FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Tutorial] Increasing battery life drastically with root

1,509 posts
Thanks Meter: 335
 
Post Reply Email Thread
For all of you that have gained root access, I will show you how to dramatically increase your battery life

Step 1: Download SetCPU from the market or get its via XDA-Dev

Step 2: Install it and allow SuperUser.apk to gain access

Step 3: Leave the settings alone on the main tab. Should be at the top of the max bar and the bottom of the min bar with ondemand selected in the scaling.

Step 4: Check "Set on Boot" on the main tab

Step 5: On the Profile tab, check "Enable" and "Notifications"

Step 6: Click "Add Profile" and add the following profiles

Quote:

Condition : Charging USB/Full
Max: High as the bar will go
Min: Low as the bar will go
Governor: ondemand
Priority: 50

Quote:

Condition : Charging AC/Full
Max: High as the bar will go
Min: Low as the bar will go
Governor: ondemand
Priority: 50

Quote:

Condition : Screen Off
Max: 384000
Min: Low as the bar will go
Governor: ondemand
Priority: 50

Quote:

Condition : Battery <
Battery<: 30%
Max: 38400
Min: Low as the bar will go
Governor: ondemand
Priority: 50

What this will do is change your CPU usage depending on the state of your phone.

The phone will be allowed to run on full power when on charge if needed.
When the screen is turned off the CPU will run between 245 and 384mhz
When the battery is below 30% the CPU will run between 245 and 384mhz

You should find this will save a ton of battery. I have had ebuddy running in the background for almost 5 hours with 3G connectivity and my battery is at 72%

You can get more juice from your battery is you use JuiceDefender.
Also, remember to add SetCPU in your task manager ignore list!
The Following User Says Thank You to Evostance For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Evostance Ad-Free
1st July 2010, 01:18 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Im a little fuzzy here. Where you have:

Step 5: On the Profile tab, check "Enable" and "Notifications"
Where is Enable? On the individual profiles or do you mean "profiles on" at the top next to "Notifications"?

Also,

Step 6: Click "Add Profile" and add the following profiles
I can't find "Add Profile" anywhere. I just have a bunch of preset profiles that I can enable and three of them are exactly the same??

I would really like to use this app so any help is appreciated

Edit: Never mind I figured it out. Thanks hope this will help with the performance
1st July 2010, 01:25 PM |#3  
Evostance's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 335
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunswick000

Im a little fuzzy here. Where you have:

Step 5: On the Profile tab, check "Enable" and "Notifications"
Where is Enable? On the individual profiles or do you mean "profiles on" at the top next to "Notifications"?

Also,

Step 6: Click "Add Profile" and add the following profiles
I can't find "Add Profile" anywhere. I just have a bunch of preset profiles that I can enable and three of them are exactly the same??

I would really like to use this app so any help is appreciated

Profiles on would be the one. Mine says enable put it'll do the same thing


Once you have turned profiles on you will see an Add Profile button in the profile tab. Just add one with the condition i said and change the options
1st July 2010, 01:31 PM |#4  
Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
i've done it, lets see what happens. tomorrow i'll feedback. thanks
1st July 2010, 01:31 PM |#5  
Reb0rn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ulricehamn
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
More
Wowzers im gonna try this out. Thanks!

Sent from my ROOTED X10i using XDA App
1st July 2010, 01:35 PM |#6  
flumps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
whats the difference between this and overclock widget? i have that set:

screen on:

min: 998400
max: 998400

screen off:

min: 245000
max: 998400

basically same settings i had for my G1
1st July 2010, 04:30 PM |#7  
sergiu84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Applied to mine as well, I'll come back tomorrow with results. I wonder what the device does by default in terms of CPU clocks though?
1st July 2010, 06:23 PM |#8  
mtechfan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ă–stersund
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Dammit! Can't get SetCPU from the market here!

Free apps only...

EDIT: NVM, a friend hooked me up
1st July 2010, 06:37 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flumps

whats the difference between this and overclock widget? i have that set:

screen on:

min: 998400
max: 998400

You let your CPU always run at full speed even the system doesn't need it ? Oo
1st July 2010, 06:45 PM |#10  
flumps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgins12

You let your CPU always run at full speed even the system doesn't need it ? Oo

does it not make things snappier?

im going to assume overkill?
1st July 2010, 06:50 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
how do i get the Superuser Permission work?
when i click the icon, it shows a blank screen with Superuser Permission on the top bar. i press the menu button> Preferebces, there's the Tap action & Notification check box. i can't get it work. can someone guide me thru please?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes