FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Genie News & Weather Widget Issue?

2,416 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,403
 
By JsChiSurf, Inactive Recognized Developer on 16th June 2010, 10:18 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
17th June 2010, 02:39 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
im using DC 2.0.9.1 and the genie widget is working just fine
 
 
17th June 2010, 02:42 AM |#12  
JsChiSurf's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Hacksville
Thanks Meter: 1,403
 
Donate to Me
More
Yea, this is not ROM dependent / specific. A quick google search shows it's popping up everywhere. I suspect when your cache expires, everyone's will bork too, unless a remote fix is done before this happens.

The same version on my wife's hero was working when I got home from the office, and has now stopped as well.

If someone who has it still working can remove and re-add, while watching their logcat, to see what messages appear regarding success / fail on the call to google, it would help immensely.
17th June 2010, 02:45 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
ill give it a shot

heres what i got

Quote:

D/Genie ( 856): Location Listener has stopped listening for updates.
D/LocationManager( 856): removeUpdates: listener = com.google.android.apps.geni
[email protected] 8
D/LocationManagerService( 433): Released wakelock
D/NetworkLocationProvider( 433): removeListener(): apps.genie.geniewidget
D/NetworkLocationProvider( 433): setMinTime: 300000
D/Genie ( 856): Got updated location: 33.21527777777778, -97.14527777777778 +
/-1000.0
D/Genie ( 856): Requesting data...
D/Genie ( 856): Making MASF Request to http://www.google.com/m/appreq - g:gne
/r: GenieRequest 33.21527777777778,-97.14527777777778[no fake location] type: [1
5, 16] with maxAge: 0 at 8:56pm, June 16
D/Genie ( 856): Network status: CONNECTED
D/Genie ( 856): Cached entry too old
D/Genie ( 856): MASF cache miss
D/dalvikvm( 856): GC freed 4962 objects / 442080 bytes in 196ms
D/Genie ( 856): Request failed, falling back to cached data.
D/Genie ( 856): Got response: GeniePayload: isCached: true payload: 41 and up
dated model: READY: showing news 0 of 40 weather=Partly Cloudy at, 8:56pm, June
16 with timestamp: 3:33am, June 16 next auto-refresh time = 0
D/Genie ( 856): Refresh Complete, notifying success.
D/Genie ( 856): Refreshing widget.
D/Genie ( 856): RefreshService: Done, fetching news and weather icons.
D/Genie ( 856): NewsImageCache: Cache: 100 items in index, and 101 files on d

17th June 2010, 03:03 AM |#14  
JsChiSurf's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Hacksville
Thanks Meter: 1,403
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks. Yep, exactly as expected.

Code:
D/Genie ( 856): Request failed, falling back to cached data.
17th June 2010, 03:03 AM |#15  
danaff37's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Petersburg, FL
Thanks Meter: 902
 
More
here's mine, left it complete just in case (had to zip to upload here)

edit: mine does not fail, and I show version 1.1.7 rc6
Attached Files
File Type: zip log.zip - [Click for QR Code] (10.0 KB, 13 views)
17th June 2010, 03:04 AM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
no problem
17th June 2010, 03:09 AM |#17  
JsChiSurf's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Hacksville
Thanks Meter: 1,403
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danaff37

here's mine, left it complete just in case (had to zip to upload here)

Yours appears to be working. Do you know your version number?
17th June 2010, 03:10 AM |#18  
danaff37's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Petersburg, FL
Thanks Meter: 902
 
More
haha I edited my post the exact minute you asked. lol
17th June 2010, 03:14 AM |#19  
JsChiSurf's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Hacksville
Thanks Meter: 1,403
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danaff37

haha I edited my post the exact minute you asked. lol

I see it now . Shoot, that's the same version I was running originally. This makes me think it must be a location issue, or maybe you are pulling the data from a different server based on location.

Guess those it's not working for have to wait it out, as I'm not sure how we could fix it based on the variability and the fact that the same version is working for some and not for others...
17th June 2010, 03:15 AM |#20  
danaff37's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Petersburg, FL
Thanks Meter: 902
 
More
if it is location based, in tampa, fl area here for comparison sakes
17th June 2010, 03:16 AM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
same problem. going to tr that download.

Edit: must just be me right now but my youtube widget started acting up. anybody?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes