FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Porting Android Auto to existing Windows CE car headunits

94 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By sykozylot, Member on 26th June 2014, 06:50 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
26th May 2015, 07:54 AM |#11  
Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada
Thanks Meter: 4,123
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbc0

Does anyone know of a car infotainment system that has been rooted? I am thinking of installing one in my 2005 Subaru Outback and am hoping to have something that I can install my preferred apps on. I know I can use my Nexus 7 to do it but I'd prefer more of a 'drop in' unit.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/andr...arpad-t2865525

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2660662

 
 
11th June 2016, 07:28 PM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
That's not android auto for Windows CE, but this app Easyconnected allows you to mirror everything from your Android phone through usb cable. Just activate usb debugging on developer options.

I know it's in Chinese, but nothing that Google translator couldn't help.

http://www.carbit.cn/
16th November 2016, 06:31 PM |#13  
rewen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burlington
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvbeppler

http://www.carbit.cn/

Good link. Now if someone could get it running on their own HU
10th March 2017, 11:38 PM |#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rewen

Good link. Now if someone could get it running on their own HU

I've got to run it on my Hyundai OEM navigation, made by Motrex. It works perfectly, but I had to use an old version to change the language to English, hacking the zip file with languages, I've exchanged the file name with English phrases to the Chinese file name.

In the newer versions, this zip file has a password and I didn't find another way to exchange the language from Chinese.
11th March 2017, 05:54 AM |#15  
rewen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burlington
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Can you elaborate on how you got it working? I've got a 2013 Santa Fe Sport (Limited; nav) and would kill for this. I've been searching junkyards for 2017 head units lol
11th March 2017, 01:08 PM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I've used total commander disguised as an update (renamed it as update.exe inside the folder update) on a flash drive, and the my head unit recognize it as an update.

When I go to settings - > update, total commander opens and after it I can run whenever program I want.

P.S. only works in Motrex headunits which are used by Hyundai in Russia and Latin America. European, Korean and American cars use another head units.

Source: http://www.santa3.ru/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=1736

http://sorento.kia-club.ru/forum/vie...p?f=86&t=32135

(Used Google chrome to translate it)

Enviado de meu SM-N920G usando Tapatalk
14th March 2017, 07:46 PM |#17  
rewen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burlington
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvbeppler

P.S. only works in Motrex headunits which are used by Hyundai in Russia and Latin America. European, Korean and American cars use another head units.

What a shame.. I wonder if I can find anything for the North American head unit..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes