FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[FLASHABLE ZIP] Google Gapps + Amazon AppShop - HDX 7", 8.9" (Thor, Apollo)

960 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,355
 
By Cpasjuste, Senior Member on 20th December 2013, 02:29 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
22nd December 2013, 12:57 AM |#41  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
not all...sipposedly
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjarobot

You do know that *all* hdx7's have the blue hue right? It is an artifact of the new quantum dot technology they are using that relies on blue LEDs. Your replacement Kindle will have exactly the same hue.

Read somewhere that amazon first released a statement that it was a defect and to return them but they recanted and said it's a feature. I aslo read on another forum where people ave received a replacement that doesn't have the blue hue.If it does than I will send it back to and just get a refund.
 
 
22nd December 2013, 03:07 AM |#42  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
How did you guys get it to work? Heres what i did

Reboot in recovery using safestrap
On the stock rom, flashed the zip file.
Wipe cache and dalvik
Reboot
Adroid is upgrading...
After that still no gapps? What did ido wrong?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
22nd December 2013, 07:25 AM |#43  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtso

How did you guys get it to work? Heres what i did

Reboot in recovery using safestrap
On the stock rom, flashed the zip file.
Wipe cache and dalvik
Reboot
Adroid is upgrading...
After that still no gapps? What did ido wrong?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

No! You're supposed to backup the stock rom, create a ROM slot (with a larger Data partition than the default), restore the backup into the ROM slot, THEN install/flash the ZIP file!
22nd December 2013, 07:49 AM |#44  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kschang

No! You're supposed to backup the stock rom, create a ROM slot (with a larger Data partition than the default), restore the backup into the ROM slot, THEN install/flash the ZIP file!

When you say stock do you mean the unrooted one?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
22nd December 2013, 08:13 AM |#45  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtso

When you say stock do you mean the unrooted one?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

*sigh*

When you first install safestrap recovery, and boot into it, it will stay very clearly that you're dealing with STOCK ROM (and recovery robot at the boot menu will be RED, not green). That means you're MUCKING WITH STOCK ROM, not a "copy" of a ROM (i.e. safestrap).

In order NOT to muck with stock ROM (i.e. live your life on the edge), you "backup" the stock ROM, create a ROM slot (probably 1, name it "mod test1 or whatever) restore your backup into it, and activate that so you from now on boot into the COPY of your ROM. Then you can flash, edit, distort, or multilate your ROM... and as long as you can get into safestrap recovery, you can simply reset the ROM slot by loading a backup, and you're back in 5 minutes. And your "stock ROM" (rooted, but unmodified) will stay UNTOUCHED.

Got that?
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kschang For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kschang Ad-Free
22nd December 2013, 09:20 AM |#46  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok it work for me, but i don't understand how to get more than 4 gb of space for data partition size...
22nd December 2013, 10:15 AM |#47  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Yes! It worked. Thanks so much

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
22nd December 2013, 10:19 AM |#48  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,355
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginolapizza

Ok it work for me, but i don't understand how to get more than 4 gb of space for data partition size...

This is currently a safestrap limitation so you can't !

Sent from my KFTHWI using xda app-developers app
22nd December 2013, 10:35 AM |#49  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpasjuste

This is currently a safestrap limitation so you can't !

Sent from my KFTHWI using xda app-developers app

yeah i read it in another post.... but how i can use all the storage space now?
22nd December 2013, 05:55 PM |#50  
Faznx92's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginolapizza

yeah i read it in another post.... but how i can use all the storage space now?

You can't. Wait for Hashcode to roll out an update for twrp(the safestrap). Check here
22nd December 2013, 06:54 PM |#51  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faznx92

You can't. Wait for Hashcode to roll out an update for twrp(the safestrap). Check here

ok for now i will be enough happy with this "dual boot" system
at least i can play with game requiring play store as plant vs zombie 2......
thanks for reply!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes