FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor 7x
Win an Honor 7X!

Vibration stopped working

1,523 posts
Thanks Meter: 115
 
By ajamils, Senior Member on 5th June 2014, 01:11 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I've been using Hyperdrive ROM for a while and today I noticed that none of the alerts are producing vibration. I thought it might be related to the kernel I installed so I reverted the kernel but that did not fix. So I installed a new ROM (Resurrection) and I still have the same issue.

I installed Vibration tester and I'm still not getting any vibration.

Any suggestion ?

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
 
 
5th June 2014, 11:02 AM |#2  
mdiaz33685's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 1,005
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamils

I've been using Hyperdrive ROM for a while and today I noticed that none of the alerts are producing vibration. I thought it might be related to the kernel I installed so I reverted the kernel but that did not fix. So I installed a new ROM (Resurrection) and I still have the same issue.

I installed Vibration tester and I'm still not getting any vibration.

Any suggestion ?

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

have you dropped your phone, or did it get wet. happened to me once. the vibrate stopped after getting wet on an HTC phone.. also if you drop it, the connector could get loose.
5th June 2014, 03:39 PM |#3  
jdidtht's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1,532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamils

I've been using Hyperdrive ROM for a while and today I noticed that none of the alerts are producing vibration. I thought it might be related to the kernel I installed so I reverted the kernel but that did not fix. So I installed a new ROM (Resurrection) and I still have the same issue.

I installed Vibration tester and I'm still not getting any vibration.

Any suggestion ?

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

If I were u I would flash another kernel and try.

5th June 2014, 04:09 PM |#4  
ajamils's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdiaz33685

have you dropped your phone, or did it get wet. happened to me once. the vibrate stopped after getting wet on an HTC phone.. also if you drop it, the connector could get loose.

I don't recall phone getting wet but it has definitely been dropped on carpet many times but I have a bumper cover so no physical damage to the phone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdidtht

If I were u I would flash another kernel and try.

I have tried new kernel as well as new ROM. I installed KK Remix and still I don't get any vibration.
5th June 2014, 04:15 PM |#5  
jdidtht's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1,532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamils

I don't recall phone getting wet but it has definitely been dropped on carpet many times but I have a bumper cover so no physical damage to the phone.



I have tried new kernel as well as new ROM. I installed KK Remix and still I don't get any vibration.

Do u have power savings mode on by any chance? Because that would kill vibration.

5th June 2014, 04:17 PM |#6  
ajamils's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdidtht

Do u have power savings mode on by any chance? Because that would kill vibration.

I don't think so. I just installed a brand new ROM so I don't think it has power saving mode on by default. Does it? I'm on KK Remix, where can I check?
5th June 2014, 04:25 PM |#7  
jdidtht's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1,532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamils

I don't think so. I just installed a brand new ROM so I don't think it has power saving mode on by default. Does it? I'm on KK Remix, where can I check?

Nope, alright, weird, tw has power savings mode that would kill it, but aosp specifically that ROM I'm unaware of said feature. And since its occurring on both ROMs you may be in a pickle.



---------- Post added at 09:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:23 AM ----------

Did it work when phone r was new? When did it stop? Did u Odin stock and see? Sorry driving so I didn't really read back too far

5th June 2014, 04:37 PM |#8  
ajamils's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdidtht

Nope, alright, weird, tw has power savings mode that would kill it, but aosp specifically that ROM I'm unaware of said feature. And since its occurring on both ROMs you may be in a pickle.

[/COLOR]Did it work when phone r was new? When did it stop? Did u Odin stock and see? Sorry driving so I didn't really read back too far

Yes, it's been working fine until few days ago when I noticed that I'm missing calls and texts due to phone not vibrating in my pocket. At first I thought it was a kernel issue (I was using Hyperdrive rom at that time) so I tried different kernel and it did not fix the issue to yesterday I installed KK remix to see if that fixes the issue but had no luck with that either. So at this point I think it might be a hardware issue and the vibration motor is toast. I went ahead and ordered a replacement and will try my luck with replacing the original one.
The Following User Says Thank You to ajamils For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ajamils Ad-Free
5th June 2014, 04:44 PM |#9  
jdidtht's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1,532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamils

Yes, it's been working fine until few days ago when I noticed that I'm missing calls and texts due to phone not vibrating in my pocket. At first I thought it was a kernel issue (I was using Hyperdrive rom at that time) so I tried different kernel and it did not fix the issue to yesterday I installed KK remix to see if that fixes the issue but had no luck with that either. So at this point I think it might be a hardware issue and the vibration motor is toast. I went ahead and ordered a replacement and will try my luck with replacing the original one.

Yes definitely weird.. I would've tried to Odin the latest ne6 stock before in ordered a replacement, but as long as you have it solved that's a plus.

5th June 2014, 04:46 PM |#10  
ajamils's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdidtht

Yes definitely weird.. I would've tried to Odin the latest ne6 stock before in ordered a replacement, but as long as you have it solved that's a plus.

I thought about going back to stock to test but then decided against because I didn't think that it would make a difference as I have already tried different ROM with no success. Do you think that going to stock could make a difference?
5th June 2014, 08:04 PM |#11  
jdidtht's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1,532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamils

I thought about going back to stock to test but then decided against because I didn't think that it would make a difference as I have already tried different ROM with no success. Do you think that going to stock could make a difference?

I do actually , when all else fails Odin back to stock, and if that fails you know the phone is at fault. Might as well if ya get bored, give it a whirl see what happens..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes