FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOW TO][GUIDE][MOD] Change Package Names of APKs

143 posts
Thanks Meter: 407
 
By Xtreme.Ornob, Senior Member on 23rd May 2014, 05:14 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
11th July 2016, 07:24 PM |#31  
Mattwmaster58's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Good Job
 
 
13th July 2016, 04:05 AM |#32  
Mattwmaster58's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Nice Work!
Good Job and thanks! There is a error in your Tut (i think)
1. you said find "Lcom.xx.xx" instead of "com.xx.xx'' This would easily confuse a lot of people
thanks again for your great work!
And a suggestion: edit ur tut to include instructions for changing the icons at \res\drawable-xxxx\ic_launcher.png
23rd July 2016, 11:13 PM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
My apktool.yml looks different. . .

IN ADDITION
There are definitely lots of other places to change the package name. I got a bunch of these, the command prompt window was too small to fit them all !!!

Quote:

W: C:\apk\sa41410\res\layout-v17\special_grid_item.xml:10: error: No resource id
entifier found for attribute 'is_webimage_immediate_loading' in package 'old.package.name'

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	apkTool_yml.jpg
Views:	310
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	3822152  
28th August 2016, 03:36 PM |#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GI0\/\NNI

You don't have to rename folders, they are created by apktool and not used when compiling the code into the classes.dex file. Also keep in mind that you have .so libraries which may point to the original smali locations. You can avoid it by adding some strings to intern() method in each smali.

Can you explain what you mean by "You can avoid it by adding some strings to intern() method in each smali."?

I was able to get the apk to install and run using the new package name without renaming the folders. The process name is changed in the list of running processes. But this app launches a service, and when it tries to do so, it fails and the app closes. Not seeing any errors in logcat. Could this be because I need to edit the intern() method?
16th December 2016, 06:36 PM |#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 882
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkt

My apktool.yml looks different. . .

IN ADDITION
There are definitely lots of other places to change the package name. I got a bunch of these, the command prompt window was too small to fit them all !!!

@Xtreme.Ornob: First of all - great job! this is what I needed! Tried it recently for my own but forgot the Lcom stuff..

@drgkt: Mine too - Just change the apkFileName to yours and thats all in apktool.yml . Bisides this in AndroidManifest.xml are two locations to be changed:
package="com.old.name"
android:name="com.old.name.PackageActivity"

I just searched the whole apk folder for "com.old.name" and change what is quite obvious to be changed.... Works!

Sorry for reply to quite old questions but maybe usefull for new users... Was running into the same question first....

In addition search for this and change it also - Must be 2x in strings.xml
<string name="app_name">Old App Name</string>
4th March 2017, 12:14 AM |#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Can you help me to change app name, please?
Hello,

Can anybody can help me to change this apk name? To Spotify Hackerjj? I cannot installed on my Andorid 7.0 because Spotify comes like a Syst. App, so i need to do root to erase it, but i can not make root because I have corporate email (Mobile Iron, Checkpoint)

ihackedit . com /spotify-music-beta-mega-mod-apk/

Thanks!
8th March 2017, 09:26 PM |#37  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Can somebody help me on this:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4...otify-apk-name

Thanks!
12th March 2017, 11:28 PM |#38  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerjj22

Can somebody help me on this:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4...otify-apk-name

Thanks!

Are you trying to change the name or package name

Sent from my Moto G4 Play using XDA Labs
15th March 2017, 11:38 AM |#39  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshiach101

Are you trying to change the name or package name

The package name is changed here
To change the app name decimpile the apk and go to /res/value/string.xml and edit with notepad++
Then edit it like-
<string name = "app_name"> Spotify music </string>
To
<string name="app_name">*new app name*</string>
Then sign the newly edited apk
Hit the thanks button!
15th March 2017, 04:00 PM |#40  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshiach101

Are you trying to change the name or package name

Sent from my Moto G4 Play using XDA Labs

Yes that's correct.
19th July 2017, 11:54 AM |#41  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Can anyone please rename this apk files package name as com.modded.files from com.oneplus.filemanager for me?

Thanks in advance!
Attached Files
File Type: apk FileManager.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.86 MB, 4 views)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
apks, apps, change, names, package

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes