FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Setting up Win95, and other OSes with games

238 posts
Thanks Meter: 16
 
By mmmalas, Senior Member on 15th March 2010, 07:01 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
as the other thread got a bit complicated, I think its good idea to have a clear thread on how to setup easily, this is not my work, but I am simply providing an easy way for new user to install and get up to date.

Credit to people are given in their quotes:

setting up:
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu

I created simple compilation with the latest QEMU WM port I could find.
All the credit for this goes to mamaich (excellent work!)
Links:

http://niuki.net/files/QEMU_WM.7z - emulator main files
http://niuki.net/files/Heroes2POL.7z - specially prepared version of HoMM2
http://niuki.net/files/Win95osr2.7z - Win95 image

Instructions:

1. Extract QEMU_WM.7z to the root folder on your SD card.
2. Extract additional packages (Win95 or Homm2) to 'emul' directory in QEMU folder.
3. Use qemu_launcher from QEMU folder to start selected VM.

Note: QEMU must be placed in '\Storage Card\QEMU\' directory, otherwise you have to edit 'cmdline.txt' etc files accordingly.

Mouse Usage:
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilrah

When it's grey (default), a tap on the screen will do a left click. So a tap&drag will do a left click and drag, i.e selection, moving stuff, etc, which is why it looks weird to you. Tap the button, it turns to black, and now a tap&drag on the screen moves the cursor without clicking, like a laptop touchpad. The button on the left marked "rb" does the same as grey but with right mouse button.
So you need to turn the thing black, move the cursor where you want, tap it to grey, tap or double tap to single/double click, tap it to black, move to some other place, etc, toggling the button each time between movements and clicks. Not very convenient, but works.

Improve graphics:
Quote:
Originally Posted by miko3d

guys, make sure you have installed the cirrus graphic drivers properly, it makes big difference,win95 works really fast in 16 bits with those drivers,win98 needs more memory, make sure you have given plenty of it in the qemu settings, Qemu has some issues at accesing and writing data, it seem to stall,

there are great apps and games to try, as I already wrote before Starcraft Broodwars runs on it,with the full units, missions packs etc... and the speed is surprisingly good ingame, the biggest issue is the clunky interface for the keyboard and the mouse, really needs to be developed for the HD2 multitouch.

i have also tried civilization 2 and theme hospital with good speed.

but there are plenty more that comes to my mind like c&c red alert, total anihilation,settler2 etc... basically any game of around mid 90s, maybe even newer....

Setting up Dos Image:
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu

Instructions are in one of my previous posts.

It is fixed 512MB image with DOS 7.1 - this should give plenty of space for any dos-based programs. I tweaked DOS RAM configuration, so there is ample of conventional memory + XMS + EMS memory available, it should be able to handle everything you throw at it It also has mouse support.

I placed on it some useful applicators as well:

- Volkov Commander - excellent clone of Norton Commander, makes navigation with 'mouse' much easier!
- Bytemark Nbench - simple but very useful benchmark, according to it QEMU on HD2 achieves almost 100% speed of Pentium 90Mhz in fixed-point and about 30% in floating point operations.
- A few old classic games. Legend of Kyrandia is fully and easily playable with current controls. Others like Settlers 2, Albion (best RPG ever!) or C&C would be perfectly fine if not clumsy mouse control.. Sadly, Betrayal at Krondor doesn't go past the loading screen

Obviously you can quickly add new applications to this image using Winimage (that is the whole point anyway).

Just extract files in archive to 'emul' directory in QEMU folder.

DOS image (+ tools) for QEMU

confirmatin of windows 98:
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSecks

windows 98 working fine and perfect on my HD2 too
(not only win95)

but u clearly can see how much bigger (longer loading time) win98 takes xD

its even able to run in Brochs'emu w/o any problems. (not only in QEMU)

greez

video in action:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JK-vwCsFwvE
thanks erikvario

mac os running:

Quote:
Originally Posted by kilrah

And one next step... I just found that image in my archives:





OK, this one is pretty much unuseable, but it works (it's 2-step emulation! PPC emulated on x86 by Fusion, which is emulated on ARM by QEMU....)



andriod \ moblin or newer version of windows had not been successfull.

other info:
fullscreen with the little key that has 4 expanding arrows in the toolbar
-m parameter tell qemu how much memory to give to the image file.




more info:

http://translate.google.co.uk/transl...en-US:official

Thing to be done\Hacked:
change the keyboard
use the screen as touch pad (ie tapping=clicking, tap and drag= click&drag).
better drivers for running sound?
15th March 2010, 07:04 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
might need the space for adding more stuff later

for now you can ask or add feedback to enhance this thread
15th March 2010, 08:49 PM |#3  
erikvario's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag kaatsheuvel
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Talking
maybe you can add my vid. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JK-vwCsFwvE
15th March 2010, 10:12 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikvario

maybe you can add my vid. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JK-vwCsFwvE

done my friend,
although it will be nice if you can upload video with calibrated touch screen.
16th March 2010, 12:49 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
works great but how do u get it to work in landscape mode?
16th March 2010, 01:03 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinp

works great but how do u get it to work in landscape mode?

when lunching qemu launcher, you can specify what orientation you want
16th March 2010, 01:49 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Humm ive tryed all 4 options but none make any diffrence
16th March 2010, 02:10 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
Thanks for the thread! I was waiting for a package to be put together before I started playing! Now to get some DOS working!
16th March 2010, 02:17 AM |#9  
mEMBER83's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Düsseldorf
Thanks Meter: 331
 
Donate to Me
More
do u have a link for the win98 img?
16th March 2010, 12:07 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinp

Humm ive tryed all 4 options but none make any diffrence

it works for me, but the screen is not perfect, you could try BSB tweaks to rotate

Quote:
Originally Posted by smeddy

Thanks for the thread! I was waiting for a package to be put together before I started playing! Now to get some DOS working!

your welcome, share your experience and useful tips

Quote:
Originally Posted by mEMBER83

do u have a link for the win98 img?

not really sorry
16th March 2010, 01:40 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
so is there any use for this (such as emulating games) or is the emulation laggy just with OS load?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes