FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
H10 GPU

[dev][kernel][kexec]

186 posts
Thanks Meter: 235
 
By delewer, Senior Member on 23rd October 2013, 06:40 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
25th June 2014, 11:34 AM |#201  
delewer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 235
 
More
I m working on patch for stock kernel with "dtb append" (custom kernel)
It's for locked bootloader.
After this, i test aosp patch.
for now i have black screen with guest kernel.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to delewer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift delewer Ad-Free
 
 
25th June 2014, 06:16 PM |#202  
munjeni's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21,318
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by delewer

I m working on patch for stock kernel with "dtb append" (custom kernel)
It's for locked bootloader.
After this, i test aosp patch.
for now i have black screen with guest kernel.

Probably you have used an old kexec tool which use dtb appended to the kernel? I had the same black screen since dtb can not be used in "whole form", you must cut last part of the dt.img and append them to the zImage and it will be working! Appending whole dtb is not working! But in my latest bootmenu I have compiled new kexec tool which use dt.img instead of needs for appending part of the dtb anymore. You can try this one from attachments:

- Here is kexec which no need "append", just use dt.img by defining --dt parameter + path to the dt.img
- Kernel patch

I have used them with my botmenu project with success! Hope you find something usefull from these...
Attached Files
File Type: rar kexec.rar - [Click for QR Code] (103.7 KB, 33 views)
File Type: patch kexec.patch - [Click for QR Code] (17.7 KB, 26 views)
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift munjeni Ad-Free
25th June 2014, 06:18 PM |#203  
munjeni's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21,318
 
Donate to Me
More
But if you no need new kexec tool, here is my tool which I have created for making zImage-dtb (appended)
Attached Files
File Type: c kernel_dt.c - [Click for QR Code] (2.9 KB, 23 views)
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift munjeni Ad-Free
26th June 2014, 07:57 AM |#204  
delewer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 235
 
More
Cut dtb ?
^^
My 6 month sources cut dtb directly when loaded into kexec. I have include into dtb loading by kexec, research of magic, lengh and cut. I keep only the first occurs. So my sources theoricaly work... but i have black screen
so, i test appended and not appended dtb guest kernel to see differences

I have test last night, and don't see your posts... silly me !!

i test your sources when i can (i m in my job)

I see another method to call relocate (from tassadar sources), because on v7, cpu freeze sometime when memory is flush.

i post when i have something new

Thx a lot !
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to delewer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift delewer Ad-Free
26th June 2014, 02:35 PM |#205  
munjeni's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21,318
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by delewer

I keep only the first occurs.

I cut last ocours since first one not worked!
The Following User Says Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift munjeni Ad-Free
26th June 2014, 03:07 PM |#206  
delewer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 235
 
More
Arf !!!! :banghead:
3rd July 2014, 12:55 AM |#207  
Galcactus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Colchester
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
People, this thread claims to have Kexec:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2747215

Anyone want to check the work? It's for the TX...

Sent from my LT30p using XDA Free mobile app
15th July 2014, 08:28 AM |#208  
Knucklessg1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
More
Is this working currently?
18th July 2014, 06:59 PM |#209  
Galcactus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Colchester
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
Allegedly so. I don't know how to test it though...

Sent from my LT30p using XDA Free mobile app
19th July 2014, 10:16 PM |#210  
joecool666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 189
 
More
hi, how do i use this tool and patch any tut, i have a C6903 L.B, might be willing to try, any help would be graetful, regards joe.
16th August 2014, 09:22 PM |#211  
mchlbenner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 762
 
More
I have z1s I would like to get this working

Sent from my C6916 using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes