skeevydude

Inactive Recognized Contributor
Feb 10, 2012
3,072
3,042
39
Hot Springs
I am running my atrix lapdock with the OTA 4.4 with full screen mirroring working on my Razr HD and I had same problem i used an app to switch the sound to my phone speaker then I was able to control the sound. Hot keys even work but didn't have any luck with the lapdock speakers themeselves. The app is found here. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.woodslink.android.wiredheadphoneroutingfix

I love SoundAbout. It's the only way I can use headphones with my AHD.

On a sidenote, I can get a partially working (in 1080p) display every time with custom 4.4 roms now. Just gotta disable hdcp checking under dev options. Now if I could only get it to display in the correct resolution...
 
  • Like
Reactions: souljaboy

NikolasV

Member
Jul 1, 2008
21
2
Kharkov
the usb extension cable on the labdock doesnt work.cable is fully functional and works with all sync, debug options, etc.

same thing (HoloBlur rom).
any solution?
upd. at&t stock ROM same...
then lapdock is closed and connect the AHD, it start charging and ask what type of dock did i connect.
then i open lapdock with connected AHD, it stop charging (hdmi extension cable works as it should) and not responce on any keys or touchpad.
maybe someone successfully using extension cables with atrix lapdock? i was waiting this cables for a month...
Upd2. It's all done. The cable was 4-wire. I added 5-th wire and everything works fine.
 
Last edited:

souljaboy

Senior Member
Apr 30, 2009
2,176
129
I love SoundAbout. It's the only way I can use headphones with my AHD.

On a sidenote, I can get a partially working (in 1080p) display every time with custom 4.4 roms now. Just gotta disable hdcp checking under dev options. Now if I could only get it to display in the correct resolution...

It works fully, in correct resolution for me in my 4.4 custom rom, but only until you disconnect it from the dock the first time. After that the mediaserver(or some other process host) goes into a bootloop whenever you connect it.
 

NikolasV

Member
Jul 1, 2008
21
2
Kharkov
Any news on custom roms?

Did someone tried to connect AHD with any new rom (last 4-6 weeks) to Lapdock?
Maybe RHD-based rom (based on official KK) work properly?
I stuck with HoloBlur rom (it works with lapdock properly), but i want KK on my AHD.
 
Last edited:

NikolasV

Member
Jul 1, 2008
21
2
Kharkov
Hello
Is any cyanogenmod rom exist (any version), which properly work with Lapdock?
I stuck on mexica rom (lapdock working fine with this rom), but ram using issues....
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 2
    Lapdock : the pictures

    I would say this lapdock is just brilliant. It's very well made, surprisingly thin and lightweight.

    From now on, all my cell phones will have to be able to use this accessory (hdmi out and usb out)

    I don't care about the lack of webtop app, ICS android just do it as a tablet.

    then again, it is fast. thanks to the dual core cpu/gpu. In my specific usage, the Atrix HD + Lapdock is faster than my atom 270 Netbook under Ubuntu 12.04


    IMG_1143.JPG


    IMG_1144.JPG


    IMG_1145.JPG


    IMG_1146.JPG


    IMG_1147.JPG


    IMG_1148.JPG


    IMG_1149.JPG


    IMG_1148.JPG


    IMG_1147.JPG
    1
    let me know how it turns out, photos would be nice(the hdmi part)
    1
    Got the lapdock for the 4g. The keyboard is just amazing, screen is perfect, I just use the overscan setting on the atrix hd to match the screen resolution and fill it completely. I had to flip the lapdock connectors as Stated in various post on lapdock vs razr. Easy job, perfect results. I use the chrome browser and it just work as it should be.

    Very well invested 50 Bucks

    Edit: only the lapdock for the atrix 4g need to have the connectors flipped. The bionic, the lapdock 100 and the lapdock 500 just fit out of the box.
    1
    Looking to get the lapdoc for my AHD. Should i get the OG Atrix one over the Bionic?

    Sent from my MB886 using xda premium


    the Bionic, lapdock 100 and 500 are direct plug-and-play.

    the original Atrix Lapdock need a bit of surgery to flip the 2 connectors (easy to do.)
    1
    hello :)

    as anyone found a way to properly mirror the hdmi in JB ? i mean, everything is working, but the screen is wide stretchy and compress in heigh so that look funny ....

    Anyone got an root app, and/or a small lapdock hack (atrix 4G one's) to be able to have it at least, almost, full screen ?

    Thx :D and happy christmas :p

    Not yet that I know of.