FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to CyanogenMod without Root

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By bengrmn, Junior Member on 23rd January 2014, 06:00 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I read on a page that its possible to use CyanogenMod without root but i dont know how ? Is there a way and when yes how ?
Thank you
(And sorry for my bad english)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
 
23rd January 2014, 06:19 PM |#2  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,546
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengrmn

I read on a page that its possible to use CyanogenMod without root but i dont know how ? Is there a way and when yes how ?
Thank you
(And sorry for my bad english)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Unless there is a theme style then there isn't a way.

Also you should have posted this here to get an answer to your query.
24th January 2014, 05:56 PM |#3  
Jamal Ahmed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 984
 
More
Your topic heading makes it seem like it's a how-to xD you might wanna be a bit more careful with the headings...
Also, I'm 99.99% sure you cannot install CM without rooting. Well, you might be able to just flash recovery and flash CM on it, but I won't advise something I haven't done

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
25th January 2014, 05:35 AM |#4  
Khizar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9,900
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengrmn

I read on a page that its possible to use CyanogenMod without root but i dont know how ? Is there a way and when yes how ?
Thank you
(And sorry for my bad english)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

go into dev options and disable root access and you will be able to use CM without root, not sure why you would wanna do that..but its possible

PS- btw questions go in the Q&A section...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamal Ahmed

...Also, I'm 99.99% sure you cannot install CM without rooting. Well, you might be able to just flash recovery and flash CM on it, but I won't advise something I haven't done

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app

rooting before flashing a custom rom is useless, flashing recovery and then flashing a custom rom is how it should be done.. but ppl have just made rooting one of the steps, and now new users think rooting is actually necessary to flash a custom rom..
30th January 2017, 01:29 AM |#5  
krustybaguette's Avatar
Member
Flag Olde Stourbridge Village MA
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
root Note 3 after accepting stock ROM update to 5.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khizar


rooting before flashing a custom rom is useless, flashing recovery and then flashing a custom rom is how it should be done.. but ppl have just made rooting one of the steps, and now new users think rooting is actually necessary to flash a custom rom..

I've almost given up on successfully rooting and installing custom ROM on my Galaxy Note3 (N900V) It seemed that there were roadblocks at every method that I thought would work with my Verizon Note 3. The above quote suggest (to me) that rooting is no longer necessary but that it can be done simply by flashing a recovery (CWM or TWRP??) and then flashing the custom ROM.

Instructions usually assume a Windows computer to flash via usb cable. I'm running Linux so where can a find a step by step guide that will let me install Cyanogenmod or some other custom ROM that will let me debloat, and perhaps improve function on my Note 3 which I plan to be keeping for the foreseeable future.
krustybaguette
30th January 2017, 02:13 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,146
 
More
Suggest you ask in the forum for your model .

https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho....php?t=2574886
30th January 2017, 02:24 PM |#7  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 4,423
 
More
Doesn't the Verizon version of the Note 3 have a locked bootloader that must be unlocked before flashing TWRP or a non-TW based ROM? Heimdall can flash TWRP in Linux: http://glassechidna.com.au/heimdall/
30th January 2017, 04:01 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,146
 
More
Doesn't the Verizon version of the Note 3 have a locked bootloader

yes its locked .
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes