FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Changing the camera-app WhatsApp uses?

16 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By MaggiWuerze, Junior Member on 4th February 2014, 11:48 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

i am currently trying to get WhatsApp to use the camera App of my choice (Focal) instead of the stock one.
I already tried moving Focal to the system Apps, as that was suggested in other threads.
Also i deactivated the gallery and camera app to force WhatsApp to use the remaining camera App on the device, yet to no avail.

WhatsApp now simply declares, that there is no application that could be used to take a photo.

I am currently using the CM11 Nightly-build on my Xperia Z.

If anyone could help me with this i would be really gratefull.
The Following User Says Thank You to MaggiWuerze For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift MaggiWuerze Ad-Free
 
 
13th February 2015, 06:56 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Great question (thank you google for bringing me here). I think one year of thinking time is enough. Has anybody a solution?
The Following User Says Thank You to onderjas For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift onderjas Ad-Free
21st February 2016, 10:28 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Lol a year past and no response!!
3rd November 2016, 12:30 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
My solution. Go to App Management. DISABLE the default app. The phone automatically select the next available camera app.
I just got it done.
7th December 2016, 02:05 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Here is How It's Done
To use other cameras in Whatsapp,touch paperclip in top left (android) next long press on camera icon. Then you will be given a choice to either take a picture or record a video. Select either one and you will be given a choice on what app or camera you want to use.

---------- Post added at 01:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:00 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaggiWuerze

Hi,

i am currently trying to get WhatsApp to use the camera App of my choice (Focal) instead of the stock one.
I already tried moving Focal to the system Apps, as that was suggested in other threads.
Also i deactivated the gallery and camera app to force WhatsApp to use the remaining camera App on the device, yet to no avail.

WhatsApp now simply declares, that there is no application that could be used to take a photo.

I am currently using the CM11 Nightly-build on my Xperia Z.

If anyone could help me with this i would be really gratefull.

Here is How It's Done
To use other cameras in Whatsapp,touch paperclip in top left (android) next long press on camera icon. Then you will be given a choice to either take a picture or record a video. Select either one and you will be given a choice on what app or camera you want to use.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Miekaspop For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Miekaspop Ad-Free
12th December 2016, 03:18 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Will try, thanks for the answer
Yesterday, 05:59 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Miekaspop, I just want to say this worked. Thanks so much!!
HTC M8
Android Version 6.0
Whatsapp version 2.17.24


Quote:
Originally Posted by Miekaspop

To use other cameras in Whatsapp,touch paperclip in top left (android) next long press on camera icon. Then you will be given a choice to either take a picture or record a video. Select either one and you will be given a choice on what app or camera you want to use.

---------- Post added at 01:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:00 PM ----------



Here is How It's Done
To use other cameras in Whatsapp,touch paperclip in top left (android) next long press on camera icon. Then you will be given a choice to either take a picture or record a video. Select either one and you will be given a choice on what app or camera you want to use.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes