FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to Tether/Internet SHare with ATT Tilt 2

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By kwind0910, Junior Member on 11th October 2009, 04:57 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
17th October 2009, 05:45 AM |#11  
cbo02's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emilware_v1.1

OK
Thanks for posting the issue with internet sharing
Here's the fix
Use reg edit and change these values:

HKCU\SOFTWARE\MICROSOFT\INTERNETSHARING\LASTCELLCA LL CHANGE TO "MEdia Net"

HKLM\Comm\InternetSharing\ForceCellConnection change to "MEdia Net"

AT&T blocked option to change connection type so you have to change that in reg.
Now just softreset and enjoy.

PS
I'm using it right now

It Works!!!

thanks
 
 
17th October 2009, 06:36 PM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank You! I am using it now.... Only After installing TotalCommander ( in the Rhodium Software sticky) to eaily do the regedits,
17th October 2009, 09:28 PM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Worked for me. Nicely done!
18th October 2009, 08:23 AM |#14  
jh20001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emilware_v1.1

OK
Thanks for posting the issue with internet sharing
Here's the fix
Use reg edit and change these values:

HKCU\SOFTWARE\MICROSOFT\INTERNETSHARING\LASTCELLCA LL CHANGE TO "MEdia Net"

HKLM\Comm\InternetSharing\ForceCellConnection change to "MEdia Net"

AT&T blocked option to change connection type so you have to change that in reg.
Now just softreset and enjoy.

PS
I'm using it right now

This method worked for me. Thankfully I have a tetherable TP2 now ^^...only thing is the connection sucks until AT&T fixes their network. Takes forever to load a simple page....
19th October 2009, 06:13 AM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Why can i not find the HKLM folder in total commander.... cause id love to be able to tether my phone....
19th October 2009, 07:06 AM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hixmatt

HKLM\Comm\InternetSharing\Settings\ForceCellConnec tion to "MEdia Net"
and
HKLM\Comm\InternetSharing\Status\Enabled to "1"

That works great for me, but after soft reset "HKLM\Comm\InternetSharing\Status\Enabled" reverts back to Value of "0". To use Internet Sharing, I have to edit this value after every soft reset. Any possible fixes for this? Thanks in advance!

Stock AT&T Tilt 2

Edited To Add: It finally stuck! No idea why it took so long.
19th October 2009, 08:51 AM |#17  
jh20001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by calexan

Why can i not find the HKLM folder in total commander.... cause id love to be able to tether my phone....

Doesn't sound like your ready to play with registry (no offense). Always know you can cripple Windows if your not careful. You have to open the "\\Plugins" folder at the top of the root dir of the phone and then select registry. Follow the given instruction from there. Again though, be careful.
19th October 2009, 08:18 PM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Oh im sure im not.... I dont think ive messed with a registry since my Moto v620 years ago. My Tre0 750, just had every cab i ever needed already made.

If its not sticking though... i guess theres really know point till someone figures this thing out. I hate how AT&T blocks certain features....
19th October 2009, 09:00 PM |#19  
jh20001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by calexan

Oh im sure im not.... I dont think ive messed with a registry since my Moto v620 years ago. My Tre0 750, just had every cab i ever needed already made.

If its not sticking though... i guess theres really know point till someone figures this thing out. I hate how AT&T blocks certain features....



======== (UPDATED 11-30-2009) ========

NOTE! -- THIS IS ONLY FOR AT&T CUSTOMERS

I have made a cab version of my fix so that mortscript isn't required. Simply install and restart your phone and your ready to go! (much easier instructions eh?)


That's it!
Attached Files
File Type: cab TP2-AT&T-Tethering_Fix.cab - [Click for QR Code] (730 Bytes, 2239 views)
20th October 2009, 03:12 AM |#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Works great on my end.... other than AT&T's terrible internet service.


I appreciate the time you took to write the scripts. Havnt figured if they stick though, but now that its easily changed back no worries.

Thanks man
20th October 2009, 04:34 AM |#21  
Bloodgod's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
[QUOTE=If its not sticking though... i guess theres really know point till someone figures this thing out. I hate how AT&T blocks certain features....[/QUOTE]

funny story about at&t blocking tethering.
my sister in law has a blackjack 2 and the share iu is there but when she tried to use it she got the same error, it turns out that at&t is charging people to tether their phones to their laptops for something like 29.99.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
internet sharing, tether, tilt 2

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes