FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] How to restore DROID RAZR M back to stock JB 4.1.2 from the kitkat 4.4.2

30 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By kulsforu, Member on 21st May 2014, 08:25 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
26th May 2014, 08:19 AM |#11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat

Sorry for the bad news. I'm in the same boat now too. Thought I would experiment with ways to preserve root, and long story short, now I'm stuck on an unrooted phone on stock KK with locked BL.

Why do you want to downgrade? If it's to be rooted, sorry, no solution for that. If there is some other issue, maybe there is a solution for that specific issue.

The issue is my CDMA data is not working after upgrade to kitkat. I m from India and using Reliance CDMA sim. Before update, everything was working perfect. But now only data(EVDO or 1x) is not working. GSM data(3G & 2G) is working.
Please help if u have any solution for this issue.
 
 
26th May 2014, 03:19 PM |#12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat

You can get them here:
http://sbf.droid-developers.org/phone.php?device=8
You can extract the original system.img from the archive as well as logo.img in case the phone doesn't allow you to flash system.img, you can use logo.img to kick the phone out of Fastboot. You will need to install Motorola ADB drivers on your computer in advance, and also need a fastboot.exe file which I think you can find via Google, but if you have ever rooted your phone in the past, usually that also came with fastboot.

Anyway, get into fastboot mode by turning off the phone, then holding down all 3 buttons. Use vol- to select Fastboot and vol+ to choose it. Phone should boot into fastboot.

Connect to PC and issue command:
fastboot flash system system.img

If it works, the phone should be downgraded. If it says flash failed, then downgrade isn't possible. In that case, if the phone is stuck in fastboot mode and can't be rebooted, issue this command to get out of fastboot.
fastboot flash logo logo.img

That should let it reboot as normal.

I actually doubt it's possible to downgrade, but I haven't tried it myself so I can't say for sure.

I'm also on official KK with locked bootloader, Can i flash kk modified system.img via this method ?
26th May 2014, 06:43 PM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prohyper

I'm also on official KK with locked bootloader, Can i flash kk modified system.img via this method ?

Sorry, with locked BL, you can't flash modified system.img or older system.img. I tried it just to make sure, and the phone wouldn't allow it.
12th July 2014, 11:15 AM |#14  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat

Sorry for the bad news. I'm in the same boat now too. Thought I would experiment with ways to preserve root, and long story short, now I'm stuck on an unrooted phone on stock KK with locked BL.

Why do you want to downgrade? If it's to be rooted, sorry, no solution for that. If there is some other issue, maybe there is a solution for that specific issue.


The issue is my CDMA data is not working after upgrade to kitkat. I m from India and using Reliance CDMA sim. Before update, everything was working perfect. But now only data(EVDO or 1x) is not working. GSM data(3G & 2G) is working.
Please help if u have any solution for this issue.
12th July 2014, 05:49 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulsforu

The issue is my CDMA data is not working after upgrade to kitkat. I m from India and using Reliance CDMA sim. Before update, everything was working perfect. But now only data(EVDO or 1x) is not working. GSM data(3G & 2G) is working.
Please help if u have any solution for this issue.

Good news is that major developments happened a month ago.
You can now root AND unlock bootloader on KitKat. I think you can find the info you need in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783806

Once you have bootloader unlocked, you can downgrade back to JB. I have tried it and can confirm it works.

Good luck!
14th July 2014, 12:58 PM |#16  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat

Good news is that major developments happened a month ago.
You can now root AND unlock bootloader on KitKat. I think you can find the info you need in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783806

Once you have bootloader unlocked, you can downgrade back to JB. I have tried it and can confirm it works.

Good luck!

Thanks much for update..
I can not getting the method. Actually I m new with these things.
Can you please explain how to use tr.apk?
Thanks in Advance..
14th July 2014, 03:25 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulsforu

Thanks much for update..
I can not getting the method. Actually I m new with these things.
Can you please explain how to use tr.apk?
Thanks in Advance..

You just run it and let it do its thing. Your phone should be rooted once it has rebooted. You can verify with any rootchecker app.
Then install and run Motopocalypse.apk to unlock your bootloader.
You can the use RSDLite to flash back to JellyBean using the JB fxz file. You will need to edit the xml file in the fxz file, removing the lines with gpt.bin and tz.mbn.
15th July 2014, 07:36 AM |#18  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat

You just run it and let it do its thing. Your phone should be rooted once it has rebooted. You can verify with any rootchecker app.
Then install and run Motopocalypse.apk to unlock your bootloader.
You can the use RSDLite to flash back to JellyBean using the JB fxz file. You will need to edit the xml file in the fxz file, removing the lines with gpt.bin and tz.mbn.

Thanks.. I m getting you.. But I m not using verizon network. My Razr M is unlocked for both CDMA and GSM carrier. I m using my Razr M in India and both CDMA and GSM are working at present. only DATA in CDMA is not working.

My question is will it be remain unlocked for both CDMA and GSM career in India after flashing back stock JELLY BEAN?

Thanks in Advance..
15th July 2014, 02:56 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulsforu

My question is will it be remain unlocked for both CDMA and GSM career in India after flashing back stock JELLY BEAN?

I believe so, yes.
The Following User Says Thank You to GnatGoSplat For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift GnatGoSplat Ad-Free
16th July 2014, 08:34 AM |#20  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat

I believe so, yes.

Thanks.
Can you please send link to download JB 4.1.2 fxz file. and step by step instruction to flash the file.?
16th July 2014, 04:45 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Download link for fxz is in post #5.
You will also need RSDLite. I used this one:
http://www.4shared.com/rar/q61LmCBp/...html?locale=en

I think you can also use something called "Matt's Utility", but I've never personally used that one.

Anyway, extract the fxz file to your computer, then open the .xml file. There should be 2 lines, one with tz.mbn in it and one with gpt.bin. You will need to remove those lines.

Then boot phone into fastboot mode. With phone off, hold down vol-up and vol-dn at the same time, do not release. Press and hold POWER for a few seconds, then release it. When you get into the bootloader selection menu, release vol buttons. Use vol-dn to go down to Fastboot and vol-up to select it.

Now confirm Fastboot says your phone is UNLOCKED, because this won't work if it's locked. Plug into your PC and make sure you have Moto drivers installed.

Now run RSDLite and select the .xml file where you extracted the fxz to. If you removed the correct lines, it should flash correctly and be on JB when it reboots.

One thing to note, it will do a factory reset. I think there is a line you can add to the xml to keep your data, but I just tried to Google it and couldn't find it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes