FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Porting Android Auto to existing Windows CE car headunits

94 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By sykozylot, Member on 26th June 2014, 06:50 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
26th May 2015, 07:54 AM |#11  
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada
Thanks Meter: 4,127
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbc0

Does anyone know of a car infotainment system that has been rooted? I am thinking of installing one in my 2005 Subaru Outback and am hoping to have something that I can install my preferred apps on. I know I can use my Nexus 7 to do it but I'd prefer more of a 'drop in' unit.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/andr...arpad-t2865525

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2660662

 
 
11th June 2016, 07:28 PM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
That's not android auto for Windows CE, but this app Easyconnected allows you to mirror everything from your Android phone through usb cable. Just activate usb debugging on developer options.

I know it's in Chinese, but nothing that Google translator couldn't help.

http://www.carbit.cn/
16th November 2016, 06:31 PM |#13  
rewen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burlington
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvbeppler

http://www.carbit.cn/

Good link. Now if someone could get it running on their own HU
10th March 2017, 11:38 PM |#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rewen

Good link. Now if someone could get it running on their own HU

I've got to run it on my Hyundai OEM navigation, made by Motrex. It works perfectly, but I had to use an old version to change the language to English, hacking the zip file with languages, I've exchanged the file name with English phrases to the Chinese file name.

In the newer versions, this zip file has a password and I didn't find another way to exchange the language from Chinese.
11th March 2017, 05:54 AM |#15  
rewen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burlington
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Can you elaborate on how you got it working? I've got a 2013 Santa Fe Sport (Limited; nav) and would kill for this. I've been searching junkyards for 2017 head units lol
11th March 2017, 01:08 PM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I've used total commander disguised as an update (renamed it as update.exe inside the folder update) on a flash drive, and the my head unit recognize it as an update.

When I go to settings - > update, total commander opens and after it I can run whenever program I want.

P.S. only works in Motrex headunits which are used by Hyundai in Russia and Latin America. European, Korean and American cars use another head units.

Source: http://www.santa3.ru/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=1736

http://sorento.kia-club.ru/forum/vie...p?f=86&t=32135

(Used Google chrome to translate it)

Enviado de meu SM-N920G usando Tapatalk
14th March 2017, 07:46 PM |#17  
rewen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burlington
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvbeppler

P.S. only works in Motrex headunits which are used by Hyundai in Russia and Latin America. European, Korean and American cars use another head units.

What a shame.. I wonder if I can find anything for the North American head unit..
6th May 2017, 08:05 AM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi guys. I install the application from carbit.cn , it is a good software, I was able to mirroring my Android phones (Samsung S4 and S6 edge also S4 mini ) to WinCe 6.0 , but I want to have this app in English , not in Chinese , I tried to rename the file from zip archive languages, res_Lang_CHN.xml to res_Lang_EN.xml , because in app the isn't a option to change language, but the program remain in chinese language, I saw just a few words are translated , the zip file has a password, I can't extract the xml file to be able to change it , have you any idea how I can do this ? Also there is an android app called CarMan.apk , witch is also in chinese , how I can skip not to install ?

Regards,

Emil
10th June 2017, 04:39 PM |#19  
hzr34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Istanbul
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I am directly send mail to carbit. They don't share pass or language package​ but customer service send another program to me now I am using Turkish.

Xperia Z3 cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi
10th June 2017, 04:52 PM |#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzr34

I am directly send mail to carbit. They don't share pass or language package​ but customer service send another program to me now I am using Turkish.

Xperia Z3 cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi

What's that another program? Can you share it with us?

Enviado de meu SM-N920G usando Tapatalk
10th June 2017, 06:41 PM |#21  
hzr34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Istanbul
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Light version carbit app. Nothing different. But language is Turkish.
https://goo.gl/jAx2Lv

Xperia Z3 cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes