FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Easy way how to improve 3G(2G) troughput

34 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By Stimpoff, Member on 5th December 2009, 09:31 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
5th December 2009, 10:32 PM |#11  
LucidREM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Arrow build.prop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stimpoff

I found difference in build.trout.prop (build.prop - TMO) which make this difference.

Cyan (TMO US):
ro.ril.hsxpa=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=10
TMO EU:
ro.ril.hsxpa=2
ro.ril.gprsclass=12

I changed values in build.trout.prop.... TADAAA
62.50S.20.17U_2.22.1.26l is showed in phone info. Uplink is almost three times faster. It seems that is some improvement in EDGE too (gprsclass).

THEORY:
US ROMS has disabled HSUPA feature.
ro.ril.hsxpa=0 - UMTS r99
ro.ril.hsxpa=1 - HSDPA
ro.ril.hsxpa=2 - HSDPA/HSUPA

script which apply all stuff (thanks cloverdale)
note: script use cyanogen build.trout.prop
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=7036

i have seen differences:

US_DREAM:
ro.ril.hsxpa=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=10

US_SAPPHIRE:
ro.ril.hsxpa=2
ro.ril.gprsclass=10

not sure if that directs anyone .. but those are the OTA settings on unmodified phones
5th December 2009, 10:40 PM |#12  
OP Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_deimos

Wow, nice find
It did improve 3G speed for me, however not exactly the way i expected - there was only a slight change in upload speed, but a big change in download speeds.
And some numbers showing the change (speed measured with speedtest.net app from market).
Before modification:
d/l [kbps] u/l[kbps]
1340 101
1310 100
1494 106

And after the modification:
d/l [kbps] u/l[kbps]
4025 138
3738 137
3523 138

To keep the test reasonably accurate the phone was just sitting on the desk in exactly the same place during both tests. I did't have full signal reception though so upload speeds may be even higher in places with better 3g coverage.
Doing the modification doesn't seem to break anything and is childishly simple - i just used root mode in Estrongs file explorer to edit the file. In my opinion is worth a shot, especially for those from europe (US roms probably have this disabled for a reason).

Hmm, interesting
your network operator obviously doesn't have HSUPA
my speed was before
2100/340
now
2700/900
BUT I have opportunity to test it in empy cell... in brand new network.
Therefore I tried to find out why was uplink so slow.
BTW: prewious .23 radio has better troughputs than .26I in "H" mode
5th December 2009, 10:43 PM |#13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
can you make a .prop for the sapphire please, or will this work for it?
GuestK00233
5th December 2009, 10:48 PM |#14  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
good hack
5th December 2009, 11:10 PM |#15  
OP Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vigan8

can you make a .prop for the sapphire please, or will this work for it?

use procedure from first post (adb) or method described by mr_deimos few posts above.
5th December 2009, 11:14 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
i tried it on my sapphire using build.sapphire.prop and maybe it worked, maybe its a placebo.... who knows- i posted the modified script in the sapphire forums.
5th December 2009, 11:23 PM |#17  
DanFarva's Avatar
Member
Flag Kansas City, MO
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Confirmed improvement here. G1 - CM4.2.7.1

3 Bars signal

Before:
522/151
551/139

After:
1013/152
982/147

Used the Xtremelabs app to test
5th December 2009, 11:34 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
can i do this on Eugene's eclair 2.0 or 2.1 roms?
5th December 2009, 11:34 PM |#19  
CrazyEye's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas, Nevada
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
anything for ATT users or is this universal?
5th December 2009, 11:35 PM |#20  
maxisma's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dorsten, Germany
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
It doesnt work on Hero ROMs
5th December 2009, 11:35 PM |#21  
ivanmmj's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 53
 
Donate to Me
More
Changed
ro.ril.hsxpa=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=10

to

ro.ril.hsxpa=2
ro.ril.gprsclass=12

And I had a MASSIVE speed increase. From 300k with full bars to over 1mbps on ONE bar... (at work so there's barely any signal.) (the test that I took finished too fast so I wasn't able to see how fast it could get.) I'm going to try a different test.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes